We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best steaks ive ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hussar Grill

Hussar Grill
108 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
+27 21 438 0151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks ive ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a last minute reservation on New Years eve and were not disappointed, as other reviewers have mentioned its not much to look at and slightly dated in decor however the steak I ate was superb, great wine choices too, the staff were very friendly and all in all it was a lovely experience, although pricewise it was one of the more expensive meals we had in Cape Town this was due to there being a set menu fot NYE plus DJ, Balloons etc..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    113
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely steaks in a nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were very impressed by this restaurant, it doesn't look like much from the outside but has a really nice feel once you get in. The food is great, especially the steaks which come with good side orders and it has an extensive and good value wine list. We had a lovely evening here and would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'd never been to this restaurant before, but now know why it's the number one in Camps Bay as voted by trip advisor. The service and staff are second to none, friendly, informative and very smartly attired. The menu options were varied and really good. The food presentation was really appealing on the eye. The food was fantastic and cooked to perfection. The wine list was extensive and excellent too. Can't wait till my next visit, great value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent location,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I liked the fact that my friends could can bring their own wine without being charged corkage. There is somthing very endearing about this practice.The food is great, the ambiance excellent. Truly a great dining experience. No future trip to Cape Town will be complete without a visit to Hussar Camps Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Those juicy tender steaks...:-) Extended menus... Served by friendly staff...:-)
We had a great evening...!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussar Grill also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Hussar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hussar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.