We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good takeaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Victoria Street | Shop 4, The Promenade, Camps Bay, South Africa
021 438 4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,256 reviews 1,256 reviews
695 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
3,621 helpful votes 3,621 helpful votes
“A very good takeaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

As we were staying in a fabulous Camps Bay apartment, we thought it would be great to get a takeaway & enjoy our place. It was Friday night, so had to be an Indian to collect.
Fantastic location on the main drag, with views to the beach & sea. Friendly welcome & delicious cocktail with complimentary Poppadoms & dips while we waited for the food.
All the food we had was very good, with lots of tender meat & tasty sauces. Good place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fair Indian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Having been to many UK Indian restaurants I was expecting something fantastic in Camps Bay to justify its position on the front and trip advisor rating - the food was just average, the service a bit below average as the waiters joked about with each other near the kit hen door and were not attentive enough - the main course a chicken bhuna for me and a channa masala for my good lady were both a bit peppery even though we ordered medium, the black pepper spice seemed to over consume other flavours and leave an overriding feeling of spice attack as opposed to a spice infusion of different blends and aromas bursting on your palate which I am used to so a lower review than I would normally give but is that because of the setting as opposed to the quality of the food that should be served. Up to you but ensure you are ready for some peppery spice !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“This place changed my mind about Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Some of my best friends are Indian but I never enjoyed eating Indian food but this restaurant has completely changed my mind. The location of the restaurant is nice, close to the beach and the sea, the service is great and the food a delight! I will definitely come back should I come back to Cape Town and can recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were agreeably surprised with this restaurant. The service was very good, the staff very friendly and food and wine were excellent. We will definately dine here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Boring Food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Since we have been here before we were looking forward to our visit, the menu was promising and we also found a wonderful wine. unfortunately our 3-course- meal did not meet our expectations at all! The tomato soup tasted like canned, the main dish were veggis from the freezer and for desert we had a boring rice pudding. We missed fresh herbs and the spices that makes Indian food special. It was most defenetly our last visit here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.