We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique @ 10

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boutique @ 10 to your Saves list
Boutique @ 10
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We staid at quite a number of B&Bs in 3 trips to South Africa and must say that they all were very high quality. Boutique@10 was the shining star, though!
The location is incredible with only 5 minutes to Lion's Head/Table Mountain in one and Camps Bay beach in the other direction. And it is doubtful that you can find a better view for sunsets over Camps Bay beach and the Atlantic ocean than from the beautiful deck at Boutique@10. (By the way, when staying in one of the two upper deck rooms, you may chose between the upper private deck and the lower "party" deck.)
Our room (Lion's Head suite) was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The couch is perfectly positioned to enjoy the sunset view and the bed was one of the most comfortable ever.
Breakfast is a feast, especially when you order a cooked breakfast. The omelette prepared by Beach is a blast!
Finally, I would like to highlight what great hosts Jennifer and Beach are. Their hospitality really goes beyond what you normally expect. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.
MnM

Room Tip: We staid in the Lion's Head suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
271
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were staying three nights after a long travel through South Africa with all sorts of experience. This place was beating in all though. We felt so much at home from the very first minute and it was more like visiting friends and stay at their place after we had not seen each other in many years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We started our holiday with tree night at the Boutique@10 and it was awesome. Jennifer, Beach and stuff are the perfect hosts and the level for the following b&B's was very high. Fantastic view, great breakfast and a very warm atmosphere! Thank's a lot!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed mid October for 2 nights in the all suite boutique hotel.
The views overlooking camps bay are amazing, a great spot to have a glass of wine looking at a world class sunset.
The owners cannot do enough to make sure your stay is special,
The rooms of high class, great quality linen and super comfy pillows sure the reason why this continues to be the only place to stay in camps
Hope the toe is better beach man.

The Du,s from Dubai

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you've already read the promos before staying at Jen and Beach's exceptional guest house they still do not prevent your breath being taken away on arrival by the house itself and the incredible views from the breakfast terrace and the balcony of the upstairs suites. Add to this the hospitality of your hosts and their staff, then you indeed begin to wonder if 'you may just never want to leave'.

The breakfasts are challenging to weak willed souls like me as I couldn't resist the layered yogurt sundaes with cereal and lashings of fresh fruit followed by excellent muesli and one of Beach's omelettes topped with herbs and flowers from the garden. All washed down with fresh orange and then rooibos and croissant!

If you are going to Cape Town then stay here in Camps Bay - it will make your holiday or business trip all the more relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A wonderful stay in this beautiful guest house with stunning views over Camps Bay. Nothing was too much trouble for Jen and Beach. The rooms are extremely comfortable and uniquely furnished African style. Breakfast was excellent, and it was great to catch up with other guests and our hosts in the communal living and eating area - all helped by an well stocked honesty bar. We'd love to come back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our Cape Town trip would have not been the same without staying at B@10. First of all the location is just superb, right in the middle of Camps Bay, the beach is a 12min stroll down hill, which means all the restaurants are also within walkable distance. It is a mere 5 mins drive from Table Mountain as well as Lion's Head, and 15mins drive from Constanzia. Closed and secure parking is available, already with a view that will stop you in your tracks. Then comes Mr and Mrs Beach (the beautiful Jenn and Dave) and you are set for an unforgettable stay. The houuse has a very cozy lounge area with a terrace, both perfect to view the sunset, eat breakfast or just enjoy the sunshine (there is also a plunge pool). The Beaches live in the lower level, so they are around whenever anything is needed, but providing the privacy you require. The breakfast is superb, Mr Beach making it himself to order, using fresh herbs straight from the garden. There is also a variety of fresh fruits, muesli, granola and yoghurt/milk. The Beaches are great fun to talk to, and have tailored recommendations for daily programmes and places to eat (we ended up at Pigelle on Saturday evening, then The Bungalow and Codfather for dinner on subsequent nights). They even have a cab driver friend, who will not only pick you up from the hotel, but will come to take you home at the end of the night. The rooms are spacious with very cool unique designs. The beds cannot get more comfortable with 4 different size pillows (I find most hotel pillows too high, but not here!). Our car battery has died on us, so we had mr Beach and one of his fab house assistants help jump start the car. On our last day, we were even offered a spare key so that we could leave our stuff there, and come back as and when we wanted to (our flight was late in the evening).

This was our first trip to Cape Town, so we travelled around a bit, staying in different places each night, including B@10. And then we decided to stay there for the last 2 nights again, because nothing else compared. We have fallen in love with Cape Town, and the cherry on top was staying at Boutique@10. It felt like coming home after the first day!

We stayed in the Lion's Head room first, which has a magnificent view of the ocean (with a huge terrace you share with just one other room, besides the even bigger communal terrace right below), as well as a perfect view of Lion's Head mountain. There are multiple windows throughout the rooms, so fantastic lighting is provided. Bathroom had shower only.

We also stayed at the Deck room, still fabulous view of the beach and direct access to the communal terrace. The bathroom has tub and shower.

A huge tray of complementary bits in the rooms, an honesty bar in the kitchen (with fresh fruit bowls with yoghurt and a thin layer of granola at any time), a delicious selection of wine to have by glass or bottle and anything else you wish for really, you just had to ask.

A perfect piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Top rooms (Ocean and Lion's Head) have a shared terrace between the two rooms, apart from commun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique @ 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique @ 10

Address: 10 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique @ 10 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique at 10 is unique accommodation located on the edge of Camps Bay's central ravine. We are perfectly centered above Camps Bay Beach, with full view of the white beach sands being swept clean by the blue Atlantic Ocean. All this coupled with uninterrupted panoramic views of the coastal landscape and ocean, from north to south, as far as the eye can see, yet only a 10-15 minute walk down to Camps Bay Beach and its famous restaurant strip.Positioned in the heart of Camps Bay on the Atlantic Seaboard, the Boutique is just a 5 minute drive to the Table Mountain Cable Car Station, 10 minute drive to Cape Town CBD and V&A Waterfront, 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and a leisurely and scenic drive to the Cape of Good Hope, the Cape Wine lands and the many beautiful golf courses that the Cape has to offer.The boutique style villa, a blend of Swiss chalet and beach cottage, originally built in 1955 and remodeled 35 years later by its second and current owners, David Beach and Jennifer, features 4 spacious and ocean-facing guest suites. The Boutique features an open and spacious design, which leans towards old school, with a variety of rich woods, french doors, large arched windows, brass wall lamps and the original wrought-iron balustrade which were, with great care, removed from the historical Sea Point President Hotel, that was demolished back in the early '90s.To ensure guests comfort, all suites, which are serviced daily, include 32-40 inch LCD flat screens, complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity, air-conditioning for room climate control, electronic safes, hair dryers, tea and coffee trays and en-suites with shower and/or bath. Three of the guest suites feature beds that can be made into two singles or a king, while the Ocean Suite offers a stylish, king-size wooden sleigh bed, designed and hand crafted by a good friend. All are draped in pure white linen and splashed with colourful hand painted throws, extra length pillows, scatter cushions and are dressed with goose down duvets and flat sheets.Sliding glass doors lead to a large common outdoor balcony for the Ocean and Lions Head Suites on the upper level. The Deck Suite opens up to the main pool deck and the Beach Suite has a private entrance and private garden patio. Both are located on the main level of the house and can accommodate a third single bed upon request.A healthy breakfast of coffee or tea, fresh juice, toast and cereals, eggs, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt and seasonal fruit, is served in the open plan guest lounge which flows onto the main wooden pool deck making a spacious and inviting area in which to eat and lounge. Five large double doors open up from the lounge onto the pool deck to allow nature's beauty, the fresh ocean breeze and the sounds of birds to blend into the essence of pleasure and relaxation which is Boutique at 10.The popular guest lounge, with the original stone wall and rustic fireplace, warms the body on cool evenings ... while a glass of Cape wine warms the soul ...You may just never want to leave ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boutique @ 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique @ 10 Hotel Camps Bay
Boutique @ 10 Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique @ 10, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.