We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zenzero good food, service a bit slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ZENZERO

ZENZERO
Shop 2A, The Promenade | Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005 , South Africa
+27(0)21 4380007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 restaurants in Camps Bay
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Zenzero good food, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the food, it was very good. However, considering the amount of staff working there the service was a bit on the slow side. Luckily we weren't in any great hurry. Great place to sit and watch the world of Camps Bay go by.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at ZENZERO, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Marc,

Thank you for your feedback both good and constructive.

I assure you that the service issued mentioned will be addressed and rectified internally. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    116
    109
    34
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High expectations; huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

After a recommendation from family, we decided to eat at ZenZero last Sunday evening (Dec 1st) and did not have a great experience. Our table was right at the front of the restaurant so a nice location. The calamari starter was somewhat tough and we suspect that the fish was not fresh. My husband's prawn risotto was acceptable, however my main course of calamari had to be sent back to the kitchen as it was cold. Furthermore, it was overly spiced. Horrible.

When the bill arrived, they had charged us for two calamari main courses - very sneaky - fortunately I spotted it and we had the check corrected. To be honest, I would have expected my main course to have been fully removed from the bill, but there we go!

I would not return to ZenZero based on the experience that we had, although I know of many people who rave about the place. Maybe we just caught it on a bad day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at ZENZERO, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

I can assure you that your disappointing experience is most certainly not the norm at Zenzero Restaurant. We would very much like and opportunity to make it up to you if possible?

Please contact me on monique@kovecollection.co.za. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice place! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is one of the nicer places on Camps Bay to eat. Accordingly, the Prices are a bit higher, but it is totally worth it. The food is fresh and expertly prepared with care. Drinks are stout and very chic! Service was amazing! We talked for over an hour with our waitress from Mozambique! She was very kind and very prompt in serving us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at ZENZERO, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and rating. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Laid back perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stopped for a late lunch in here and had a wonderful chicken and peach salad with a glass of Rose, whilst watching the world go by... it was bliss after an 8 mile walk!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at ZENZERO, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate the fantastic feedback and rating - thank you so much. Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun, very camps bay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Finding on this trip allot of waiting staff being over zealous on the recommendations. Eaten at Zenzero twice this year, overall excellent food and good service, best to book ahead during the season.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at ZENZERO, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Carole,

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZENZERO also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to ZENZERO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZENZERO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.