We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Crystal to your Saves list
The Crystal
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My company has attended a show in Cape Town for the past 3 years and my colleagues and I have stayed in The Crystal each and every time. Each year, our experience was more pleasant. This self catering establishment is luxurious, stylish, comfortable, ultra modern and serviced daily. The view from your balcony just blows you away. It is close to the buzz at the beachfront and relatively painless to get to the city centre. Awesome place to stay and really worth raving about! I look forward to each and every stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ettiene R

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always an honor for us to welcome back our return guests and to receive such positive feedback.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
52
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My 2nd stay at The Crystal was every bit as good as 1st visit and I'll certainly return again. Beautifully modern ,clean well maintained accomodation in a fantastic location with stunning views of ocean and 12 Apostles mountain range. Absolutely everything you would require for duration of stay is provded for at these serviced apartments. Set in a very quiet upmarket suburb, 10 minute walk to sea front where a good choice of restuarants and bars await

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear 220JamesSM

Thank you for you for lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you yet again had a memorable stay at The Crystal Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit soon.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were a couple of 4 grown-ups and we spended time with friends and family in Camps Bay,
The appartment was great, just to the point that the cleaning could have been better, but otherwise pool and service was great. The staff went out of their way to please us. Location very secured, had problems to get to pool

Room Tip: We had the 3 bedroom appartment lots of space just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ellen L

Thank you for your review. I will appreciate it if you can email me more detailed feedback with regards to the housekeeping service.
We are in the process of upgrading some of our common area signage including directional signage to the pool.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
manager@campsbaycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Dial a Flight arranged these apartments for a 10 day stay in December 2013, the apartment has everything required for self catering, well situated with outstanding views of the sea and mountains at camps bay. The property was in excellent condition clean and well cared for. The staff where more than friendly, helpful nothing was to much trouble. We had a slight problem with noisy neighbours and the staff dealt with it promptly. I do have one tiny complaint the internet service is poor, and difficult to obtain. This is a minor problem, the bed was clean and comfortable, and I would recommend this hotel strongly and without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sea so there is no advice, you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rody W
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Please note that we are aware of the WIFI problems and we are in the process of changing suppliers that will hopefully solve the current intermittent issues. Alternatively we have 3G cards at reception that can only be used on laptops and certain tablets/ipad’s.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We had room 309 magnificent views big two bed apartment ... A few teething problems all sorted by reception which as a location is a sham in the car park in a dingy area.. Points to note

1- to pay for wifi is riddiculous when every single cafe/ restaurant offers it for free .. Makes it feel a rip off

2- there is a complimentary shuttle from bay hotel which by the way us a Porsche ... Not advertised at all or explained by reception .. Food and service at the bay hotel in the bistro is exceptional do visit

3- the pool is great providing hot weather it's freezing otherwise

Overall the crystal and camps bay is good but could be so much better with a few extra touches

Service staff are great ...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jeffy Baby

As mentioned in previous review the reception is located in the basement for easy access to parking, lobbies, security and lifts.
1. We do provide complimentary WIFI but unfortunately only in our reception area.
2. I apologize that the complimentary shuttle service was not communicated to you. This service is subject to availability and is not always the Porsche. This is on our website as well as in the service directory.
3. We have 2 pools on site of which the lap pool is not heated but the smaller pool is solar heated and dependant on sunny days.

We thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights, upon arriving late due to flight delays the receptionist waited and assisted us with our baggage. The apartment was in immaculate condition and had all necessary items to be self sufficient including washer and tumble drier.
the apartment is 10 minutes from table mountain and 5 minutes drive to the sea front. The facility has one small pool and a plunge pool and was clean with great views.
The only negative side is that you have to pay for the wifi, this is standard in most hotels that I stay in around the world.
Overall this place is a great place to stay and will recommend this to friends and family
thank you to the staff

Room Tip: Go to Llandudno beach to see the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

As a family of four, we stayed in a split level two bedroom apartment for three nights.
The cleanliness and facilities offered could not be faulted. The reception staff were ever ready to assist with any queries throughout our stay, they even allowed us to check our bags in prior to our listed arrival time.
The views from the apartment were spectacular (when the mist had cleared). There were panoramic views of Camps Bay and limited yet stunning views of Table Mountain to the rear.
For self catering needs, these apartments are more than adequate.
It is a ten minute walk down the hill to the main strip at Camps Bay, where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars to choose from if you decide to eat out. There is also a small supermarket which stocks many everyday and fresh items. The walk back to the apartments is all uphill and takes about 15/20 minutes.
Be aware that trading laws in SA do not permit the sale of alcohol on Sundays, you will usually have to find a "liquor store" for the purchase of beers & wine and before 6pm in most cases - not good news if you arrive on a Sunday morning and fancy an evening on the balcony soaking up the views with a local wine!
Residents of the apartments also have access to the facilities at The bay Hotel, including tennis and squash.
I would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: Our split level or "loft" apartments had acres of space, two bathrooms and a separate toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Tony C

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
As suggested to previous guests I recommend that all your grocery shopping should be done in town as there are also no liquor stores in Camps Bay. Alternatively we do have a service to guests called personalized shopping where we can shop on your behalf and have everything ready for your day of arrival. This option is on our website.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future so you can enjoy a gorgeous sunset with a lovely glass of wine.
Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world's premier scenic settings. With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft and three bedroom apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style. Two swimming pools on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.