We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated so well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crystal to your Saves list
The Crystal
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Treated so well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

There was a problem with our request for a twin and a double formatted room, only two double format available when we arrived .... Shouldn't have happened but we were upgraded to a villa at no extra cost, don't get better than that.
Spent one night at Crystal location and apartment great would return if in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, views excellent, preferred the west side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good apartment, a little noisy at times, strange reception/entrance but otherwise OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Internet variable, but OK if you stood by the entrance door.
Would certainly consider returning if I wanted to stay in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham sussex
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed our first 5 nights of our trip here and it was a great start. The apartment was beautifully appointed with a nice balcony. The apartment was cleaned daily and the beds made. Its well suited for the restaurants in Camps Bay and also to visit Table Mountain and Cape Point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights. The apartment itself is a little small with limited space for luggage etc however it was spotless with all the necessary amenities. The decoration and furniture were of a very high standard, the kitchen well equipped, must mention the extracor fan above stove was very low..eye level so you had to bend over to use the stove, must be addressed. The sea view was great and and the complex security is very good which made us feel safe. Very well located can walk a few minutes to Camps Bay spots but suggest drive back as walk uphill would be trying on some. Underground secure parking provided with security guard and safe passage to room. Surrounds were great for the morning runs. We were given on arrival half a box of tissues, one dishwasher tablet, small bottle of dish washing liquid and two face cloths. The towels were replaced daily but the facecloth was a once off....it was not removed like the towels but washed in the room....dont really understand why it could not be done like the towels??,rather odd for this kind of accommodation and duration of stay. As a traveler last thing I want to look for is dish washing tablets and face cloths but the stay was very comfortable and I will return. Great apartment in a very good and safe location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula. There is a good choice of restaurants in Camps Bay which is also close enough to the V&A in Cape Town to be able to drive in for a evening meal.
The Crystal is secure, well equipped and comfortable but this is what you pay for! Points for improvement:
The cleaning in the corridors and stairwells was poor, the rooms are very clean when you arrive but once in the cleaners appear to slacken off, the terrace needs some fencing on each side to make the terrace more private and we had two plastic chairs on the terrace when we could have done with something more relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good security, safe car parking. Tricky to navigate around the Crystal as one had to return to the basement each time before ascending to another part of the building.

Excellent assistance from staff in the rather strange 'Reception' area in the basement car park. They were happy to book Table Mountain trips and restaurants.

Modern room with (from ground floor) a part view of the sea. As mentioned elsewhere, beware the 'killer' cooker hood. In room washing facilities were excellent with efficient Whirlpool appliances.

BUT - wifi was charged. Out of step with all other South African hotels, B & Bs and even game parks. Membership of beach club was great, BUT we were refused entry on Saturday, February 16 as a private party was being held. This was very disappointing as it's a major feature of staying at the Crystal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Accommodation in studio apartment was good. Furnishing was in good order but if you have layout with centre island for cooking watch the corners of the glass extractor hood which are particularly located with decapitation in mind!

We had a particular problem with wind noise which is probably an ongoing problem. The surrounding geography means that winds come through and off the mountains at high velocity and the experience was akin to sleeping in a hurricane with a fairly constant howling wind noise.

This property is in same group as The Bay Hotel and a shuttle bus is available to take you between the two. If the bus is not immediately available you are likely to get a white Porsche chauffeur driven instead. As a free service this takes some beating!

This was a chill period at the end of a fly/drive and in that context we were a little disappointed with Camps Bay. It is apparently one of the 'in places' to go from Cape Town and is therefore somewhat busy with people out to be seen, and has a front string of restaurants all open to the street with lots of noise and bustle.

This review rating tries to strike a balance between the good accommodation and staff, and the problem outside of their control of ongoing wind noise due to location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Asc Surrey
Thank you for your honest review. I can guarantee you that we have no intention of decapitating any of our guests. We have acknowledged this issue and as mentioned in my previous response we are looking at highlighting this design in order for it to be more visible.

Camps Bay is definitely known to have its fair share of seasonal windy days and architecturally this was taken into account but due to the location we do experience wind noise when the strong South Easter blows.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world's premier scenic settings. With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft and three bedroom apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style. Two swimming pools on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.