We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crystal

Save Saved
You added The Crystal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crystal
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As other reviews mention it really is a fabulous view of Camps Bay and Table mountain from this apartment hotel. Very goodfacilities within the apartment - ie. all mod cons, underfloor heating, nicely furnished throughout. Reception helpful for booking taxis/shuttle and recommendations of where to visit and where to eat

Added bonus is that you can get a minibus transfer between the sister hotel on the beach at Camps Bay and the apartment as otherwise would be a 30 mins walk up a steep hill

Only negatives for what otherwise would be a 5* star rating is that tea/coffee and toiletries are not replenished after the first day and during our stay there was incessant banging from building work in aprartment above from 8.30am every morning during our stay (it was low season) which should really of been mentioned prior to arrival or at check in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We have a starter pack for our guests to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee on their arrival without having to run off to the nearest supermarket and due to the fact that we are self catering we do not replenish this on a daily basis . We do however offer personalized shopping that can be arranged prior to your arrival in order for you to be stocked with the basic necessities and groceries on your arrival day.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with regards to the noise. As it is our low season we and other owners in The Crystal utilize this time to do repairs wherever needed. Unfortunately we were not informed of the degree of work that was to be completed otherwise we would gladly have moved you to an alternative apartment.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed in the Crystal in February 2012. I have seen a lot of hotels and holiday accomodations due to extensive travel, and very few have made me feel at home or luxurious as this one. It's a beautiful setting, with helpful staff always greeting you with a smile. The view is spectacular, waking up overlooking the ocean is a big plus. The appartement we stayed in had top-notch design, and was all we could hope for. Also received some good tips re. trips or things to do nearby from the concierge. I do believe there is a different feel to all appartments, due to a very differing design and setting but I'm sure there all up to standard. We stayed in appartement 302. Very good value for money, will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for 302!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed in two bedroom loft apt. For Man United game last weekend. Very poor service. Had arranged with them for late check in.,waited more than 15 min. Both the bedroom had no doors. No safe and closet in the main bedroom.In the main bedroom the shower cubicle had water clogging. Very little water coming out in the basin tap.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I have looked into your reservation; the loft apartment that you stayed in is the only apartment that is unique in its design. We have learned from your review and will highlight this on our website.

As per 4star grading requirements we only provide one safe per apartment and this specific apartment had its safe in the loft bedroom. We will take this into consideration to perhaps move the safe to a central area in the apartment.

We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to invite you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I normally stay at the Crystal,on Monday at late notice myself and a collegue had to go to Cape town for business we called the Crystal,when we checked in and when to the room we were told that the DSTV is not working but that it will be fixed before 5 that afternoon,no one pitched the next day at checkout i mentioned my disappointment only to hear that the DSTV dish had been damaged the previous week,so the whole block was out,i feel this should have been mentioned at time of booking a 4star establishment should have done so as top dollar is paid,i personally think they werent transparent in fear not to loose the booking.I also asked for a manager or guest relations officer to contact me at this stage that call is still forthcoming,i dont think i will stay there again or my company.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Crystal Apartments as your choice of accommodation and would like to apologize for the lack of service you received during your stay.

This is definitely not the level of service we as a team strive to provide and the fact that the DSTV was not working should have been communicated to you upon making your reservation. As manager, I was not made aware that I had to contact you and this matter will be taken up with the entire team.

We value our return guests and I would like for you to please contact me directly as this is a very serious matter in my opinion.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
manager@campsbaycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was very suprised with the accommodation at the Crystal. It's about 5 minutes from the beach, so easy to reach but also not in the busy hussle and bussle of camp's bay. Great location! We stayed in a studio. Very spacious! Also very clean and stylishly decorated. I'll definately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in the Crystal apartments for three nights, with our one year old son. We booked a studio apartment, but we're lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger (one bed) apartment, as we were there off season.

The apartment was huge with a bedroom, walk in closet, large bathroom with bath and shower, great kitchen and separate scullery with both a washing machine and tumble drier (just what we needed!) and a dishwasher. We were glad we coud relax at 'home' instead of constantly looking for child-friendly restaurants. The location was good- far from the main beach, but that wasn't a huge problem as the weather was bad. It was nice to be close to the main road back to cape town, so we didn't need to travel too far together anywhere. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a superb stay. The apartment was exceptionally attractive. In addition it was spacious and had a fantastic view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world’s premier scenic settings.With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style.Two infinity pool on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.