We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added POD Camps Bay to your Saves list
POD Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Luxury Design Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
George, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent a few nights at the POD and can quite honestly say that this hotel blew me away. The hotel is ultra modern with excellent attention to detail.The room was stunning, very comfortable and clean, with an array of complementary extras. Breakfast was superb! Thank you to the POD team for going above and beyond to ensure my holiday was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Robyn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am elated to hear that you were blown away by the POD experience!
Thank you for the commendations on the attention to detail, the rooms and the housekeeping.
I am glad that you also enjoyed the complimentary offerings.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
262
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Cape Town, this was not our first trip there, we have always stayed on the wharf side at one of those hotels. This time I wanted to stay at Camps Bay and we chose to stay here at the POD. Best choice I could have made.this hotel is a smaller hotel but not small at all in ammenities or staff service. The breakfast is excellant the rooms are fabulous and comfortable with excellant showers!!!!. I really recommend this hotel at the highest level of referral. You will not be disappointed. The bay is just across the street so you can enjoy wonderful night walks and sun during the day. close to all the great restaurants and just a short cab ride if you choose to go into town.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a view of the mountain at first then we were upgraded to the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Claudette

Thank you for taking the time to post your first review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the commendations on the quality of the rooms, amenities and the service levels.

It was such a pleasure hosting you and we hope that you will stay with us again when you visit South Africa for the Basketball camp.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The POD Hotel Camps Bay is beautifully designed with a thoroughly modern aesthetic. But it has every creature comfort and is really very cosy. A small hotel, the staff is extremely attentive. The location can't be beat--right off the beach in Camps Bay, arguably the most beautiful coastal village near Cape Town. Only 10 minutes by taxi from the heart of Cape Town, you feel as if you are far removed. Easy walk to many fun shops, night clubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with the best water view. The spa is limited to an exercise room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Amanda

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am delighted to hear that you liked the design and aesthetics of our hotel. The owner is incredibly passionate about architecture and design and spent many hours tweaking the plans to ensure that all the elements of the building would fit together perfectly.

I am glad that you enjoyed the attentive service from the team and I have to agree with you that Camps Bay is one of the most spectacular coastal villages in Cape Town!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved staying at POD Camps Bay. Our room was very modern, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and the location made short walks to local restaurants fun and easy. I would and have recommended "The POD" to my friends and family. We did not use the spa.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the top corner room looking towards the beach as I booked a room with a pool, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Becky

Thank you for taking the time to share your POD experience on tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that you would stay again and that you have recommended our property to others. We are incredibly fortunate to receive the majority of our bookings from word of mouth referrals as well as repeat guests.

Thanks for your room tip, whilst we have tried to heat the plunge pools during Winter, we can only get a maximum temperature of +- 25'C.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many hotels over the years and the POD ranks at the top of the list. This amazing boutique hotel is modern, yet warm in its feel. The rooms are beautiful, but what really stands out at the POD is the amazing staff and service. They think of everything you need, before you even know you need it. The staff are thoughtful, helpful and really go out of their way to ensure you have an amazing stay. Simple things like offering water bottles every time you go out and even providing small cooler bags to keep the water cool. Hot water bottles are put in bed in the evening to keep you toasty warm and staff offer assistance and suggestions in planning your day (if you need it). Breakfast is delicious and healthy, fresh options are abundant. The views are stunning, a complimentary mini-bar is included in the rooms along with heated floors. They even gift a tree on your behalf at an under-greened school community center or reforestation project. The POD’s level of service, attention to detail and beautiful space and surroundings make this the BEST bet in the Cape Town area. The POD is remarkable – book now!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Wow, thank you for posting such a fantastic review about our property. I am elated to hear that we are at the top of your list of favorite hotels!

Thanks for the positive comments on the design and architecture of the hotel, the modern and minimal look can be quite clinical but by introducing timber as well as other elements, we have managed to create a clean yet warm feel to our property.

Service and thoughtfulness are what makes us stand out from the crowd and we are constantly brainstorming new ideas to add value to ones stay. I am thrilled to see that you picked up on some of these.

You are the first guest to mention the Greenpop affiliation. To date we have panted 137 trees in underprivileged and under greened communities. This is one of many sustainability initiatives that we are committed to.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon and service was outstanding and accommodations first class....highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Cape Town. We enjoyed having cocktails downstairs in the lobby bar. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your honeymoon experience, It's always a pleasure to read such great feedback!

We hope that you will return for one of your future anniversary celebrations.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the pod hotel for 5 night - all of which were fantastic.

The team at the hotel are top notch - our room was made available to us early as we showed up a bit early. The room itself was fantastic - modern boutique at it's best. A great layout with excellent us of space along with a complimentary mini bar with soft drinks, beer and wine (WOW).

But if there was one thing to harp on about at this hotel then it's the service - my wife and I got caught with some pre-arranged transport not showing up (not arranged by the hotel) and Brendan the owner offered to drive us himself. This saved us a red face showing up late and really helped us out.

Great hotel with fantastic service - I would go back in a second. For those thinking of the 12 apostles as an alternative then one thing to consider.... POD is in town - 12 A's is a mile or two down the coast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury room with a sea view, it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Dillan

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

Your kind words on the design and layout of the rooms as well as the service that you experienced is well received.

It was an absolute pleasure driving you up to the Roundhouse when your pre-arranged transport didn't arrive. I am glad that such a simple gesture on my part had such a big impact on your stay. I always learn something new when reading guest reviews and often its the most insignificant thing that can either make or break a guests experience at a hotel.

Thank you for making reference to our location, we are incredibly fortunate to be within such close proximity to the beach, bars and restaurants that make up the Camps Bay Strip.

I am delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to POD.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished.See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved.15 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD’s proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away.It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler’s 101 Best Hotels in the World.Facilities:POD Camps Bay offers modern and stylish rooms which include the following amenities: AC, Under-floor heating, rain shower, ultra slim 40’ flat screen TV, satellite TV channels, DVD player, ipod docking station, WiFi, Nespresso & tea station and a complimentary mini bar and room snacks.The hotel boasts a large pool overlooking the Camps Bay beach, a wellness room and a gym which offers both cardio and toning equipment.Rates include:Breakfast, unlimited tea, coffee and mineral water. Uncapped WiFi and secure underground parking.Services:24 hour reception, concierge, business services, laundry and dry cleaning, airport and city shuttle, luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POD Camps Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.