We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel experience! Super friendly, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of POD Camps Bay

Save Saved
You added POD Camps Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Season Specials
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel experience! Super friendly, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We started our trip off to South Africa in Cape Town after a long journey. The staff was fantastic! Just to name a few great things, they were very helpful with setting us with a late night arrival dinner in our room, recommendations for tours with directions, great morning breakfast, an amazing tour guide for cape/wine w/Riaz, private massage in the room. Anytime we asked for something they were right on it. The room we stayed in was new & modern with lots amenities. We could not have asked for a better experience. Highly, highly recommend this hotel! Thank you for a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear "Madisonnewyork"

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

The late night dinner, local advice and suggestions as well as arranging your tour itineraries was our pleasure. This customer focused service and willingness to arrange everything so that our guests can sit back and relax is what makes us stand out from the crowd.

I am overjoyed that you liked the minimal design concept of our property an that we were the perfect start to your holiday in Cape Town.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
224
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the POD for 4 nights from the 26st of May. I was there on business but my wife joined me as well. Though it was winter time in Cape Town and the Camps Bay area was fairly quiet we very happy with our choice of the POD. I agree with all the comments on the beautiful design, clean rooms, etc. but for us it was really the sense of personal attention that made the difference. All the staff (and particularly the ladies at the front desk) were brilliant and we were made to feel welcome from the day we arrived. We arrived at the hotel at 930am. Not only did we manage to get an early check-in but we got upgraded to a Luxury Room. Similarly, on the day we checked out we were told that we could stay in the room until it was time to go to the airport (and we did not even have to ask for this!). Moreover, the SatNav from the rental car company did not work and the hotel immediately told us we could use theirs free of charge, ironing/minibar was complimentary, etc. So cannot recommend strongly enough. I ususally stay in larger well-known hotels but I have been converted to the boutique type and will definitely stay at the POD next time I am in Cape Town. M. Mohamed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Maqbool

Thank you for such a wonderful review, I am delighted to hear that you were happy with your decision to stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am glad that you felt that the personal touches, attention to detail, complimentary items as well as the warm, customer focused service were the highlights of your stay. We are blessed with an incredibly beautiful property but it's the people involved in our hotel that win guests over and make them want to return.

It was a pleasure accommodating your early arrival and late departure. The room upgrade is something we try to do as often as possible, however, during high occupancy periods it's not always guaranteed.

I am thrilled to hear that we have converted you from the big, corporate style hotels. Boutique properties can offer a service level that is almost impossible to replicate in a big hotel operation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD during your next trip to Cape Town.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

POD is a smalll hotel right by the beach at Camps Bay: Great rooms with cutting edge design, some with sea views and others with small private pools. Minutes from all the amenities of Camps Bay. Good bar and terrace. \no restaurant but a simple but tasty breakfast. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floor sea view rooms or lower floor with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you for submitting your review and thanks for your commendations on the design, location and welcoming service that you received during your stay.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pod from 25th to 26th May 2013 in the mini-mountain room. This is the first time we stayed in this particular room and were totally in awe of it. We found it to be the cosiest, warmest hotel suite in the entire hotel as we have already had the pleasure of staying in all the other suites during various other holidays. What we really loved, to give it that warm feeling, was the stunning wood finishings. Absolutely beautiful.

We also want to thank Brendan and his staff (especially Dominic, Meagan and Micaela who were on duty during our stay) for their excellent hospitality. From the warm welcome, friendliness, superb understanding of our needs and general 5-star treatment, Pod can be proud to have staff like that who go beyond the call of duty to make one feel as if you are their only guest!!

I am not sure who the chef was on duty, but the breakfast was superb!!! Thank you.

The best hotel we have ever had the pleasure to stay at. Well done, guys :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Barbara

It was a pleasure hosting Rob and yourself during another stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am glad that you enjoyed our Mini Mountain rooms, these compact and open plan rooms have an incredibly warm feel and the framed vistas over lions head are a great plus.

Thank you for the commendations on the level of service that you received whilst at the hotel.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay: beautifully designed, tasteful, well located & very friendly staff! There are not many other places in Cape Town with the same design quality. This is a real find. The views toward Camps Bay are a bit obstructed by surrounding buildings, but there's still a great view of the beach and the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Martin

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at POD Camps Bay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on the Tripadvisor forum.

I am glad to hear that you liked the design of our building and the views over the Camps Bay beach.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel from the moment we were greeted by the staff!!The day manager was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are modern, minimalistic, comfortable and clean. The only handicap for me is if i had to park my car in their garage with a very narrow and steep entrance. Fortunately my husband was driving. Other than that I would definitely return!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear "Trovitolau"

Thank you for choosing POD Camps Bay during your recent trip to Cape Town and thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern and minimalistic rooms.

I have to agree abut the steep and narrow entrance to our basement parking. Thankfully our staff are happy to offer a valet parking service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent the last two nights on South Africa at this hotel. As soon as we walked in we knew it would be unique in every sense and it was. The decor is wow and the layout of rooms is something I have not been before. The corridors are airy and the wooden/natural appeal of the room was lovely. Loved the high tech gadgets and the fact you had a DVD library too! Breakfast was great quality and staff were so friendly. The only thing which was frustrating was there was no hot water in our room in the evenings do we had lukewarm showers and Internet kept switching on and off in our room. But when we informed the management of this they were ever so apologetic and settled our bill so we didn't pay the extras and they also offered us a late check out as our flight was at 5pm. I think we were unlucky with the shower and Internet but apart from that the location, decor and friendliness of this hotel makes it top notch!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear "Animal83"

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

Considering that you had the hot water and WiFi issues, I am delighted to hear that you still feel that we are a top notch hotel. Thank you for bringing these problems to my attention, both have now been resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished.See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved.15 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD’s proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away.It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler’s 101 Best Hotels in the World.Facilities:POD Camps Bay offers modern and stylish rooms which include the following amenities: AC, Under-floor heating, rain shower, ultra slim 40’ flat screen TV, satellite TV channels, DVD player, ipod docking station, WiFi, Nespresso & tea station and a complimentary mini bar and room snacks.The hotel boasts a large pool overlooking the Camps Bay beach, a wellness room and a gym which offers both cardio and toning equipment.Rates include:Breakfast, unlimited tea, coffee and mineral water. Uncapped WiFi and secure underground parking.Services:24 hour reception, concierge, business services, laundry and dry cleaning, airport and city shuttle, luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POD Camps Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.