We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of POD Camps Bay

Save Saved
You added POD Camps Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Season Specials
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Camps Bay
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We travelled to South Africa to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary and we have to thank to the POD family a lot for the contribution to a wonderful stay in Camps Bay. Would you believe that they managed to book dinner for us, in a ultra short notice, at the Round House Restaurant, one of the best of Cape Town? And more, when we arrived there, we received a personalized menu for our celebration!!! And there is even more, they prepared a romantic night in our bedroom with champagne, chocolates and flowers.

The next day, they organized a pic nic kit, towels and everything else so we could enjoy our day travelling to the Cape of Good Hope.

Great Service, Great Localization, Great Décor. Guys, this is a perfect hotel, it’s a must!

Leticia & Peter from Brazil

Room Tip: Second Floor, with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Leticia & Peter

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you during your stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

Congratulations once again on the celebration of your 15th wedding anniversary!

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the romantic turn-down and the picnic setup that we arranged for you.

The relationships that we have formed with some of the best restaurants in Cape Town ensures that our guests get priority when it comes to dinner reservations and special requests.

Thank your for such a glowing report on our Property! We hope to see you again on one of your future anniversaries.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
209
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I both work in the travel industry and thanks to our jobs we have stayed in many 5* hotels across the world but we can confidently say that this was our best stay ever. From the moment we arrived at the hotel till the day of check-out we were consistently impressed by the hotel and it's staff. Brendan (GM) and his team (Nick, Meagan, Bryan, etc) have managed to create a perfect balance between luxury, ultimate service, respecting privacy but yet making you feel at home. Free wifi in every room, complimentary bottle of champagne, free sunbeds which they set up for you on the beach, sat.navigation on loan, room cleaned every day and a very good breakfast menu are just some examples. The hotel is perfectly located in Camps Bay, no taxi's or expensive chauffeur services needed. We cannot thank Brendan and his staff enough for creating a perfect stay! POD Camps Bay should be the one & only choice for your Cape Town stay. We are looking forward to return in the future and will highly recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Have seen two types of rooms. All are luxurious and high quality. Room with private pool is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear "Globalguest100"

Thank you for taking the time to share your honeymoon experience and stay at POD Camps Bay. The added photos are fantastic and its good to know that the little touches make for great memories.

Being reviewed so positively by guests who are in the industry means so much to us and should you have any further suggestions or improvements, please let me know.

Our complimentary GPS units, picnic backpacks, hiking maps, personalized beach service and binoculars are all great value added offerings. We are continually looking for new and innovative ways to WOW our guests during their stays with us at POD.

Once again, congratulations on your recent wedding and we hope to see you back at POD for one of your future anniversaries.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent our honey moon in POD and, gosh! It was the best choice se could have done!
People were kind, helpfull, available and competent.
We were feeling home - People know you. It's personal all the time. They solve our problems, questions quickly.
All the sugestions they gave us were simply Perfect. Not only suggestions, they make the reservation, call the cab, tell you how much you are spending with that taxi...!
The design in sensational, modern, personal and unique.
All the time we left the apartment, it was cleaned again, no matter what time of the day or night.
We travel all around the world and always stay in 5* hotels and POD really surprised us.
Thank you in special: Louis, Nick, Brendon and Micaela! Hope to come back in our anniversary!
Regards!
Kate and Felipe from Brasil !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kate & Felipe

Honeymoons are memories forever and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us on one of your "most important" holidays.

As you mention, we really strive to create a home away from home environment for all of our guests.

Many guests have mentioned that they feel that they have POD and all the staff to themselves during their stay. This is due to the personalized service offering and the time that we spend getting to know all of our guests during their stays with us.

I hope to see you in Brazil in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to POD on one of your anniversaries.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at this fabulous hotel and it was truly a great experience for us. Everything was just perfect from the reception to check out. Brendan, Nick and other staff took great care of our every small requests and provided all the information that we needed be it sight seeing, ordering food, printing flight details and providing everything needed while going on to the beach.

One thing that we really enjoyed was having dinner ordered and served in our room. The staff does an amazing job with this. They provided warm food with fresh flowers spread on the food tray. If you hate waiting for seats in the restaurants, we highly recommend doing this.

If anyone is looking for a place spend time while in Cape-Town then this is what you should consider as it located on the best beach area you can find in Cape-Town.

We would like to thanks the POD-Team for all their services and making our stay very memorable. We will definitely recommend our friends and family and know where to land when we next visit Cape-Town.

God bless and All the very best.

Regards: Hemal and Punam

Room Tip: Rooms with private plunge pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Hemal & Punam

Thank you for choosing POD Camps Bay for your accommodation in Cape Town.
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your stay.

It is always a pleasure to handle our guests requests and we truly believe that it's the little gestures that count in order to turn a stay from ordinary to extraordinary.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our in-room dining options. With the abundance of great restaurant surrounding us, its refreshing to know that you preferred to stay on site for your meals.

We look forward to both welcoming you as well as your friends in the future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The facilities, the rooms, and all of the atmosphere is of a "new age" hotel, the most modern and sophisticated. The hotel and its rooms are like in a "smart house", but the atmosphere is very warm, its a pleasure to get back to the hotel after a long day, great and comfortable feeling. In top of everything is the service of Brenda, the manager, and his staff, they make you feel like you are in a small family guest house. The staff makes everything for their guests, and they will take care for everything you need, just check in and they will take care for all the rest during your vacation. The staff helped us with restaurants reservations, even when we were outside the hotel and sent them an email, they took care for it within 5 minutes. They gave us their most unique recommendations for places to see, restaurants, and any other need we had, including the most simple and small issues, which they simply wanted to save us the time and worries with them. It is definitely one of the best hotels, if not the best, we've ever stayed at. A 5++ stars hotel by all aspects.

Thanks for a great vacation and an hosting experience!

Eynat & Oren

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better sea view. In addition, the luxury suites have a really great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Eynat & Oren

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at POD.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you during your stay and I and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our warm and hospitable service.

Every member of the POD team works hard to ensure that we deliver a memorable and personal experience to all of our guests staying at the hotel.

Our "Can Do" attitude and willingness to tend to any guest request is something that we are all incredibly committed to at POD Camps Bay.

We hope to see you in the not too distant future, either in Camps Bay or Tel Aviv...

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent the last 4 nights of our 3 week trip to Southern Africa at POD and it was the perfect end to the most wonderful holiday.

POD is a truly spectacular hotel in a great location. Every aspect of the hotel is beautifully designed but the real stand out feature is the quality of the management team and staff. Nick gave us the warmest possible welcome, and from then on he, Brendan and the rest of the management team provided a 5 star service.

We would like to say a big thank you to the team for making our stay so memorable. We will certainly be returning to Cape Town and wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than at POD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Terry B

Thank you for such fantastic feedback!

I am elated to hear that you had a memorable experience at our hotel.

As you point out, great care and attention have gone into the design, layout and finishes of the hotel but our biggest assets are the people that work so incredibly hard to ensure that all of our guests have the perfect stay at POD Camps Bay.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Cape Town.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Pod is an absolute gem in the heart of trendy Camps Bay. Uber chic and relentlessly stylish, yet with an incredibly warm heart and service deeply embedded with old fashioned values. I have read with dismay a couple of negative reviews of this amazing little place so I'm going to deal with the elephant in the room first, the block of flats opposite the hotel. Yes it isn't going to win any style awards but I understand it is one of the oldest buildings in Camps Bay and I actually found it a little refreshing to see something that gave an insight into what Camps Bay may have been like before it became all Dolce and Gabana and million pound homes. In any event, the architect who designed Camps Bay, apart from creating an exciting and stunning piece of modern architecture also ensured that most of the rooms look down onto the beach, which I might add is only paces from the hotel. I think the block of flats is a tiny price to pay for the proximity to the beach (you can walk to the hotel and back without wheezing!!!!!).

The room we stayed in was absolutely stunning (really, absolutely stunning!!!!). In many design led hotels there is a definate case of style over substance, but this is far removed from the attention to detail and the amazing staff of Pod. I suffer from asthma, and a boat trip whale watching the day before had led to a very bad chest infection, and I was feeling dreadful when I arrived at Pod. Brendan could not have been more helpful, nothing, absolutely nothing was too much trouble, he made us feel like we were his only guests, and he was an adsolute delight to deal with. In the evening Nick also fell over himself to help us in any way he could, such a refreshing change from many large hotels where you are made to feel like a number or worse an inconvenience. For me the amazing management team at Pod and their delightful staff made the experience for us. They should be congratulated for being the icing on a very scrumptious and perfectly baked cake. If you're visiting Cape Town, please spend at least a little time at perfect little Pod, an experience that will feast your eyes, indulge your senses and warm your heart.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. It's about the whole experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Nosyposy

Thank you for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback.

It is interesting to read such a refreshing take on the "Elephant in the Room!"
As you point out, the location and proximity to the beach as well as the many restaurants along the strip far outweigh the views of the neighboring buildings.

It's a pity that you had such a nasty chest infection during your stay with us as I am sure that you would have enjoyed the many restaurants and activities in the area.

Perhaps this is the perfect excuse for a future stay with us...

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished.See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved.15 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD’s proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away.It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler’s 101 Best Hotels in the World.Facilities:POD Camps Bay offers modern and stylish rooms which include the following amenities: AC, Under-floor heating, rain shower, ultra slim 40’ flat screen TV, satellite TV channels, DVD player, ipod docking station, WiFi, Nespresso & tea station and a complimentary mini bar and room snacks.The hotel boasts a large pool overlooking the Camps Bay beach, a wellness room and a gym which offers both cardio and toning equipment.Rates include:Breakfast, unlimited tea, coffee and mineral water. Uncapped WiFi and secure underground parking.Services:24 hour reception, concierge, business services, laundry and dry cleaning, airport and city shuttle, luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POD Camps Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.