We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to finish 4 glorious weeks in South Africa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camps Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atholl House
Save
You added Atholl House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Atholl South Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A special Special
Ranked #5 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“What a way to finish 4 glorious weeks in South Africa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We saved the best till last. Thank you Brendan and Staff at the wonderful Atholl House for making our last three days in Camps Bay, Cape Town so enjoyable. Brendan is just something else, so helpful, polite and cannot do enough for you. The decor, ambience, style and the fabulous breakfasts make this place a must, and is set in ideal location in Camps Bay, should you not want to walk, take a Taxi ride, especially by Isaac, what a character. We shall be back when next in The Cape.

Room Tip: We had the Emerald room, which was beautiful, but all rooms are of high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
156
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Atholl House and Camps Bay. The location was stunning with table mountain and the Twelve Apostles to the side and a beautiful view over the bay in front. The beach front resturants and cafe's were great for our evenings out. The V&A Waterfront was about 7 minutes away by taxi or car. The accomodation was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. Brendan was a great host, friendly, very helpful and not a bad cook. He provides a good breakfast of your choice each morning along with his friendly banter. I'm so pleased we stayed here and not in one of the impersonal hotels in the city. This was our first time in this type of accomodation and it will not be our last - we loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and I'm sure will have magnificent views over the bay, our corner room, O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire,england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the perfect start to our holiday. We stayed in Ruby room for 5 nights, with stunning views across Camps Bay. This is an ideal base to explore the area. Brendan was a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble for him, if he did not know the answer to a question (which was rare) then he promptly found out. The facilities are first class. The breakfast buffet excellent as we're Brendan's omelettes. This place deserves a 5 star rating and we look forward to returning. John and Trish Craven

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at The Atholl House guest house between 27/12/2012 and 5/1/2013 and we can both say that our whole experience was amazing.
We stayed in the Onyx room with views over both Camps bay and the Twelve Apostles. The room was beautiful, clean, very well appointed and very spacious.
The breakfasts were cooked fresh to order and there was a whole host of cold options from fruit salad to cold meats to some of Katja's home made little quiche.
The situation of Atholl House is just perfect - within easy walking distance of Camps bay beach and restaurants but not so close that you will hear the nightlife. Its also very easy to travel around by car from the guest house - you can easily access different parts of the Cape within a few minutes.
Both Brendan and Katja were great hosts. Very lovely people, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
We have traveled to many different parts of the world but suffice to say this is the only place we are hankering to revisit - and with so many other wonderful places in the world that is really saying something.
As I said in the title - AMAZING!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - the ones on the top floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Atholl House is 1st class. The beautiful large bedroom with double aspect windows overlooking the bay with a king sized bed and crisp white linen was a sanctuary after an overnight flight from U.K.
Katja was most welcoming and Brendan became our saviour - our hire car had a hole in the tyre and we had to have it changed on the way to Camps Bay. Brendan said - 'leave it to me'.
He very politely tore a strip off the hire company on behalf of his valued customers and while we were out to dinner that evening the car was replaced with absolutely no hassle to ourselves.
Service like that is hard to find - we were very grateful.
Breakfast and room service cannot be faulted. Their tame taxi driver ( Isaac ) is a joy of a character and Camps Bay has enough good eateries to please everyone.

If you are staying in or near cape Town for a few days - Stay at Atholl House. Excellent !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had 6 fantastic days here in November 2012. We booked this based on reviews and were not disappointed. The views were amazing, cleanliness of the rooms and breakfasts were of a high standard but to top it all off the service was exceptional, 5*. Brendan made us feel so welcome and at home here, we would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here. In fact we are already planning our next trip to Cape Town and will certainly be booking Atholl House.

Room Tip: Onyx was fantastic and had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Atholl House exceeded our expectations. We stayed at this gorgeous oasis for 3 nights and enjoyed every single minute of it.
First of all, Katia and Brendan were extremely helpful and very friendly--as well as professional. Brendan runs the guest house on most days and Katia is there on his days off.
The rooms were sublime. Beautiful, clean and modern. The views from the room and balcony are stunning! You can't help but feel relaxed and spoiled at this place with the pool and extraordinary views.
The rooms are equipped with a lovely comfortable bed, TV, modern bathroom with shower and tub, tea/coffee, beach towels, seating area and place on the balcony. We had a full load of laundry done for a very affordable price. Everything was washed and ironed in a day.
They serve an amazing breakfast that caters to European and American tastes. Delicious yogurts, cereals, croissants, fruits, cheese, brownies, coffee, tea and a hot breakfast to order. We looked forward to breakfast every morning!
This place is situated in Camps Bay. A quick 15 minute walk down to the beach and we often walked back up. It is also conveniently located to Table Mountain and The Roundhouse Restaurant. It is a super place to stay especially if you have a car.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Ruby Room is great but we also liked the Amethyst Room. Both had stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House

Address: 12 Atholl South Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Camps Bay Guest House consists of 5 stunning rooms, each decorated individually and tastefully. Each room in the guest house offers you spectacular views over the ocean and Camps Bay, the 12 Apostles and Lions Head, not forgetting Table Mountain. Unfortunately no children under the age of 12 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atholl House Hotel Camps Bay
Atholl House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.