We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Suites Camps Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Suites Camps Bay to your Saves list
Atlantic Suites Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 62 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Need more stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In order of appearance: Nicole, Sally, Elios, Helen, Hilda, Ian and Andrew - a big thank you! All of you understand what the hospitality business is all about.

After 2 consecutive overnight flights (and a 2 hour JNB-CPT flight) it was great to have Helen greet us with high tea and an invitation to have all of out traveling clothes laundered and ironed. No hotel/B and B/guesthouse has ever treated us like that before!

The rooms, views, and breakfasts (check the photos out) are exactly as pictured. And the weather even cooperated with out trip.

I'd like to offer as special thank you to Andrew, the gardener, who helped me (he did more of the work than I did) change a flat tire right in the driveway on our second morning. I don't know if I would have ever figured out the goofy jack without him.

Regarding the location, a car is definitely necessary. And for the first-timers (like us) to Cape Town, at least in the off-season, Camps Bay is not as glitzy or trendy as some reviews would have one believe. It was just a nice little beach town that was well worth a visit.

If anyone finds a nicer place than this to stay please let me know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Camps Bay is a beautiful seaside town with a huge amount of trendy restaurants and bars. Atlantic Suites is situated on the hill side, directly beneath Table Mountain and away from the hustle and bustle.Its envied elevated position gives it awesome, panoramic views of the bay and Atlantic Sea. but is still close enough to enjoy a beautiful walk down to find the open top bus or taxis' to get you around.( although get a taxi back!)
I truly cannot find fault with Atlantic Suites in the week we were guests there. We were treated like VIP from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Sally, Nicole and Helen were extremely friendly and very helpful in suggesting outings, restaurants, booking tickets on-line etc. At the same time, I think it is important to say about a small establishment, not once did it feel intrusive. The suite itself was stunning with a thousand little touches that made it extra special,as was the presentation of the delicious food, set up on a open room/balcony for your eyes to feast the stunning scenery.
I live in Dubai and am used to 5*and 6* hotels- Atlantic Suites surpasses this! WOW!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Ann104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

While I was focused on enjoying Cape Town, I was also planning everything last second. Sally, Ian, and their staff were busy ironing out the details. If I could bottle the quality of their service and sell it I'd be a billionaire.

The view is spectacular and this is coming from someone who lived on the 47th floor of a building overlooking South Beach and the Port of Miami. The chefs (Nicole and Helen) are very personable, good at what they do, and extremely accommodating. All the recommendations for dinner were very good. The location is ideal if you want to hike up Table Mountain, which they set up a guided tour for me, also last second.

While the view is worth the price of admission and ideal for pictures and hiking, its not ideal for walking to the beach nor is it an easy walk down the "hill" where all the restaurants and bars are located in Camps Bay. That said, its an easy 5 minute cab ride down the hill or 10 minutes to the city center, and it is an ideal place if you rented your own car as there is no fee to park.

Another convenient item is the free Wifi. Their Wifi didn't require any annoying cards with 100 MB's limitations that even major hotel chains like the Hilton burden you with in South Africa. If I were travelling on business this would be a very annoying feature that you don't have to worry about at this location.

Great location for Couples, family's, and groups of friends. Business or conference travelers could easily get by with the amount of workspace available in the rooms, easy parking, and decent wifi.

However, given the number of rooms (4) and the more quiet and secluded location its not an ideal location or setting for a Solo traveler looking to be within walking distance to everything meeting new people every 5 minutes. Better for the Solo traveler that wants to write a novel and needs some inspiration.

In conclusion: Great service and extraordinary attention to detail, great view, relaxing environment and staff. I would love to go back and I have already referred people to Atlantic Suites Camps Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPmiami313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the divine afternooon tea on arrival, to the sumptious breakfasts, the superb view, the elegant accommodation and the friendly service, we can highly recommend Atlantic Suites. The personal care by Sally and her team provide that extra special something that you won't find in larger establishments.

Room Tip: While the upstairs suites have slightly better views, we preferred the downstairs suites for their a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The amazing view combined with the luxurious rooms and the outstanding services left our stay unforgettable. The breakfast prepared by the chef Helen is something. The staff is very kind and very careful for any demand. I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCostaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First class in every way. A six star rating would be appropriate for this guesthouse with
spectacular views over Camps Bay to the ocean. The rooms themselves are superbly appointed, big bathrooms and spacious bedroom, elegantly furnished with the most comfortable bed we
have every experienced, topped with crisp white linen. To wake in such a room is a joy.
The hosts are obliging and have a very good knowledge of restaurants and will arrange
reservations. Breakfast here is enjoyed facing out to the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived, to the sad moment we departed, we absolutely loved Atlantic Suites. After a long journey we arrived to friendly welcomes from Sally and her staff, and the best afternoon tea we've ever experienced in the most amazing house, with the most beautiful view. Everything about this place is perfect!
Breakfast will never be the same after eating here - something we got excited about each morning, and with such lovely attentive but discreet staff.
All the little touches, and the constant help from Sally and Ian with taxis / restaurant bookings / car hire / days out to make the most of our stay were unexpected and extremely appreciated. Sally - you are an angel!
We cannot swoon enough about this place and are already planning our return visit :)
Look no further if you're looking for a very special place to go in Camps Bay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybaby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#7 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Suites Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Suites Camps Bay

Address: 30 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic Suites Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Suites Camps Bay offers five star, luxury accommodation with breathtaking sea views, a uniquely large rim-flow pool and exclusive hospitality. The four stylish, sea facing, luxury rooms sleep two in XL King beds and have en-suite bathrooms with Jacuzzi Spa baths. This is the quintessential honeymoon location in Camps Bay, providing exclusive hospitality and a beautifully romantic setting. Welcome tea trays and snack platters, generous full English breakfasts, a fully stocked mini-bar on arrival, complimentary laundry, free internet usage, concierge service and VAT are all INCLUDED in the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Suites Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Suites Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Atlantic Suites Camps Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing