We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 on camps bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 1st Crescent, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harare
1 review
“3 on camps bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

A comfortable , homely layout with an excellent top floor veranda providing excellent views of the sea ,perfect for sundowners

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    76
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
214
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed as part of a wedding party and was really appreciative of how George and Maria went out of their way to help everyone with just about everything. Rooms were spacious, clean and with great views to boot. Good facilities all round and in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

George and Maria were fantastic hosts for my recent stay here. I was with a large wedding party and they not only were flexible with my length of stay, but were just lovely to deal with from start to finish. The property is beautiful, the rooms large and well fitted out and my room was beyond expectation. I'll definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Prior to our arrival, we were asked via email an approximate arrival time to ensure our room would be ready which was efficient of them! However the rooms are quite dated, and our supposed King Bed was actually 2 singles pushed together and covered by a sheet. The signal was poor signal on the old TV sets. The overall appearance has a typical beachy seaside B&B feel to it. Breakfast was enjoyable, cooked to order from a preference sheet, with stunning views of the ocean. It's a steep 5 min walk up the hill (Camps Bay Drive) from Camps Bay main street, but great for a bit of exercise! The pool was not heated so not usable in the winter months, and we weren't sure why it was advertised with a gym and spa as that was nowhere to be seen! But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in April 2012 and absolutely loved 3 on Camps Bay! Maria and George the owners were incredible and the property is gorgeous! It's perfectly situated about 10 blocks above the water front and boosts gorgeous views of the bay. We had the private Studio unit (#4 I believe) with our own large semi-private terrace and plunge pool (not heated, unfortunately). The breakast daily was delicious and served by gracious staff with the owners helping us pick out activites and tourist spots to go to daily. We were so glad we stayed here and at Camps Bay instead of near Downtown. Camps Bay is perfectly located near all the attractions or roads leading to them and a beautiful spot! The main drag has an abundance of restaurants and shops and drinks and great food while watching a beautiful sunset are a must when you stay here! Highly recommend 3 on Camps Bay!

Room Tip: Get a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have stayed in Camps bay on many previous occasions and 3 on Camps Bay offered the best service we have expereinecd so far with a very relaxed atmosphere and excellent accomodation.The location is ideal with good walking access to Camps Bay and ample off road parking. The staff and management are all extremely helpful and attentive. A definite place to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The 3 on camps bay hotel is a very nice place to stay, first class rooms, friendly staff and superb location. Camps bay really is the place to be in cape town and this hotel is modern, yet intimate, friendly, but not intrusive. The cleanliness was above reproach and was one of the first things we noticed.

Spot on in terms of location, far enough away to be quiet, yet a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beachfront and tidal pool, we made use of taxis back up the hill as it was too much for my pregnant wife who wasn't feeling well, a mere 20 rand was the cost.

The decor is understated, yet modern, with the obvious benefits of a recent refit, ignore the reviews saying it was noisy, this was as a result of the refit, the only thing that woke us up of a morning was birdsong.

A first class cooked breakfast is what greets you on a daily basis, with regular specials available in addition to the comprehensive breakfast selection, all served by friendly and polite staff. In addition to this, during the day, an honesty bar is an effective and inexpensive solution to poolside refreshments.

Wholeheartedly recommended and whilst not cheap, surprisingly inexpensive, this was our honeymoon destination and the proprietors personally made sure we were happy, nothing was too much for them. in fact the only thing we can think of which could be improved would be some pool heating for the winter months. Despite this we can honestly say that if we go back to Cape town, we will be definitely staying again.

Room Tip: Sea view or mountain, both are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 1st Crescent, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 17 bedroom guesthouse offers a quiet retreat close to Camps Bay beach. Magnificent sea and mountain views. Within easy walking distance to the famous Camps Bay beach, with its trendy restaurants, shops and sidewalk cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel Camps Bay
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel And Spa
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.