We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic House to your Saves list
Atlantic House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   20 St. Fillians Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 58 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you want a relaxing, unobtrusive place to stay then Atlantic House is the place to go. This was our 4th visit and very rarely do we return to the same place on a regular basis. The large and wonderful hotels Cape Town has to offer are great-we've tried them but nothing beats the B&B's, particularly this one. It really feels like coming home. The location is perfect. A lovely stroll down the hill into Camps Bay with it's great selection of restaurants is a perfect place to stay. All the staff at Atlantic House are top notch. They haven't changed which says a lot! The terrace overlooking the sea is a beautiful place to sit at any time of the day and the lounge in the evening is extremely comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it be booking a trip or a restaurant or even a light bite in the evening if you want to stay in. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, bathrooms too. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We like the Garden Room! The terrace is great and we enjoy sitting there, but the Garden room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Anna & Estrid

Thank you so much for that wonderful review again! We really appreciate your feed back. It is always fun and interesting having you both stay here. I certainly hope you will be coming back next year in February for the 5th time! We love having you both here! Congratulations on the birth of your grandson! Hope this doesn't mean you will be travelling less and babysitting more :)
Take care of yourselves until we meet again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms are really big, clean and have everything you need. Obviously Cape Town is cheaper than most cities, but this hotel is definitely value for money when compared to other boutique hotels. My boyfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights in Feb and the service was amazing. Felt at home straight away and staff were attentive but not too invasive. Great balcony and minibar! Will definitely stay again. Thanks to the staff for trying to get our late restaurant bookings!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was only our pleasure assisting you in finding a nice restaurants for you to dine. Take care and hope to see you here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This Small guest house is just wonderful service is over the top Breakfasts are great service is over the top and fun . This is not a stuffy place guests are warm and friendly . A wonderful homey feel Rooms are great everyone here is friendly and warm home away from home , Music ,great food, wonderful service honesty bar ,Great location just wonderful attention to detail a fun place to be and stay. LOVED IT

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and great studio room with it's own sauna off the pool is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sharon and Karen

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are very pleased to hear we made your stay warm and welcome. It was certainly entertaining having you here and we hope to see you one day in the future. Thank you Karen for the nice postcard you send to us from Australia! Take care of yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Atlantic House is a hidden gem tucked in a quiet residential part of Camps yet within easy reach of everything. Wonderful room, ambience, decor, and facilities you would expect from a top end hotel such as free, fast wi fi etc. The staff were warm and friendly - couldn't be more lovely in fact, and were exceptionally helpful. Perfect for couples, business or lone travellers as I was. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Carole

Many thanks for your faultless review on Atlantic House. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us and we are very pleased to hear you coming to stay with us again. Your kind comments are truly appreciated by us all and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just spent 5 nights at this guest house and would highly recommend it. It is great value especially given the full breakfast that is included, not to mention othe stunning sea views, free wifi and exceptional service from all the staff. We had two rooms with sea views and enjoyed the large common area and balconies with views of the ocean. Parking is off-street and easy to access. It is a 10-15 mins walk up the hill frm the main street in Camps Bay. Bedrooms and bathrooms are very tastefully decorated with all amenities. We will be back!

Room Tip: choose the sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Linda & family

Hope you and your family are doing well. Thank you so much for the wonderful review you wrote about Atlantic House -we appreciate your feedback.
Be sure to look us up if ever you are in Cape Town one day! Take care and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've been to Cape Town 3 times now, and wanted to bring the girl I'm dating down to see it and was looking for a hotel out of the downtown. Came across Atlantic House on Trip Advisor and must admit all the reviews were spot on.

Firstly Camp's Bay is where you want to stay in the Cape Town area. It's only like a $10 cab ride or 5 minute drive to everywhere you want to be down town, but also walking distance from the beach and a great dinner/nightlife scene in Camp's Bay.

Atlantic house is kind of a cross between a boutique hotel and a B&B. The rooms are big, really nicely decorated, and are kept in immaculate condition. The inroom and inhotel bars are so reasonably priced, Breakfast is free (and very good), parking is free, and all in all the room price is very reasonable as well.

The thing that stands out about the hotel is the staff. They are clearly just really cool and accomodating people that love working at the Atlantic House. Even though agoda booked the hotel room rate incorrectly they honored the price and didnt charge us anything extra. Additionally, we went shark diving on our last day and were late arriving back for checkout (which should be at 11am) - they allowed us access to a room to pack our things properly and shower even though it was 4pm. Honestly they were just great people.

The only thing I would say is this is not a hotel to go to if you want to get hammered till late at night, as it kind of has a feel of adults get away. The place is quiet in the mornings and the early evenings and if you do come back late you naturally want to be quiet.

With that being said it's the perfect place for a couple or even business travel.

Would definitely come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr Aronson

Many thanks for your lovely review and your kind comments regarding Atlantic House. It was truly a pleasure having you both stay here with us. If you planning a trip to Cape Town again, be sure not to forget us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I spent five nights at Atlantic House in Camps Bay (which I discovered on Mr and Mrs Smith). It was the perfect boutique hotel experience. Having stayed in some of the world's best hotels, I can genuinely rate the Atlantic House experience as excellent. All three ladies were wonderfully attentive and eager to share tips or recommendations for things to do in Cape Town. We had arrived with a vague list of what we wanted to do but without actually having made any bookings. The ladies asked us about our plans for the day every morning and managed to suggest or make bookings for just about everything we wanted to, most of which surpassed our expectations. This personalised service was a huge added bonus for us, definitely cementing the decision to stay with them again when we return to Cape Town in the future.

The rooms are extremely well-appointed - free Wi-Fi, massive comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom and stunning views from the sea-facing room. The outdoor shower in our garden room was a bonus. We particularly enjoyed the common lounge area where we could sit with a bottle of wine from the bar (honour system applies) and enjoy the view on colder evenings. Breakfast every morning was delicious and thankfully felt home-cooked (ie. healthy and not too oily). When we wanted to stay in on a particularly stormy night, the ladies were kind enough to leave the kitchen open (so we could use the microwave) and even ordered in food for us. I must say the service was impeccable and we immediately felt completely at home there.

Camps Bay was the perfect perch from which to explore Cape Town. We hired a car for the entire time that we were there, which made getting around very convenient. It was a 2 minute drive to the beach, less than 10 minutes to Table Mountain, 10 minutes to the Waterfront and less than an hours' drive to Stellenbosch.

Atlantic House was beautiful and we will definitely be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room if possible as the view is breath-taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassyCapeTown, Manager at Atlantic House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review - it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Atlantic House. We hope you travel to Cape Town again soon and be sure to let us know when you're coming so we can reserve a sea view room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House

Address: 20 St. Fillians Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.