We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and incredible value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
37 The Drive, Camps Bay Corner, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
021-4380782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fresh and incredible value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Delicious! You choose your fresh fish/seafood at the counter which allows you to say how much you would like. Friendly service and excellent value for money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    385
    127
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great concept for seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant and were surprised in the beginning that there was no menu. It was pick your own food from the range of seafood at the chilled counter and pay by weight. We got exactly what we wanted and lots of it for a reasonable price. Wine selection on the list was OK although not fantastic. All in all we had a good night the food and service were the highlights, all for a reasonable price.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You can do better for the over-inflated price of this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It's 8 years since I last ate at the Codfather, and after eating there, I remembered why I had stayed away for so long. Let's put it into perspective, the Rand is weak, so any meal in Cape Town is cheaper than you would get in Europe or the States, but the inflated prices of the fish are outrageous. The chips, rice and vegetables that come with ('are included in the price of your meal') were of truly dreadful quality. I hosted 6 international guests, we had 4 bottles of Wolftrap (marked up from R39 per bottle in Pick and Pay, to R128 at the Codfather) and the bill, without deserts, came to more that we had paid 2 nights previously for the same party to eat at La Colombe! If you don't mind being ripped off, then flock there, but believe, me, you can eat fantastic meals in Cape Town at its top restaurants for far less than what you will pay at the Codfather.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I was there yesterday with a friend and we really enjoyed it. The concept is quite funny they don't have menus instead you just go to the chill show-case and the waiter explains all the seafood to you and than you choose what you want to eat.
Our platter was very fresh, very tasty, very good! Ben, our waiter did an eexcellent job!

For us the only little downer was the ambience which could be a llittle bit more cosy and warm. Also the illuminated advertising at the front of the building should be fixed for a better first impression.

On the whole it was a pretty good dinner and I'll come again!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Everything was really so great ! The food was perfect .... You get to choose your own food . The service was awesome! Good job Ben

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codfather Seafood & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.