We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, helpful staff and good seafood.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
37 The Drive, Camps Bay Corner, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
021-4380782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dubai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, helpful staff and good seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved the idea of this place from the reviews we'd read and weren't disappointed. It's bustling and full of energy; the staff are friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. We loved the sushi bar and being able to chose our own cuts to create our own seafood platters, although definitely be careful when you're at the counter...you'll definitely over order :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    320
    103
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Simple, delicious made to order fresh seafood. nice, quiet location. I wish we had more nights in Camps Bay just to go back to this restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved this place. As the previous review says, it is definitely bustling, but we really liked that. From the outside you'd never know there was such a great restaurant upstairs. The seafood was just delicious: the calamari out of this world; the king prawn succulent; the langoustine to die for. We had a great evening. We felt very welcome even though staff were busy, and just enjoyed the different format of choosing your fish and the size of the pieces. I'd wholeheartedly recommend this as - delicious fish aside - it's a unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“good sushi- fishplatter soso lala”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fed with good recommendations we were a bit surprised by the rush we were seated in a packed dining area and the orders to be taken. Serving the drinks took a bit longer.. The sushi as starters were quite pleasant. The quality of the wine did not meet the price. Seafood has to be chosen from the desk (which could be quite nice if you wouldn't be rushed especially if you are new in the restaurant). The expectations we had getting fresh seafood (fish& crayfish) was not met at all by the kitchen. You get a platter with fried /grilled fish with no special taste, chips and some sauces. Average quality, premium price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

There is no menu and there are no prices mentioned. But we had excellent service and where informed about all we wanted. The salad as starter was superb. The fresh was grilled perfectly and we just enjoyed both evenings out. It is not the cheapest place, but still a very good value for money. It is always packed and lots of locals go there as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codfather Seafood & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.