We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
37 The Drive, Camps Bay Corner, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
021-4380782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simple but fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Codfather in October whilst on honeymoon in Cape Town. We we're recommend to go there by the staff at the hotel we were staying in, and the Codfather was not a disappointment.

The concept is simple; choose the fish or seafood you like the look of, decide how you would like it cooked and whether you would like fries or rice. You pay however much the fish weighs. We were presented with a gorgeous array of fish and seafood, but I must say the lobster was exquisite. We ate far too much to the point of discomfort! But this wouldn't put us of returning at all. A fab meal!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    385
    127
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fun & tasty experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recommend by our hotel, the Atlanticview in Camps Bay, we went to CodFather for dinner while in CapeTown! The atmosphere is completely relaxed & the food was amazing! You walk up to the counter, pick the seafood you want & they grill it up while you wait! The variety changes based on what the fresh catch was that day. Starters include fresh sushi that you pick right off a sushi belt! Having travelled alot, we can be a bit hard to please in the resturant category - but can say, without a doubt that Codfather is a place we would visit again & again! BTW, GREAT value for your money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of Fish to choose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good value and excellent variety of fish to choose from.
Nothing to dislike. Owner very attentive to his customers to make sure they are happy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Congratulations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Amazing sea food restaurant with great atmosphere!!!! The best sea food restaurant i've been in SA.
Fantastic service!!!
Please open one in Gauteng.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cape fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hadn't been here for 7 years when we had been delighted by the excellent quality of the food and service and fantastic value for money. This time we were again impressed by the food and service - African lobster and yellow tail for me. The addition of one of their pricier wines brought the total price almost up to European levels, but not quite. This place is certainly worth a visit if in Cape Town. There are no non fish options so if fish isn't your thing, forget it. Oh, and the malva pudding was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codfather Seafood & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.