We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place! Fanstastic food, ambience, great value, visited twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
37 The Drive, Camps Bay Corner, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
021-4380782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Loved this place! Fanstastic food, ambience, great value, visited twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a great concept! No menu, just pick and weigh the food, everything is grilled, simple choices for side dishes, fresh fish and seafood, gorgeous! Went twice to eat here both times without a reservation and we squeezed in both times! As a smoker, loved the little smoking area, very cosy and well decorated, suited me fine, got used to the noisy air con unit, added to the experience. Also sat inside by the lovely fish tank, enjoyed watching the fishes, funny little things! There is a sushi bar inside this restuarant, best sashmi I've had in a long time. For main - you go to the fish counter, make your choices which I then weighed/priced, if the price ok, off it goes to be grilled, you can have fries, vegetables or rice as your side dish or have all three if you like, all very tasty. The restaurant is extremely busy would advise making a reservation. Great value meal, extremely tasty and fresh, great service, loved the concept, loved this restaurant, if in Camps Bay do pay them a visit if you like fish/seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    385
    127
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expensive and grubby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Basically fried fish with chips. For starters the jumbo prawns are huge but at £10 per prawn it's a bit steep. The fish was very nice but the restaurant looks a bit more like an upstairs cafe. Our window seat looked out across the car park below and the window sills were filthy. Overall not great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After being recommended The Codfather by friends back in London and locals I decided to check it out for dinner. I'm travelling alone which is normally pretty easy for restaurants as single diners dont tend to be too tricky to accomodate (as opposed to a party of 6 or more). However this didn't seem to be the case for The Codfather.

After being given possibly the worst table in the restaurant (I was continually being knocked into by people walking past from the entrance to the sushi bar) I decided to get stuck into a starter of Sardines and Calamari. It arrived within 5 mins, which for a fish restaurant isn't unusual but it did feel like they were aiming to get the table back pretty swiftly.

After finishing the starter I was shown to the fish bar, which is pretty cool it has to be said. Essentially you tell your waiter what and how much of everything you want and you pay the wieght price. It's then cooked by the chef.

So after choosing some prawns, langostines and tuna (I was still pretty hungry) I was told that it should take about 15 mins to arrive at my table. To be honest it didn't need to be that swift and so when it turned up 30 mins later I wasn't too upset. However it was missing a key ingredient, the tuna! After telling one of the waiters, who then had to go and find my waiter to sort everything out another patron managed to knock a collection of sauces across the table sending liquid everywhere. I'm obviously not blaming the restaurant for this but the position of the table was def to blame.

After a conversation with the manager and a promise of a fresh order to make up for everything I sat very patiently for another 30 mins for my meal.

Unfortunately when it finally arrived, this time it was missing the prawns and so after another conversation with my waiter the prawn finally turned up 10 mins later. I was not impressed.

Essentially the food (when arrived) was ok, the service was average, but for the price you pay there are plenty of other restaurants in Camps Bay that offer better value and food. This is a place to be seen at and to tick the box of saying "I've been there". Well I've now been there and I certainly wont be recommending it to anyone else. This is not a restaurant for foodies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Far better places to go for fresh fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A vast selection of fish all presented on a cold slab for you to get up and choose what you would like. It is weighed straightaway and a receipt printed so you can see what it will cost which is a good thing as there is no prices displayed. What is a shame is the standard of cooking. Our selected fish seemed to shrink in size, was a little dry and the chips that accompanied it were so overcooked they were inedible. On a plus note at least it was hot. Our starter of calamari was also overcooked making the tubes rubbery. They charge R22 for a small draft beer. On perusing the wine list I found that most wines were also overpriced compared to other restaurants. Even though we were dining early with few other diners the floor and table was dirty. It looked like the wole place could do with a springclean. I won't be going back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All about the Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is just over the hill from Capetown. We suggest you go just before sunset and watch the sunset from above camps bay. There are some turn outs. OK, now about the food..... The sushi is very good and nice to just take plates from the rotating carousel. Pick out you fish and they cook it for you. I had the sardines and calamari and they we excellent. All fish is grilled and served with four sauces on the side. The fries were better than the rice and veg.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codfather Seafood & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.