We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
37 The Drive, Camps Bay Corner, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
021-4380782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 restaurants in Camps Bay
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great service but a bit slow as it was so busy. Excellent food but a starter is not necessary. Fantastic choice of fish and shell fish all beautifully cooked. Would go again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    585
    263
    94
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great sushi and great seafood and fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Another must whilst in Camps Bay is the excellent Codfather restaurant. A great selection of seafood and fish and superb sushi.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don’t get caught at the Cod”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food was decent but make sure you check the food prices before ordering. The restaurant is set up in a way that you first place your order with the waiter and only then you get the prices of what you have ordered. Needless to say, once your food has been sent off to be cooked in the kitchen it is rather awkward to cancel it due to its exorbitant price so you have no choice but to bite the bullet. When our bill arrived it transpired that the tiger prawns at this joint go for the astronomical USD 16.00 a pop! And to give you an idea how expensive that actually is in a place like South Africa where 80% of the population lives below the poverty line, USD 16.00 is pretty much what a family of four lives on for a week.

Traveller’s tip: Don’t bother going there for the dated décor either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
furness vale
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Experience to be remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first restaurant we went to on our first ever trip to S.A. and we loved it! We liked the idea of having no menu and just had a platter to share between two. A bit of everything. It was really delicious. The only problem was that none of the other fish restaurants we visited subsequently could match this one. We'll just have to come back to repeat the experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You can not miss a visit to this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is our third visit to Cape Town and we have not missed a visit to this great restaurant.
On arrival we were shown to a very small table stuck in a corner but when asked if we could sit at another one it was no problem to the staff who promptly gave us a table for four even though there was only the two of us.
The routine here is that there is no menu but the waiter takes you to the kitchen area where there is a fantastic choice of fresh fish and fantastic shell fish. The waiter gives you an in depth description of each and you then choose what you want with no limits on how much you wish. You just pay by weight.
After a short period of time our meals arrived and everything was cooked just perfectly. My favourite is 'Butterfish', just melts in the mouth but I also tried 'Dorado' which is more meaty fish with a smokey flavour and of course I just had to have my fix of 'Langoustines' all delicious. They also have a sushi bar which we have not yet tried. May be next time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Codfather Seafood & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.