We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Corner of Victoria Road & Geneva Drive | Shop no. 1, The Promenade, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
+2721 438 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cape Town
1 review
“Wild Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hi,
The Oysters were great and we enjoid it so much that we went back for a second time the service is great and the food is good. My wife and here friends keep on raving about the Oysters. We will come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    172
    63
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here with friends. The atmosphere was chic but comfortable and the water views were lovely. The service was friendly. The food was hit or miss though, some of our dishes were great (especially the calamari) and some of the dishes were just ok (sushi, grilled chicken salad, etc.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your feedback and comments and assure you we will continue to strive to offer our guests the best quality menu and value for money along with top class service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding, nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stopped by three days back for dinner, actually the vibe at this particular place invited us. We had not made a reservation (bookings here are essential otherwise you may even be squeezed into small places but it's worth it). The view is great, service is excellent ; every member seemed really pleased to help. Our waiter Clive guided us through wine and food selection, my husband went for the venison and i had the crumped fish of the day which was absolutely delicious. All in all excellent isn't enough to describe the experience, will certainly not miss this place on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that your had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We ate here 2 nights in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

There is nothing like watching the sunset from this restauranr with a drink in hand. We liked this restaurant so much, mostly for the ambience and sunsets that we went back the following night.
Food is good with a reasonable wine selection and quite inexpensive by North American standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. It pleases us greatly to hear that you enjoyed both your visits and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food! Great service! Good Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Paranga on the first night of our holiday in Cape Town. We were greeted by Teresa who took us to our table and made us feel very welcome. Teresa talked us through the menu and made a few recommendations to which we took. The food was fantastic! We both went for "Beef n Reef" and for what we would pay for this back in the UK, the price we paid in Paranga was good. Teresa took time to talk us through the wine list and also made recommendations and was honest about taste vs. price. Atmosphere in the restaurant was great, there was a real buzz about the place! Great restaurant, fantastic service from Teresa and good prices! Will DEFINATELY be going back! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all your positive comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming back you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.