We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere / view but food just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Corner of Victoria Road & Geneva Drive | Shop no. 1, The Promenade, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
+2721 438 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere / view but food just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went on a lovely sunny winters day and managed to get a great table overlooking the road. Great spot to while away the afternoon. Food was only ok though- we both ordered fish and both dishes were over cooked, so disappointing. I would probably give it another go in case they were having an off day as I have heard really good things about it and the location is spectacular

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment.

Please accept our apologies for the disappointing meals had, it is most certainly not the norm at Paranga.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    172
    63
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A place to indulge and lose yourself in the surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I first visited Paranga 10 years ago with my boyfriend when we visited from the uk. It was so romantic and the food was fabulous. I am a regular visitor to the area and come 2-3 times every year and without fail I make sure I eat here. I've never been disappointed by the food and have tried lots of dishes on the menu, from oysters to steak. And it is always 5 star flawless food. I've been lucky enough to bring many of my friends and family here with me and each of them has been blown away by Paranga.
The setting is perfect and the sunset view is breathtaking, all year round. The interior design is perfect, comfortable and very contemporary and even the music they select seems to put the icing on this very delicious cake!
I love it here as does everyone I've ever brought with me.
My latest visit was yesterday, with 2 of my colleagues and we had a long lunch, my colleagues indulged in a couple of bottles of boschendal blanc de noir, I managed to abstain, but the food amd ambience as well as the setting were enough to make me a very happy customer.
I think this is the best restaurant in camps bay and I can't wait to return in August. Even if you just fancy a cocktail, please sit on the terrace and watch the world go by here at Paranga.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing feedback and fantastic rating.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided stop by here to easy our hunger for sushi and Paranga did not disappoint.

Five star location, very nice looking restaurant.

Service was slow, and we couldnt really understand our waitress because she spoke so fast. I asked twice what she meant about their specials, but i just couldnt understand her.

Sushi and the main dish was very good, and overall we ware happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for both the positive feedback and constructive criticism.

We will certainly address the issues mentioned internally and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Interesting menu to tempt the tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Camps Bay locals told us there were only a couple of good restaurants worth going to in Camps Bay for dinner, and Paranga was one of them. We were a little dubious to start, but would heartily recommend Paranga. The waiter who greeted us offered several tables in different areas of the cafe. Despite a cool night, we chose one on the verandah area, so a heater was brought closer to us. The menu offered a wide variety and some unusual combinations, one of which I'd go back again and again for - crayfish tails with a dusting of cajun spice on salad. Scrumptious! My husband enjoyed the oysters for entree, and a chicken schnitzel with mustard sauce for main, which he found a little bland. I opted for a salmon sushi cone, which was fresh and beautifully presented. Paranga is situated across the road from the beach, so there could be traffic noise and fumes for the tables closest to the street, but it is a very good spot to stop for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for the great review and the 5 star rating.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Daytime Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You have to visit this restaurant in Camps Bay. A stunning view and great food and vibe. Music sometimes a bit loud but generally a good atmosphere. I would suggest daytime eating is better than the evening, the view says it all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Your amazing feedback and high rating is very much appreciated. Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.