We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and full of itself” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Corner of Victoria Road & Geneva Drive | Shop no. 1, The Promenade, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
+2721 438 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Somerset
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive and full of itself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to Paranga several times over the last few years, mostly at the expense of others. My wife and I were looking for a drink and a meal as we drove back to Cape Town. The location on the sea front at Camps Bay is great and it looks good. The waiters however are rather self important and tend to push you out of the way as they go about extracting money from customers.
We got a seat but had quite a wait for both a menu and then for our order to be taken. We had to ask for a non-alcoholic cocktail menu (designated driver) and tap water did not seem to be an option.
We did eventually get our chili calamari and tempura prawns which were OK but overpriced. There was a serious mark up on the wine which came as a mean drip in the bottom of a huge glass. We know the prices because we have visited most of the wineries. No need to charge 3x -others don't.
I had been looking forward to a proper salad nicoise with fresh tuna for days. They did nicoise with salmon and another similar dish with tuna, both the same price. Would they do it with tuna I asked the waiter? No he said without hesitation; a problem with portion control and pricing. How hard would it have been to be a little more accommodating.
There are many more nicely located eateries where the service and value are much better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback with regards to your recent visit at Paranga.

We are truly sorry to read that you were disappointed and that we were not able to meet the expectations we strive to achieve - good food, good service, good music and a memorable experience overall!

Your valuable criticism is much appreciated and have been shared with the rest of team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    172
    63
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excelent Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited this place on several occassions whilst we stayed in Camps Bay. The food was really good and the cocktails were unusual and really very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Collette,

On behalf of the team, a hearty thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive for average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You pay for the location, but the food is quite average, nothing special, but you certainly pay a higher price for the location.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are truly disappointed that you were not satisfied with your meal. It would be great to get more details if possible.

Please contact me directly on monique@kovecollection.co.za. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Sylish and Upbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

At the suggestion of our concierge, we had dinner at Paranga. We had a great table and were positioned to see all the activity of the Promenade. Since is was a bit windy (gale force winds) the normal activity on the street and sidewalks was at a minimum. The food was very good, service excellent. Nice vibe in the dining room, which was quite lovely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Your positive feedback and rating is much appreciated. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“On the Beach In-Scene Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You know you have arrived at the "It" scene when the bar is decorated with everything Veuve Clicquot !
Although we were just into being on the beach before our trip back to the Northern hemisphere, and not part of the "scene" - we had a fabulous experience with some of the best service you can expect in a jam-packed beach bar. Definitely the place to be if you're part of the young and restless crowd!! and/or otherwise intoxicated by the mediterranean blue ocean/ crystal white beaches of Cape Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.