We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious serviced Apartments without breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glen Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Glen Apartments to your Saves list
The Glen Apartments
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   10 Chilworth Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Luxurious serviced Apartments without breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Coming back from the garden route and before flying out of cape town we intended to stay for our last couple of days in South Africa in the town of Camps Bay. As most of the B&B at this time were booked we ended up in the Glen Apartment. These are serviced apartments with basically everything you need. Fully equipped kitchen including dish washer; tumbler, washer, etc. All very new, of excellent quality, modern and clean. The beds are very comfortable, the service absolutely helpful, there is even a little pool in the backyard. Parking in the garage is free and therefore very safe. The Glen is located just opposite the Camps Bay retreat, within easy walking distance to the beach (5 min) and the town center (10 min). The only disadvantage - if you want - is that no breakfast is offered. Either you go to one of the cafes next to the beach or you walk to Pick N Pay at the end of Victoria Road and help yourself. We liked the place very much + would go back there again any time. Special thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

some friends of ours had stayed at an appartment in Camps Bay, so i thought we'd give that experience a try. I found The Glen on the internet and although it is expensive, a few days were worth a try. It has very good reports on this Tripadvisor site, and I need not repeat all the same thing again.
In terms of location, just let it be said that I took the car the half mile or so into the main strip. I parked in the car park or was lucky to get a street pitch, but then i have trouble walking far because of an injury to my ankle. If you are fit then you should be able to walk to the main drag and back. Otherwise we actually made good use of the facilities at the camps Bay Retreat hotel, which we could use to have meals and by ordering a couple of drinks , sit there all afternoon if we wanted to. We had their special Brai dinner there on the Saturday night we arrived. It was very nice but the most expensive meal we had in our SA trip, but not the best.
Our appartment was an upgrade from the studio that I had booked. it was a two double bedroom flat, It was very clean, modern, well fitted and we were very pleased with it. We didn't eat in, but just had afew nibbles and fruit in the fridge in case we were hungry. Its difficult to feel hungry in South Africa. Full breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are very filling and inexpensive, so I indulged!
The pool area was fine if not very big, however we had it to ourselves most of the time.The apparment rental also comes with membership of the Bay Clab in mid Camps bay. That looks lovely if you're young and trendy but althoug it was attractive, we didn't actually use it, preferring the tranquility of the Camps Bay Retreat across the road from where we were staying.
Can definitely recommend this place. Its advantage is that its not right in the heart of Camps bay which i think would be noisy and too busy. If we had only got our studio that I paid for it would have been of the same standard as our flat only a bit smaller.Still very nice. It was cleaned very day and the beds made, included in the price. I just have to mention Natasha who was the receptionist on duty whilst we were there. She was exceptionally helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to see that we enjoyed our stay. A great representative of her firm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

My family spent Christmas at The Glen apartments. This location is superb. It was away from the very loud and crowded Victoria Road, and was only a five minute walk to the Glen Beach or ten minutes to local restaurants. My husband and I had not visited Camps Bay together since we were newlweds 34 years ago. It was so nice to share this with our children, 17 and 24 years old. Our daughter is finishing her master's at UCT. The apartment had an amazing kitchen. We spent much of our time early mornings and late evenings on the deck, including breakfast on Christmas morning. We had a spectacular view of the 12 Apostles and a peak through the trees of the ocean. The apartment was well furnished with a nice audio system. We will definitely return here on our next visit to South Africa. There was no service while we were there because of the holidays so keep this mind. It was very expensive even with dollar/rand exchange rate but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in Camps Bay for the past 3 years, 1st time in an apartment/ Glen.

The Glen is an approx a 10 minute walk from the restaurants/beach. Returning to the Glen you do have to walk up a fairly steep hill which elderly people may find difficult, and perhaps a taxi would be recommended for those with mobility issues.

There is only an intercom within the apartment,no phone, therefore would suggest you have a mobile phone in case of an emergency.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a spacious and stylish studio appartment and the management arranged a second double bed on request and without further cost.
I have to say the upstairs bed was very firm and that light levels into the appartment make sleep difficult after sun up. Some upper windows have no blinds.
The whole appartment was immaculately clean and well equipped
The management staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The apartment was beautifully decorated, very clean and spacious. The proximity to the beach in Camps Bay makes it very comfortable. The staff are very helpful and nice. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our holiday started VERY badly at the Glen. Arriving after a 7 hour drive with the kids desperate to hit the beach we were informed that the aprtment we had booked nearly a year before had been allocated by their central reservations team to someone else. The only one left was inferior and without a sea view. The learning if you want a specific apartment is to get your travel company to put a block on the one you want. To their credit the Front Office Manager did a superb job of handling things and worked late on New Years eve to try and make things right - Karin you are a star.

Despite this the apartments are lovely - light, well equipped, super clean and very well specified. They are well equipped with good kitchen kit, TV, ipod docking station etc. We booked a 3 bed apartment and hadn't realised that the 3rd bedroom didn't have air conditioning. Additionally, only the main bedroom was dark enough to sleep in with the other two bedrooms suffering from the lack of blinds/curtains at the huge windows.

The location of the apartments is superb and convenient for the Camps Bay strip but also peaceful. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and booked restaurants for us and fixed various issues we had.

The pool area at the hotel is small but ideal for your 3 kids to play in. Alternatively, you can use the sister Bay Hotel which is about 10 mins walk away for a larger pool and gym or the tennis court over the road at the Camps Bay retreat.

To buy groceries we used Pick n Pay the other side of the Bay Hotel but be aware it doesn't sell alcohol (nor does anyone else other than bars/restaurants in Camps Bay) so bring some with you or ask them to organise for you for a small charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlenApartments, Manager at The Glen Apartments, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback and comments. We strive to provide the best possible service and don’t take it lightly when our guests are not 100% satisfied.

We can only use your comments to our advantage and will definitely consider extra curtains or blinds for the second and loft bedrooms.

I’m very pleased to hear that Karin and the rest of the team made every effort to turn your experience with us into a positive one and we hope to welcome your family back at The Glen Apartments in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Apartments

Address: 10 Chilworth Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a wooded area, The Glen Apartments takes its name from the 35 acre Glen forest nature reserve that the apartments verge on in Camps Bay. The Glen Apartments consists of luxury serviced apartments with views of the ocean, Twelve Apostles mountain range and Lion's Head, and finished with modern and clean aesthetics and expansive windows that maximise the scenery. Guest enjoy exclusive arrangement with the bordering property, Camps Bay Retreat, offering a restaurant, spa and tennis court. We also offer exclusive membership to Sandy B Private Beach Club, situated at The Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Glen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Apartments Hotel Camps Bay
The Glen Apartments Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glen Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.