We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice platter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Fish Market

Cape Town Fish Market
Willie Van Schoor Avenue | Shop 916, Bellville, South Africa
021 914 9151
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Bellville
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cape Town Fish Market is a well known seafood and sushi restaurant group in South Africa
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had 2 platters, calamari and oysters and were very impressed with the service and quality of the food supplied. Delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is below average and not worth the money you pay for. Ocean basket provides better quality and bang for buck

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We visited last Friday evening from Mosselbay. Friends told us about this awesome venue with great sushi. Well they were wrong. The sushi is the BEST !! Our 2 year old even got a special treat from the owner. Freshly made fish nuggets. We will definitly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Horrible service, negative atmosphere."”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I took my whole family out for my Mother's Birthday. We were very excited thinking sushi and cocktails would be a wonderful suggestion to celebrate. - This was not the case.

We walked in, and instead of being welcomed, we had to walk past several staff members before asking if we could have a seat in the smoking section. The table was dirty and there was no menus presented, or any waitress at all.

I got up after 10 minutes and then got hold of someone who merely said: " someone is coming."
At my astonishment, a waiter presented himself as very nervous and half asleep. We ordered and only 30 minutes later our food arrived. Although it was delicious, the bad service left us with getting up numerous times to replace our ashtray, removed glasses and a new waiter that seemed either mildly intoxicated or extremely tired.

I paid the bill, embarrassed that it was my idea to go there and made the best of the rest of the night by leaving. - Never, ever again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad service ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

You can't complain about the service because there is no service. Sat at the sushi bar and after 15 minutes called the person that looked like a manager and asked for some drinks and a menu. Drinks arrived eventually and during the next hour nobody came back to ask if we needed another drink. Ordered some sushi and decided to go after waiting for more than 20 minutes. Got hold of the waiter and received the bill just to notice that it was wrong. Spoke to the person who looked like the manager and told him about the bad, poor and actually non service. Only replied was we will work on it. They will never see me again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market also viewed

Bellville, Cape Town
Bellville, Cape Town
 
Bellville, Cape Town
Bellville, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.