We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Durbanville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Durbanville to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Durbanville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellville
Tanga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Professional and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

When walking into this hotel, can one see and feel that the three stars on thr door, are utterly wrong. This is not a normal average Protea Hotel. Nothing is average. The service is exceptional. The location and ambiance amazing. The view relaxing and the lounge perfect for a cold winter's evening

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear R S Tanga

Warm greetings from all of the Protea Hotel Durbanville TEAM.

Thank you so much for you kind words. We highly appreciate it!

We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
19
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed there with a friend from work, and everything imaginable went wrong. I had to go back there one week later, with a second person and then we got good service.
The location is very nice. The apartments are nice, but the rooms in the building are just as nice.
I really appreciated the effort they made after the fisrt disaster. I get the feeling we just had bad luck, and it is not the norm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Lynn0416

Thank you for the recent post on Tripadvisor regarding our property and the service you have experienced. I am glad to see that after your initial not so good stay that you have experienced excellent service which we are striving for.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I feel so bad for only writing this review now, as our stay at the Protea Hotel Durbanville was so nice and all of the staff treated us like royalty. We were on a family holiday in December and slept over at the Protea Hotel Durbanville for 2 nights. The rooms are very modern, neat and clean, the breakfast was amazing, and the overall stay at the hotel was very special. Thanks to all of the staff who made our stay so enjoyable and special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Louwrita

Warm greetings from all of the Protea Hotel Durbanville TEAM.

Thank you so much for the wonderful message received. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will most certainly be distributed amongst the TEAM.

We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ten of us, eight visitors from the UK stayed in this hotel as it was close to the wedding venue. Rooms are large and very well appointed, although the aircons are out of the ark and very noisy. There is a nice pool area with a pizza oven and poolside bar. Breakfasts were great and all in all the staff were obliging and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear gramench,

Thank you for your amazing feedback!

I would like to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The suite we had was wonderful, the open areas were lovely, food was outstanding (esp. the breakfast). The only downside we had was the transport company who came and left without us twice, the second time on the way to the airport. As you might expect, anxiety was quite high, but to his credit, the general manager of the hotel, Mynheart, drove us to the airport himself. This is certainly personal service beyond compare.
We would certainly recommend this hotel for 1 night or and extended stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Terry S,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback!

GUESTS feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Durbanville again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I am a prokard member that have been a regular (sleeping over & dining out) visitor to Durbanville Protea Hotel. I have always received good welcome and services. However, yesterday (16 Feb14) Kevin disappointed me. He didn’t allow us to dine there because he said he is expecting people who booked. I have been there several times, and when they are fully booked they normal use the other restaurant area for people to sit and dine. I contact other managers I have seen people they organised a table for us to sit and we enjoyed the lunch as usual. Kevin’s management skills were poor in my view, especially that he didn’t want to come when we asked for him in our table to clarify things, while we were dining he didn’t even ask if we were enjoying the food or not. No one occupied the tables he said are booked, and this makes me wonder if they were really booked or not. Thanks to Momwelezi, Archie, Aletah that made sure that we dine as usual, thanks to them for not chasing us away as Kevin did. I do not have problem with other things, the staff food etc. are great but if Kevin does not improve his customer care - management skills then I will have a problem with Durbanville Protea Hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Nthomboxolo,

We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Durbanville is viewed in a serious light.

As you are a regular customer of ours and have visited our property before, you know that this is not the norm. We always strive to meet our GUESTS expectations and unfortunately we could not do this on Sunday. We have put corrective measures in place in order to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your visit with us. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Durbanville is usually proud to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We did an overnight at this hotel on our way back from the garden route. We had lived in durbanville before and wanted to stay in the area, and then I picked up a secret deal which made the decision a no brainer.

What a lovely surprise this hotel was. We booked and checked into a 1 bedroom apartment. The walk to the apartment was long and you couldn't drive closer. Please ask them for closer rooms if you have elderly or mobility impaired guests with you. Our apartment was at the back in the last block which made it quiet so I didn't want to be moved. The porter assisted with bags so we didn't have to lug it ourselves at least. Check in and check out was smooth, no issues. I didn't see any elevators, only stairs to higher floors. We stayed on ground floor.

Windows are not double glazed, so you hear noises of other guests. Choose rooms away from pool area for this reason.

The pool area is small but very nice. We didn't make use of it but with a longer stay I'm sure we would have.

The apartment was great, except it didn't have a microwave. Or we couldn't find it!? You'd need to ask for utensils to cook as I didn't see any, but this is normal. Bathroom had double shower which was great as we were in a hurry that evening. However, I think the space could've been better used to squeeze in a bath for guests with kids.

The windows of the apartments, every one I walked by, were filthy. Hadn't been cleaned in a long while kind of dirty. The apartments was clean though, shower had some moldy spots.

Some reviewers complained the apartments were far from reception. Although the one we had was a distance it was on the same property. I did see some apartments across the way as well, not sure if they are also part of same hotel. That would def be a schlep!

I would return to this hotel. It was good value for money. The area is also very good and there are lots of amenities close by ie malls, restaurants etc.

Special thanks to Everisto, he was great to chat to and a great help!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter, but far from parking. Indicate if you have mobility issues. No lifts to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear amigada,

Thank you for your feedback, we rely on our GUESTS feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We have taken measures to ensure that the windows of our apartments get cleaned more regularly. If you would like the option of a bath in your room, we also offer our two Bed Room Apartments which has the double shower and a bath suitable for your kids. The room you booked was not a self-catering apartment however we do offer this upon request. We would like to apologise for the noise and we are looking into a solution for the double glazing of the windows. We have passed on your gratitude to Everisto.

Your concerns are extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We would welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Durbanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/Coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Durbanville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.