We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Durbanville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Durbanville to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Durbanville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When I booked the hotel, I knew it would be situated in the middle of a vineyard but wasn't sure whether this was a year-round or mostly summer-biased hotel. As it turned out, the hotel, itself, was good but my room (or should I say - suite?) turned out to be rather cold for a winter visit.
But, that was the only criticism I could make against the hotel.
From my arrival through to my departure, all staff were obviously aware of the need to present a friendly and welcoming face. This willingness to smile and engage with the hotel residents appeared to be a natural thing - making the stay a very pleasant one.
Breakfasts had sufficient choice for most people and the freshly-made omelettes were especially nice.
The restaurant had quite a good range of menu choices. Service was a little slow for me but I think this was more to allow guests to relax and enjoy their meals rather than poor management. The quality of the food and wine was higher than I'd expected.
My room was quite a surprise. Instead of just a single bedroom with adjoining en-suite, I had a lounge, double-bed room (with adjoining shower room) plus an upstairs bedroom containing two single beds with an adjoining bathroom. Because of the height of the ceiling in the lounge area (which also had a small kitchen-style area with sink, fridge, microwave cooker and two hot-plates) was so high that the room did get cold in the evening. Although there was an air conditioning unit that also could blow hot or cold air, the volume of space to fill meant that the room didn't get warm at floor level for a couple of hours. I did stay warm, though, thanks to the warm blanket provided in the bedroom closet.
I think this was a very nice place to stay but would be so much nicer in the summer months than the winter months. I'll definitely stay here again, though, if my business brings me back to this region.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter months, try to get a room in the main hotel area or, alternatively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ronelle J 1955

It is absolutely wonderful to receive such a positive positing from a GUEST that enjoyed their stay. It is great that you took your precious time to write such an extensive report as this is the best method of telling the whole world how great we are. On a daily basis we try and look after each and every GUEST as good as possible because Best GUEST Service is what sets you apart from any other business out there. The TEAM at Protea Hotel Durbanville is very proud of our business and our careers and this is highlighted in the way we treat our GUESTS and fellow colleagues every day.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Durbanville.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
24
1
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is easy to access, well located to springboard into any part of the Cape Town surrounds. Away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to get there quickly. The surrounds are quiet and tranquil. I stayed in one of the apartments. It was very clean. The bedroom and bathroom were a bit small. There was a door leading onto the outdoor garden and this was pleasant to look out over. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Quick to help and give advise. The food was lovely. I will go back again be it for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good afternoon Debbie W

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback on Protea Hotel Durbanville. We are so grateful for your honest feedback on our facilities, location and our always willing STAFF.

We will always try and go the extra mile to look after each and every GUEST.

We are all looking to assist you with your next stay at the Protea Hotel Durbanville.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel in September 2012. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff are super friendly and efficient. The hotel is surrounded by a vineyard, but unfortunately I didn't get the opportunity to explore the vineyard and other amenities offered by this beautiful hotel. I can recommend this hotel with confidence.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear RonelleJ1955

Thank you so much for spending your valuable time to post such a beautiful motivational letter on Tripadvisor. I can guarantee you that your letter of approval means the world to my STAFF and our Management TEAM. Through hard work and complete dedication our STAFF has made it possible to make your and other GUESTS experiences memorable.

I would like to once again thank you for spreading the positive news and for being an ambassador for our hotel.

P.S. The vineyards are looking beautiful...take some time and spend it in nature.

Have a great evening.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was a resident at Protea Hotel Durbanville, i must say i enjoyed my stay and their stake made me forget i was away!! The service was excellent and the staff members are helpful and friendly. Special thanks to the management team, they are hands on and alwys avail themselves wen needed.

I'm now back at the Hotel and im still loving it.... Im certain i will be back in few weeks time. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear MokgalakaJ

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad that our TEAM looked after you so well especially Chef with your monster steak. It is always great to see you on your return to our hotel and we will most definitely continue to strive for perfection.

May you have a great long weekend ahead.

Our TEAM is looking forward to your return.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having now stayed at the Protea Hotel in Durbanville several times, I firmly believe this hotel is a winner, well situated within easy access of anywhere in Cape Town, located in the most beautiful surroundings, excellent facilities, professionally managed and great staff. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to even the most discerning guest.
To Mynhardt de Jongh and his team, much appreciated and well done.

Regards

Rod Duarte

CEO DuArte Corporation International

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Rod D

To have a GUEST fill in a Hot or Not card and rating us a 10 every single time you visit is absolutely fantastic. To have a Special GUEST posting a Tripadvisor review is out of this world. Nothing satisfy our TEAM and our Management TEAM more than a completely satisfied GUEST.

This is the best motivational tool ever. You have assisted us in making sure that globally all interested GUESTS have first hand information on how we provide BEST GUEST SERVICE.

May you have a great weekend and may we welcome you back to your home away from home very soon.

Best regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have to praise the staff at the Protea Hotel’s for their professionalism and the great service they provided us for the wedding celebration we held at the Protea Hotel Durbanville on 1 June 2013.

We will definitely recommend and be using this venue in future.

Thank you to Olivia Sylverster and her team.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good morning Samantha V

Our TEAM is so grateful that we could have been part of making your day a success. Thank you so much for the positive feedback on our facilities, the efficiency of our STAFF and most definitely Olivia and her TEAM. This will mean the world to them as there is no better way to hear that you and your TEAM are performing really well, than directly from the GUESTS.

Your positive comments will fuel my TEAM to continue to strive for better and more efficient best GUEST service.

Thank you for offering to be our future ambassadors for this stunning property.

Until we meet again.

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Protea Hotel for 2 weeks while on a business trip. I would like to thank the staff for their professionalism and accommodating nature. It is not often that you experience a team of staff that are so happy and proud of their roles and responsibilities, it really shows. Always smiling, greeting and assisting whenever and wherever they can. Thanks again to all the staff!

The food – hats off to the chefs and their team of assistants. The food is amazing. Presentation, taste, flavours, variety, you guys have it all. It was a welcoming treat to have such nice food, especially when you away from home so long. Thanks again to the entire kitchen team.

The management team at Protea Hotel have definitely got a winning combination in terms of the environment that they have created, professional, friendly, cosy and welcoming. I can’t wait to book in again the next time I am in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Neville D

First of all I would like to apologies for not replying to your stunning posting. I have no idea why I have skipped this review.

Thank you so much for your objective and most definitely positive views on our property, STAFF and management TEAM.

You stayed for two weeks as mentioned and this is a true and great reflection of how we try and provide superb service and best GUEST Service seven days a week.

I am so proud of my entire TEAM and together we make it happen through easy and tough times. This is so motivational for our entire TEAM as your recognition tells us that all our hard work is paying off.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

May you travel safely.

Best regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Durbanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/Coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Durbanville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.