We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karoo National Park

Karoo National Park
Beaufort West, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Even if you do not see animals, the scenery is exceptional. We did see animals though, but they are sparse. (For example: we did see more animals in Addo NP, but Addo NP is not as beautiful). Part of the NP is only for 4X4 cars. Keep this in mind.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and virtually deserted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We entered the park just after 16:00 (4 pm) on Saturday afternoon and knew we had to be out by 19:00 (7 pm). The guy at the gate was super-friendly. Not unsual for parks people; but nice nevertheless.
We decided to do the circular trip in a counter-clockwise. The next time I might do it in reverse. We saw plenty animals, e.g. springbok, zebra, kudu and oryx. We passed 2 cars going in the opposite direction and were overtaken by another during our 2 1/2 hour trip.
We had planned to see the fossils and the museum at the end of our trip; but as it was getting late, we will have to leave these for the next time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Big country, vast skies...heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful park. No crowds. No rowdies. Magnificent scenery. Gorgeous arid flora, great birds and wonderful quiet tracks. Staff are extremely helpful, eager to please and efficient. The chalets are immaculately clean and very well equipped. There´s a lovely pool with good changing facilites. Restaurant + shop for the basics. Game drives and walks. A small area of heaven in the glorious Karoo. We stayed a couple of days and regretted not being able to stay longer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Karoo National Park. Both times we stayed for 3 nights, as we find this a nice way to end our holiday. Karoo National Park is mostly a one night stop-over for people on the way back home after there Cape holiday. But take the time to stop for longer - you will not be disappointed. The cottages are lovely. Previously we stayed in a 1 bedroom chalet, which was a bit cramped, but the verandah was very nice with front row views onto the mountains. This time we stayed in a family cottage, which is very spacious and very well equipped. The view was also very nice. Although it is in the row behind the 1 bedroom cottages, it is slightly elevated - therefore not loosing much of the view. The roads in the park are in a very good condition and we saw lots of game. The restaurant is a must. We ate there twice for dinner (Breakfast is included in your stay). The food is good and very well priced and the waiters are very attentive. We have a 3 year old daughter which they entertained and played with when it wasn't too busy and she loved the attention! She even went with one of the waiters to go meet the chef! If you want peace and quiet, this is the place to go. Beaufort West is only 6km from the Park gate - should you need to go shopping. The park's curio shop has lovely gifts and other curios.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was passing by on my way on the N1 highway and decided to take a look , glad I did....it is a great experience for any nature lover . The landscape is vast and beautiful and the wildlife is plentiful . There is a Fossil trail which is very informative and I learned a lot of new information about the geology of the area . It has given me new understandings and insights into how it all evolved over millions of years. If you traveling to or from Cape Town on the N1 and you appreciate Nature I recommend you stop and take a look and spend a day or two exploring the Park.
You might see Lion and or Black rhino and lots of other wildlife that occurred naturally in the area (not big 5 area).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo National Park also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Beaufort West, Western Cape
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Beaufort West, Western Cape
 

Been to Karoo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karoo National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.