We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Grove Guest Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Grove Guest Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olive Grove Guest Farm to your Saves list
Olive Grove Guest Farm
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   N12 Oudtshoorn Road | 15km off N1, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Olive Grove Guest Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Family visited Olive Grove Guest Farm in the middle of winter!! What an amazing place. You could not ask for more friendly host and hostess. The accommodation was top notch. Electric blankets, heaters etc. LOVE the olive products in the bathrooms!! This is going to be my Winter Go To place in future - probably summer aswell. Food was excellent. Farm is beautiful. Kids had so much to do. Will see you again guys. Keep up the good work and wonderful service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
27
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose this farm as a place to stop on the way to cape Town. We were transporting two dogs with us and The Olive Grove farm is dog friendly. The farm is surprisingly lush and green in the middle of the dry Karoo Desert , like an oasis. Staff were friendly and the service good , accommodation was simple but adequate. The only odd thing which did not affect our stay was that one is encouraged to order dinner from the website to ensure one's choice was available but on arriving at the restaurant we were offered one choice only, strange set up.
The oil on sale is good as are the various bottled olive products, definitely worth buying a few items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Most probably stayed at over at Olive Grove on more than 10 occasions, and the same high standards and attention to detail never disappointed on any. First choice stopover on the way to the North, even though it isn't on the N1. Food is always well prepared, and staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Karoo friendliness at its best. We had a lovely stay!! The kids went canoeing, we went for a hike on the Porcupine trail, quad bikes is always a winner!! The rooms had wall mounted heaters and the beds warm/electric blankets. The food in the restaurant is also very good - typical Karoo lamb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Olive Grove Guest Farm is by far the best place to stay when driving from Johannesburg to Cape Town and one need’s to stopover in Beaufort West. The accommodation is always clean and comfortable. The food never disappoints with a good selection. Hosts Sonia, Ian and staff are very friendly and always attentive. I have stayed at Olive Grove a couple of times now and never had a bad experience and will carry on staying there. I strongly recommend this stopover to everyone. If you arrive early there are some good walks that can be done. – Stephen Moir – Johannesburg

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cannot believe someone's comment on Olive Grove is "disgraceful"?! We couldn't have had a better and easier night's stopover back from Mozambique. Food was great, attention to detail was fabulous - Tabard, matches etc. Stayed in a room with double bed and single bed, and they happily put a mattress on the floor for my daughter. As a one-night stopover outside of Beaufort West - we couldn't have asked for more. If you are a group, there is a lapa you can use to braai - they will make salads for you if you arrange it beforehand!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed over for one night at Olive Grove farm on our way to Cape Town a few days ago. We stayed there a few years ago as well and remembered that it was a nice experience, so we decided to stay there again. We stayed in a self catering cottage and it was just great. It was two bedroomed cottage with a fully equipped kitchen and lounge. It was my husband, myself and our daughter with her two small kids. They made it very comfortable for us and there were even electric blankets on all the beds. The environment is really beautiful, nice well cared for gardens, lots of olive trees, and there is a little shop at reception where we bought nice cold pressed olive oil, bottled olives and pesto's.
Ian and Sonia, the hosts were great hosts and made us feel welcome.
We can really recommend people to stay there and sorry for those who did not enjoy there stay. It was a beautiful Karoo experience and we honestly just loved our stay at Olive Grove!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Grove Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Guest Farm

Address: N12 Oudtshoorn Road | 15km off N1, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Grove Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove Guest Farm offers Accommodation on a Beautiful Karoo Farm that lies only 15Km off the Main N1 Route, South of Beaufort West. Out of Town, Quite and Secure. We are a Versatile, Comfortable and Consistant Establishment offering AA Quality Assured Self Catering and B&B Accommodation.Affordability, Good Food and Warm Hospitality have played a big part in our Establishment over the past 10 Years.Also a working Olive, Sheep and Game Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Olive Grove Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Grove Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.