We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stopover enroute to Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Grove Guest Farm

Save Saved
You added Olive Grove Guest Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Guest Farm
N12 Oudtshoorn Road | 15km off N1, Beaufort West, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great stopover enroute to Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had driven from Gaborone in Botswana, and therefore were very happy to arrive at the lovely Olive Grove Guest Farm for an overnight stop. The guesthouse is conveniently located about 20kms out of Beaufort West on the Cape Town side of the town. It is clearly signposted from the road and was easy to find. Our welcome was lovely and very friendly. Our room was clean and spacious with a queen size bed and a single too. The bathroom was clean, but I found it quite dark, it had no window and the spots were quite dim. The room had a TV with full DSTV bouquet. We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal of Karoo lamb which had been prepared on site. There is an honesty bar next to the restaurant which was very welcome after such a long drive ! Breakfast the following morning was delicious, and consisted of fresh fruit, and an full English, to send us on our way. The guesthouse also has a small shop selling their olive products, the moisuriser is lovely. I can't fault this place, and so glad I found it on the internet. It is a perfect stop over after a long drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed here overnight en route from Bloemfontein to Cape Town and it was the best decision we could have made! Olive Grove is only 20km outside Beaufort West which is not far in the context of a thousand km road trip! It's like an oasis in the Karoo. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless, and after our long drive we enjoyed a refreshing dip in the swimming pool.

The only thing is that to eat there you have to order beforehand online, so you can't be spontaneous and decide at the time what you feel like eating, but if you don't mind planning ahead then it's fine! The Karoo lamb shank was amazing and we had it with a lovely fresh salad.

Service is friendly, professional and obliging. I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GABORONE
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at OLIVE GROVE before and we wre again delighted with the setting, accomodation, service and food. The costs have increased since our last visit in October 2011 but the value is still excellent. There is a new online method of choosing your a la carte dinner - be careful not to forget the vegetables!! A great stopover en route to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great B&B. Situated 20 km outside of Beaufort West. Active olive farm. Great hospitality. Fabulous dinner, we had an olive tapenade and springbok pie. The owners created a hike over the farm. This was accompanied with a book with information about the farm and flora. Very original. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A lovely place to stay outside of truck filled Beaufort West. A nice 2km off road drive to get to the farm. A warm welcome - bottles of beer and an olive platter to settle in with. Rooms nice enough just a bit lacking in imagination. Dinner should be pre-ordered and we would highly recommend doing so - especially the Karoo Lamb! Grab a jar of Olive Chutney and bottle of Olive Oil on departure! Make time to walk the Porcupine Trail - the farm dog leads you around the trail :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really a super stop over. Pet friendly. Rooms a more luxurious than chalets, but chalets are more spacious than rooms! Super home cooking in the restaurant if you don't feel like doing the self catering thing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As an overnight stop this place is excellent. Very comfortable rooms and well maintained. It is not luxurious, they do the basics well. Slightly expensive for the facilities on offer. Service was very friendly and I enjoyed a very good quality lamb shank for dinner. Good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Grove Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Guest Farm

Address: N12 Oudtshoorn Road | 15km off N1, Beaufort West, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove Guest Farm offers Accommodation on a Beautiful Karoo Farm that lies only 15Km off the Main N1 Route, South of Beaufort West. Out of Town, Quite and Secure. We are a Versatile, Comfortable and Consistant Establishment offering AA Quality Assured Self Catering and B&B Accommodation.Affordability, Good Food and Warm Hospitality have played a big part in our Establishment over the past 10 Years.Also a working Olive, Sheep and Game Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olive Grove Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Grove Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.