We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel President to your Saves list
Protea Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, located in Bantry bay with easy access to all attractions and within easy cab ride of V&A waterfront with its restaurants shops and nightlife. Staff were really friendly, great pool area, great breakfasts and lunches and great bar staff, excellent Mojito's and Mango Martinis, room was big and clean and easy safe parking.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear AndrewF76,
Thank you so much for your patronage of the Protea Hotel President - we loved having you with us and we're elated you had a good time! Thank you very much for being so complimentary of our Hotel, our facilities, services and STAFF! We will ensure they receive your praise!
We certainly hope that you get the opportunity to return to Cape Town and when you do that you visit us again at the Protea Hotel President as we'd love to welcome you back!
Until then, safe travel and best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    263
    99
    46
    34
See reviews for
94
203
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is a few minutes from the seafront and the local shops, rooms are airy and a good size, the bonus is most rooms have a kitchenette so you can self cater, which when out all day is a great idea. The food is pretty good too, efficient and good prices, pool is lovely and there are people to help with excursions most of the day, overall a well rounded and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear thegroove,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel President and for making us your home in Cape Town! We aprpeciate your patronage and even more so that you took time out to review the Hotel and facilities and services on this platform! Thank you for being so complimentary of the Hotel! We love getting such positive feedback!
We hope you return to Cape Town and to the Protea Hotel President - we can't wait to welcome you back!
Sincere regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fairly basic rooms... Not the best quality..... Small shower room but good shower ! Staff friendly but not always that efficient. The pool are is lovely, gorgeous views over the sea. The restaurant is too far way from the kitchen as food arrived cold at our table, she's me as it could have otherwise been a good meal.....
My room faced the mountain-would rather face the sea....rooms have fridge, microwave???? Etc odd but I suppose if you have young children, could be useful!!! The area is quiet, easy to get to camps bay, walking distance to some shops & cafés....

Very slow wifi..... Why???? In this day & age, unacceptable!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sarahws88,
Thank you so much for choosing the Protea Hotel President as your home while visiting Cape Town. Thank you also for taking the time too review the hotel on this platform. I'm sorry that we did not meet and exceed all your expectations. Please rest assured that we will make immediate work of your comments in relation to slow service and the slow internet.
Thank you for your constructive feedback! We appreciate it very much!
Best regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On one of several work trips to Cape Town, I stayed at the President Bantry Bay for a conference. While the pool area is nice and service by the pool can be quite good, that's really the best thing I can say about this hotel. I found the bed to be uncomfortable, temperature difficult to control, bathroom tiny, and the service extremely slow. Why did I always have to wait for housekeeping to come back to deliver clean towels? My room would be towel-free for hours at a time!

It was difficult to even get someone on the phone to make shuttle arrangements back to the airport. Once I did - and I had thought I had reserved a private car - I ended up waiting for other guests to get in a bus with no shocks or air conditioning.

Maybe I'm just spoiled as I always stay at the Westin, but I definitely will be avoiding this one in the future if I can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear WelltravelledChicago,
Thank you so much for your patronage of the Protea Hotel President. I am incredibly sorry that we were not able to meet and exceed your expectations which is very much part of our company ethos. I have noted your comments and I want you please to rest assured that we have taken action to improve upon the areas you highlighted. We sincerely hope that you will return to the Hotel to experience these improvements we have made. I would like to invite you please to engage with me directly so we can discuss the matter in greater detail.
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Business Trip
With 12 German hikers
Guests found lots of staff in dinning room- more concerned with what is your room number than ensuring groups have access to clean crockery and cutlery- most dinning room staff reluctant to engage with guests! Training opportunity here.

Phone reception service terrible when calling from outside or to leave a message.unmotivated staff area of hotel.

Room Tip: The F and B manager was unable to get the toasters to operate properly- they need replacing- the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Topnotched,
Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel President with your Group! We are sincerely sorry that we did not manage to exceed your expectations. Please rest assured that we take your comments to heart and that we will endeavour to improve on those elements of our service you have raised. Thank you for engaging with us on this platform - we sincerely appreciate the feedback and commit ourselves to improving!
Best regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to South Africa. The staff were very friendly. We arrived after an overnight flight from the UK and were provided with coffee whilst our room was prepared. We had a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the ocean. Really nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is around a 10 minute drive from the V&A docks. You can also walk along the coast to Camps Bay which has some great views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear djhunter77,
Thank you so much for your support of the Protea Hotel President during your recent visit to Cape Town - we were honoured to be your host in the Mothercity!
Thank you sincerely for taking of your precious time to review the Hotel here on Tripadvisor and for being so complimentary of our services, facilities and location! We appreciate it sincerely and we certainly hope if you return to Cape Town one day that you will once again make the Protea Hotel President your home! Untill then...
Best regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've stayed here around 4 times and the hotel had been done up on the last visit and I was very impressed. the rooms are all a good size with really comfy beds.

Location wise its great as you are not paying a premium to be right on the V&A and a quick 10 min drive will get you there and the hotel has shuttle busses. Its in a lovely location right on the coast and not far from camps bay which is a great spot for dinner.

If you are not fussed about being able to walk to the V&A and would like a nice pool and good views then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear TobyDouglas,
Thank you so much for your patronage of the Protea Hotel President - we appreciate it sincerely! Thank you also for taking time out to review the Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are elated that you like our new look and feel and we are humbled that you rated us as perfect! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Best regards and safe travels,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel President

Address: 4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The atmosphere of this magnificent sea-side 4 star hotel in Cape Town’s Bantry Bay area is relaxed, yet professional. For business or leisure there is no better choice of venue. Surrounded by the stunning Lion’s Head Mountain range and Atlantic Ocean, the hotel’s spacious rooms offer all the facilities that one would expect from a world-class hotel. One can enjoy a cocktail in the Senate Bar or a sundowner on the terrace, overlooking the magnificent rim-flow pool to the ocean. Once you have taken in the spectacular view you can let the Islands Restaurant tantalise your taste buds with its sumptuous cuisine. When you are not visiting the famous Clifton Beach, the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain why not pamper yourself at the Amber Hair Salon, or take in the sites of Cape Town with a tour on the hop-on-hop-off Cape Town Site Seeing Bus. Not only can you purchase these tickets from the Travel Desk but you can also use the bus stop situated right outside the hotel as your starting point. Once you have discovered its remarkable variety of facilities, impeccable service and consummate luxury, you will agree that there really is no better choice of venue than Protea Hotel President, and it’s without a doubt the most eminent Cape Town hotel on the Platinum Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.