We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel President to your Saves list
Protea Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the protea president from the 22nd September- 2nd October, Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at how quick the check in process was, and how polite and helpful the staff on reception were. We stayed in a sea facing apartment, which was fab, very modern, cosy and spacious. We had breakfast daily at the hotel, a very large selection to chose from, continental and cooked breakfast available. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive, making sure we had everything we needed! breakfast is available from 6.30am, we had booked an excursion which meant we were to be picked up at 6am, the hotel provided us with an excellent breakfast box to take with us! I feel the dinner menu was slightly disappointing, not a lot of choice at all, I was expecting the menu to change part way through our holiday, but it didn't, although food quality and presentation was good! On a few occasions we ordered room service, the majority of the time the food was with us within 20-30 minutes, the last time we ordered room service we waited 2 hours, before we had to ring again and remind them of our order! which we found totally unacceptable, but human error. We didn't use the pool area that much, due to the weather being chilly, but it looked clean and well maintained. All public areas of the hotel were spotless. We booked a few day trips with the excursions lady in reception which I would definitely recommend, very efficient. I did notice this hotel doesn't have many facilities for children, so you may want to think again before taking your children here. Complimentary Wi-Fi was good, although slightly slow at times it was efficient for browsing the internet, 500mb seemed to last forever! The location for us was fab, a short taxi ride to the V&A waterfront, and a short taxi ride/20 minute walk to Clifton beaches and camps bay

In my opinion there were only two downsides to this hotel, first being; Ordering drinks from the bar is a very long drawn out process often taking around 10-15 minutes. Second being; On one particular day we asked reception if they were able to check the weather on top of table mountain around 8am, we were told by the girl there (who didn't even pick up the phone to check, or look on the internet) that she knew table mountain was open and that visibility from the mountain was good, she would not even let us asking anybody else, before interfering going on the tell us for the second time that 'visibility is good' after paying for a taxi to get us to table mountain, we found that this was not the case, and visibility was infact 'poor' we ended up paying for a taxi back to the hotel! In my eyes customer service goes a long way, and it would not have harmed her to check the weather!

Overall, I loved my stay at this hotel, Nothing major wrong with the hotel, just a few minor areas i personally feel they could improve on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Lauren B,
Thank you so much for making the Protea Hotel President your location from where you explored Cape Town! I'm elated that you loved the location. I am very sorry for the few niggles you experienced. I will most certainly ask my STAFF to double check with the mountain before confirming visibility regardless of the circumstance in the future. Sorry for the inconvenience this caused for you. We will also ensure we sharpen up our drink service times from the bar and ensure we keep our room service consistently brilliant like the first orders you had!
Thank you for your candid and detailed feedback - we love hearing from our GUESTS as it assists us in improving our services and facilities! I certainly hope you will stay at the Protea Hotel President in future when and if you return to our beautiful city - we would love to see you again!
Sincere regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    262
    98
    46
    33
See reviews for
92
202
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice. Great reception, our room was not ready so offered complimentary tea and coffee.
Lovely surroundings beautiful swimming pool. Breakfast excellent. Staff extremely helpful.
Room was very spacious and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities and a fridge.
Location is good but in hindsight would have chosen a hotel nearer to the city, to save on taxi fares. Great location in the summer though.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view but mountain view available too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Anniegriff,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel President recently - we appreciate your support and even more so that you took of your time to review the Hotel here on tripadvisor! Now Annie, why would you want to go stay in the hustle and bustle of the city if you come to Cape Town on a vacation? Trust me when I tell you that those taxi fares are worth paying for the wonderful views of the Atlantic ocean and our magnificent pool area which you did compliment, thank you! Also - that spacious room you liked so much - you won't be getting that value in town where rooms are generally smaller! Thank you for noticing our STAFF and their efforts - we appreciate it very much! I sincerely hope you will return to Cape Town and just by the way - soon you will be able to catch the MyCity bus service for a fraction of the cost of a meter taxi and you can travel your heart out around the city for next to nothing! So please, when next you return to the most beautiful city in South Africa - please visit us again!
Best regards and safe travels,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this hotel to be very accommodating. The weather was unseasonable cold but we were quite comfortable in our spacious room. The service was good. Sometimes the dining area for breakfast and dinners was noisy due to the convention goers. Try not to get seated in the main walkway to the buffet table. Didn't get to use the pool as it was cold but it looked fine. Internet in the lobby was very unreliable. The staff however did their best to fix the connection problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear LinW,
Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel President as your home in Cape Town during your travels! We appreciate your patronage and that you took the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor! Thank you for being so complimentary of our STAFF, services and facilities! I'm sorry that you found our wi-fi to be unreliable in the foyer - we'll check it out and take corrective action! We hope you will return to Cape Town and to the Protea Hotel President - until then though - safe travels!
Best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. My room was huge and it was very clean and comfortable. There was a little kitchen area with a sink and a little fridge. Complimentary tea and coffee. The bathroom was clean. I really like the room. The breakfast buffet was really good with plenty of choices. The staff was very nice and polite. The internet connection was good. Hotel is 10 minutes drive away from the hotel. I really enjoyed the food (giant shrimps) in Waterfront. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Moncing,
Sheesh! See you stayed with us way back in November of last year already. Thank you for returning after all this time to rate the hotel! we appreciate your positive feedback and the photos you posted!
Thank you so much and safe travels!

best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my husband and kids of 16 and 14 in a 2 bedroomed apartment. Although the apartment could have done with a bit of warmth in terms of the decor ie pictures etc, we were more than happy. It is a lovely hotel - light, airy, summery. The staff are very pleasant, Pool area is great. Food looked great - never got to eat there. All in all the two bedroomed apartments are a winner for a family wanting a summer destination in one of the most upmarket areas of Cape Town. If you have a car, it is perfectly situated for easy access to the Waterfront and beach areas and restaurants of Clifton, Camps etc. What a winner. We would definitly recommend this hotel for a fabulous well priced , family experience in Cape Town .

Room Tip: Room with a view over the seat. Two bedroomed apartments are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Travelagent898,

Thank you so much for spending the weekend with us and for taking time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your stay! I am elated that you had a great time with us! Thank you for being so complimentary of our 2 bedroom apartments and our food looking great! We appreciate it sincerely! We also think our 2 bedroom apartments are stunning for families! A note to book well in advance if you want one of these.
Best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I agin have stayed at this hotel, it was on a long weekend. I had some travelers points to use up.

They can't cope when they busy. The service is slow, the food quality rather poor. The options of meats mixed close to vegetarian dishes is a worry for some.. The breakfast lack any real world class hotel, much like a holiday In. More options but higher price.

There is no kids club and they don't have such, a games room with old broken toys is not a kids club.

The hotel location is very good but the hotel is not worth the money they ask.

Room Tip: Sea facing, most are fine even the back rooms with out a view are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Harry W,
Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel President for your family's long weekend in August and for giving us your feedback here! I am sorry that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations. We certainly try to do so for all our GUESTS! We will look very carefully at your feedback and see where we can make improvements.
Best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A large business hotel outside the main Cape Town Business District (not a bad idea as Cape Town centre was a bit sinister after dark). You can easily get a sea front bus into the Wharf (and beyond to the station for the historic quarter & Long Street). I was there a bit out of season which meant that the hotel was offering good conference delegate rates (those delegates likely to cram out the good breakfast buffet as they are all running to the conference timetable)

Very friendly staff offering good service- the Travel Desk perople are especially helpful- and the internet links were good

A good room (I got an upgrade to a suite) with great walk in shower. Took a while to tame the aircon- the bedroom was a bit stuffy but overall it was very comfortable

The billing process wasn't quite straightforward. There seemed to be a lot of paper being printed out at check-in time & I needed to question some rogue phone bills on the final bill which took a little while to sort out. Parking is extra.

Top tip- walk along the seafront away from Cape Town towards Clifton admiring all the high bling villas & mansions on the cliff side (complete with private funiculars) with their tight security

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-President, General Manager at Protea Hotel President, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Tastydogs,
Thank you so much for staying at the Protea Hotel President during your visit to Cape Town - we appreciate your support very much and even more so, appreciate that you took time to provide us with your feedback here on tripadvisor!
Thank you for highlighting our location - we also think it's great for corporates wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of town but we hope that we also provide a classic mix of business and leisure - I suppose it's more so in summer when you can laze around our beautiful pool and our gorgeous pool deck sipping on a cocktail while gazing over the ocean! We are indeed truly blessed with some amazing STAFF and we thank you so much for noting them for their friendly service! We also pass your thanks to the travel desk! Our sincere apologies for the billing issues - please rest assured that we have addressed this!
The walk from the Hotel to Camps Bay will take you past some of the City's best real estate and sometimes it is nice to vicariously live through others! Thank you again for your wonderful support - we wish you safe and enjoyable travels!
Best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel President

Address: 4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The atmosphere of this magnificent sea-side 4 star hotel in Cape Town’s Bantry Bay area is relaxed, yet professional. For business or leisure there is no better choice of venue. Surrounded by the stunning Lion’s Head Mountain range and Atlantic Ocean, the hotel’s spacious rooms offer all the facilities that one would expect from a world-class hotel. One can enjoy a cocktail in the Senate Bar or a sundowner on the terrace, overlooking the magnificent rim-flow pool to the ocean. Once you have taken in the spectacular view you can let the Islands Restaurant tantalise your taste buds with its sumptuous cuisine. When you are not visiting the famous Clifton Beach, the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain why not pamper yourself at the Amber Hair Salon, or take in the sites of Cape Town with a tour on the hop-on-hop-off Cape Town Site Seeing Bus. Not only can you purchase these tickets from the Travel Desk but you can also use the bus stop situated right outside the hotel as your starting point. Once you have discovered its remarkable variety of facilities, impeccable service and consummate luxury, you will agree that there really is no better choice of venue than Protea Hotel President, and it’s without a doubt the most eminent Cape Town hotel on the Platinum Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.