We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for all that Cape Town has to offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel President to your Saves list
Protea Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good base for all that Cape Town has to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Page and Moy tour group. Good welcome, nice big room overlooking the mountain and car park at the rear. Shower curtain flaking, otherwise immaculate room. Took dinner in the first night, average buffet food, but cold, hotel reimbursed us 20% on complaining! Great breakfast but could be very busy dependent on tour group departure times. Easy taxi ride to waterfront with loads of well priced restaurants, but very touristy. Daytime walk on prom is nice, although would not recommend this after dark. Good pool at hotel but busy by midday.
Loads to do in and around fabulous Cape Town- recommend Cape of Good Hope, Stellenbosch, Franschoek(Sp), City tour, Gardens, and the fabulous Table Mountain. Would recommend this hotel for the average tourist.

  • Liked — Bright airy efficient
  • Disliked — Not quite on the seafront
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    262
    98
    46
    33
See reviews for
92
202
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

My wife and I came here with our six month old daughter and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The staff were very friendly and even played with our daughter at mealtimes. Our room was comfortable with a great view of Lion Rock from the window. We ordered room service one evening and found it to be good quality.

Some people may have an issue with Bantry Bay being slightly away from the centre of Cape Town. However we liked the area and did not find the short drive into town to be a problem.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We've recently returned from a 5 night stay as part of a Virgin two-centre holiday to South africa. Here are our thoughts of this hotel.
Reception:
Well manned at all times, quick to deal with any query in a pleasant manner.
Rooms:
Really good with comfortable beds, good sized bathroom with bath and separate powerful shower, TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities, in room safe, our only dissappointment was the partial seaview, this hotel is not on the shoreline and has a few properties set in front of it.
Restaurant:
Good A La Carte Menu or you can have the themed buffet, also has an extensive winelist. Breakfast choice is very extensive and starts the day off well. A small tip here is if you intend to 'eat in' then book a table as it gets quite full with outside parties.
Location:
Not much in the immediate vacinity but the V&A is only a 5min taxi ride away, we did walk it during the day and its' around 55mins along the prom.
Things to do:
Endless, Cape Town has so much to offer, we did a full day tour of the peninsula, a visit to the winelands and a tour of Robben Island. Our highlight though was a cheetah encounter at Spier in the winelands.

  • Liked — Good standards throughout
  • Disliked — Its' location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My husband booked a surprise holiday for my birthday and the hotel was recommended/booked by a travel agent as it had good reviews. The package was with Virgin who rated this hotel with 4 ticks! and as virgin travellers we should have received priorty on arrival ie our rooms should have been ready but werent. After waiting for around a further 2.5 hours we were shown our room, it had twin beds and the view of another hotel. We had in fact paid for a sea view and was expecting a double bed being Mr & Mrs etc, after about another hour or so our room was ready on the 5th floor, it was ok the shower was of the plastic curtain variety (YUCK) unlike the first room we were shown and there was no fridge. Apart from that everything else seemed to be going ok great location etc good breakfast.

Unfortunately on the morning of our fifth day whilst on a trip someone decided to help thereselves to some of the contents of our locked safe. The front desk and security staff seemed very cool about the whole thing and basically needed a kick up the backside to take this seriously. A reading of our door was taken which showed who had entered this turned out to be 2 separate housekeeping staff but one of them was not at work that day good system!!! The Duty Manager was not going to be in the following morning (our last day) so he assured us he would hand over the details to the other duty manager who could deal with this when the staff arrived tht morning, unfortunatey he never so the thief was left do do their deed the next morning.

Whilst we were giving a police statement on our sixth day some other guests approaced us and asked if we had had somethig stolen, it turned out that they had had their safe broken into that morning (maybe if the duty manager had handed over the house keeping staff would have been dealt with when they arrived at work that morning rather than being allowed to get into someone elses safe). These people were very angry as the hotel told them that this had never happened before, however we were told that they have a problem on the firth floor with house keeping staff as there had been several incidents........................so beware of the fifth floor!

Apparently the staff would have to take a lie detector test and those that would'nt or failed were supposedly sacked, unfortunetely we have returned home so until Virgin (if they do as we are still awaiting a crime report number) contact us we are not sure what has happened.

The safes were of the electronic code type god knows how they got into them but I will never trust another in any future hotel . If you stay at this hotel I would recommend that you use the managers safe or you can use one of 4 they have in the suitcase room which has a camera on them 24/7

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — being robbed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as the second part of our Virgin Kruger, Cape Town and Mauritius trip.

The room was clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent for choice and quality. The location of the hotel is a 15 minute taxi ride from the town centre and the V&A area, between 70-80 rand one way, and a good hour stroll.

We booked the Peninsular tour from the Virgin brochure, which was a full day excursion not to be missed. The accent to the top of Table Mountain is spectacular, although it took us several attempts to reach the summit. The cable car can be grounded for a number of reasons, on a regular basis, and we would recommend that you ask reception to ring ahead to ensure it is open and running before you make the journey to the cable car station (15 minutes by taxi) .

Our tips for eating out:
Belthazar Fish & Steak Restaurant/Bar at the V&A, where the food is out of this world and they have a vast selection of wine by the glass. www.belthazar.co.za.
For Belgium beers, mussels & frittes we recommend Den Anker, also V&A waterfront.
For somewhere special we recommend Five Flies, 14-16 Keerom St, City Centre.
In all the restaurants we had excellent food and wine, at much more reasonable prices than the UK.
If you want the famous afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel, I would recommend booking as far in advance as possible.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Spent two days at the President last week (Jan 2008). Very nice hotel. Bit hectic when the air crews are also checking in but the reception staff very helpful. Their restaurant is excellent well worth eating in, service and quality of food was superb. Also very good menu around the pool and we always found beds at any time of day. On site hairdresser was very useful and the tour guide on site gave us some very good ideas. The Cape Town tour bus stops in the next street which is handy. Nothing really around though, the shops are not worth a trip. There is a nice gift shop in the hotel lobby. Unfortunately we were hit with a 9 hour power cut during one of our days but hotel coped very well with emergency lighting. Best to ask for a seafront room as rooms with a view of the Lions Head really is just looking at peoples' villas.

  • Liked — Great views, super beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

Protea Hotels is South Africa is certainly good value.All the ones I have stayed in provide good clean accommodation of the quality one is paying for,whether 3 or 4 stars as well as their Country Pride Portfolio.The President is no exception.We only spent one night on our way to the winelands,but all was to our satisfaction.The room had a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave as well as an eating area.Nice to be able to warm up something for the kids or have a snack for lunch.Recommended.

  • Liked — Near to beach,restaurants, V &A Waterfront and other attractions
  • Disliked — only one side table to double bed
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel President

Address: 4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The atmosphere of this magnificent sea-side 4 star hotel in Cape Town’s Bantry Bay area is relaxed, yet professional. For business or leisure there is no better choice of venue. Surrounded by the stunning Lion’s Head Mountain range and Atlantic Ocean, the hotel’s spacious rooms offer all the facilities that one would expect from a world-class hotel. One can enjoy a cocktail in the Senate Bar or a sundowner on the terrace, overlooking the magnificent rim-flow pool to the ocean. Once you have taken in the spectacular view you can let the Islands Restaurant tantalise your taste buds with its sumptuous cuisine. When you are not visiting the famous Clifton Beach, the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain why not pamper yourself at the Amber Hair Salon, or take in the sites of Cape Town with a tour on the hop-on-hop-off Cape Town Site Seeing Bus. Not only can you purchase these tickets from the Travel Desk but you can also use the bus stop situated right outside the hotel as your starting point. Once you have discovered its remarkable variety of facilities, impeccable service and consummate luxury, you will agree that there really is no better choice of venue than Protea Hotel President, and it’s without a doubt the most eminent Cape Town hotel on the Platinum Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.