We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hot Tub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
London
1 review
“Loved the Hot Tub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

The most memorable hotel we have ever stayed in. An amazing start to our honeymoon. We booked suite 5 with the amazing outdoor hot tub and private terrace.

The service was fantastic with the staff bending over backwards to help book restaurants for us and to help plan our trip.

The breakfasts were amazing with the option of having it on our private terrace.

The Wi-fi internet was very handy and could be taken up to our suite.

Suite iteself was lovely, very spacious and the dvd library was a bonus!

Very romantic hotel, very modern and stylish and would highly reccomend it.

  • Liked — Felt like a home away from home
  • Disliked — proximity to beach, was in the suburbs
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
200
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed here at the beginning of a fantastic SA honeymoon

What an amazing place. Spotlessly clean, wonderfully colourful with every contemporary finishing. The essence of a boutique hotel.

The staff could not have been more helpful and kind. They make you feel like part of their family. Patricia even helped me pick what to wear out at night!

Breakfasts on our terrace were amazing and the sundowners in the jacuzzzi with the canapes completed each perfect day.

Olaf has a real gem here. We cannot recommend this hotel enough to everyone.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

We spent 2 weeks in Cape Town over Christmas and New Year and chose to stay at O on Kloof having seen it on the Web.

We selected 2 Superior Rooms ( Room 1 and Room 5 ). Eileen and I in Room 1 and my son Robert and daughter in law Kelly in Room 5.

We were not disappointed - the rooms are superb with their own private sun-decks and every possible facility.

O on Kloof is simply a superb Boutique Hotel and the owner Olaf is on hand to greet and welcome his guests and there most days to ensure that the high standards he has are met.

Apart from the decor and facilities which are tremendous what really is impressive and makes the whole enterprise superb is the staff.

Bernadette is there every day in command and is exceptional in ensuring that the guests are looked after efficiently and properly.

Patricia is her assistant and does exactly the same and they are ably assisted by Martin - the ever smiling Enock - and various other members of staff who are all solely interested in making sure that you are attended to. A brilliant , friendly, efficient, smiling happy team.

We ourselves own and run a 28 Bedroom Hotel in Inverness and we have stayed in many super Hotels in many parts of the world - The Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong, Rirz Carlton Dubai and Claridges in London to name 3.

O on Kloof is smaller and of a different style than any of these 3 but it is as good if not better !!

We cannot do anything other than advise to go and see for yourself - If you do not like it then there is something wrong with you !

O on Kloof - Simply Superb.!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early as very popular and busy
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

Excellent. We splashed out on room 5 (Jacuzzi on balcony with view of Ocean & private sunbathing area) as it was my wifes 30th. But the whole place is great. It's conveniently placed to be close to the V&A area whilst having some peace, it's also convenient for the quite trendy Camps Bay area with it's great beech.

  • Liked — Well Finished & Wifi Laptops for guests use & location & view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Nice place to see a bit of cape town from. Book room 5 if you want to get some.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

This hotel was the first stop on our honeymoon and it was absolutely excellent. The staff were really friendly and welcoming, the hotel was immaculate, stylish and very comfortable, the breakfasts were fantastic and the canapes they served in the evening most welcome. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that the pool was rather nippy but everything else was excellent and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The welcoming staff and the stylish and comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — The temperature of the pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed at O on Kloof as the last stop of our honeymoon in Africa. Unfortunately, we met some bad weather our 3 nights in Cape Town, but it was lovely to be able to come back into the warm haven that is O on Kloof. The tiny boutique hotel is beautifully decorated, and staying there feels more like staying at a wealthy friend's country house than at a hotel, which was wonderful. Also, Patricia the house manager is very helpful, and unfailingly answered our questions and arranged for reservations and taxis. The canapes they sent up every evening were delicious, and just what we needed after a day around the City. Cape Town itself is stylish and beautiful, a cross between San Francisco, LA, and Miami (we live in SF and grew up in LA, so we know!)

There were a few rough edges though. Although we made the reservation through our travel agent more than 6 months ago, they did not tell us that the hotel was undergoing extensive renovation during our stay, so that we were the only guests staying there and the pool/outdoor sun deck was out of commission. It didn't matter since we had a very nice deck/jacuzzi of our own and it was too cool to swim anyways, but it would've been nice had they told us beforehand rather than during the tour. Also, our room was very nicely furnished, but as it was chilly the cushions from the deck chairs were piled in a corner of the room the whole time we were there, not looking very nice. I just thought it was strange for them to be just lying there instead of put away. Little things, but as O on Kloof prides itself on these details, I thought I would call them out.

We loved Cape Town though, and would definitely return if we had a chance!

  • Liked — The decor and the wireless laptops
  • Disliked — The renovation
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

O on Kloof thoroughly deserves its accolades. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of a two week holiday in South Africa and wished we'd spent the entire holiday there. As soon as we arrived, the owner Olaf offered us champagne. Our room (#1, described as a superior suite) really was superior, with the most fantastic outside terrace, including a table and chairs, sunloungers, double (!) hammock and sofa. Breakfasts were to die for. Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The gym and pool on the lower floor were a superb and unexpected addition. Dinner is offered three nights at a week, and although excellent, was a bit pricey at R 180 pp. Overall, an A++ boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.