We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“OMG!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is amazing. We spent 56 blissful nights here and it is a wonderful hotel. Great friendly staff, lovely seafront walk into either Camps bay (1hr) or V&A waterfront (1hr). Taxi to waterfront is 10 mins so great location in Cape Town, very safe. Staff are wonderful, Bernadette, Martin and Diverson in particular made us feel really welcome whilst we were there. Definatley recommend eating there once during your stay -0 their chef is great and her food sublime. Her museli in the morning is something else! Dinner is served a few nights a week a week and they have some excellent recommendations for dinner on your other nights and arrange taxis for you. We had room number 8 which was stunning and had the pleasure of meeting Olaf - the O in O on Kloof and finding out about the design and architecture of the hotel. Next time we are in Cape Town we'll just book to stay here, five star hotel design with a small hotel friendliness - perfection.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
203
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This was the first stop off of our honeymoon in South Africa. When we arrived tired and sick from the flight we were greeted by Bernadette who looked after us straight away. She had lots of suggestions for places for us to visit, or not and we enjoyed a dvd and lunch in our room and then visited the spa in the hotel which is excellent. Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic and the evening that we had dinner in the hotel was equally great.
We were slightly disappointed by the size of our room for the price we paid, but the service and quality is definitely top class. Chocolates on the pillow in the evening, a turn down service and champagne on arrival were just some of the details.There aren't amazing views from this hotel and it is basically a hideaway down a street, but on the other hand that does make it quiet. Thanks to Olaf, Bernadette and all the staff for an enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

You can not go better than this boutique hotel. If you like small hotels, personal service this is the place to stay in Cape Town. Olaf and his team give you the warmest welcome you have ever had in your life.
Hungry, thirsty any time of the night? Book the rest of your holiday? There is nothing a problem for them.
And all is done with genuine, sincere hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We can't praise O On Kloof enough - we had a wonderful suite with jacuzzi and a comfortable sofa to sit on, a great WIFI signal, the helpful staff (Bernadette and Patricia in particular) could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The place is full of fabulous furniture and beautifully designed.

We met Olaf (the O in O On Kloof) who was cooking breakfast that day - don't forget it's his birthday on 28th December and wish him many happy returns because this place is perfection itself.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

My wife and I took spent our honeymoon in Cape Town. We didn't have much direction on where to stay, but we are so very glad that we chose O On Kloof. After we arrived, we didn't lift one finger or have a single question unanswered. The staff at the hotel is absolutely outstanding, and the chef made the most delicious breakfasts that we've ever had - I still dream about the salmon and eggs, and the coffee is the best I've ever had. It's frustrating to read travel magazine after travel magazine that doesn't mention "The O," because my wife and I would not even consider staying anywhere else. We really couldn't imagine having a better experience at any other hotel.

If you do stay, make sure you decide to eat dinner at the hotel at least one night. The atmosphere is as romantic as it gets, and the food is just as delicious as the breakfasts. Also, you should have them set up breakfast in your room at least one morning. It is a beautiful and unique experience.

I know the people in South Africa are the nicest people in the world, and the people at "The O" are the nicest people in South Africa! We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

What a wonderful start to our holiday in South Africa.Staff were always friendly and always willing to advise on trips.Tray of tea in the morning just what we like.Attention to detail excellent,rose petals in the shower room and wow what a shower room.Sundowners whenever we arrived back at the hotel.We were in room 6 which opened out onto the swimming pool.Within easy reach of the V& A waterfront by bus or by car.Only a short drive to Camps Bay with excellent restaurants. .An excellent hotel which I would recommend to my friends

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Upon arriving at the O on Kloof in Cape Town's sophisticated Bantry Bay you know you're stepping into something a little bit special. We arrived after a long flight feeling in need of R&R and were therefore overjoyed to be greeted on our arrival by a glass of champagne and a smiling General Manager, Bernadette, who bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoying and comfortable as possible.

The O on Kloof is a small boutique hotel that puts its guest well and truly first. This may not be the nearest hotel to Cape Town's buzzing centre, nor does it have the history or unadulterated luxury of the V&A hotel. What it does have is style, attention to detail and a sense of timelessness. The staff are all very well trained in customer satisafaction: there isn't anything they won't do for you - from ordering take-away meals and setting up a table in your room, to booking restaurants and taxis at very short notice, to adapting your breakfast to cater for your specific needs.

What sets the O on Kloof apart from many hotels in Cape Town is its décor and attention to detail. Olaf, the owner, has done a terrific job of giving the hotel a modern look and feel while retaining plenty of warmth and charater. The breakfast area is stylish, there are tables and chairs to enjoy a drink while watching the sun fall, and comfortable sofas to while away the day as you sip a cocktail or catch up on the day's news. There are beauty treatments for those who wish to indulge in some pampering and a small but good quality gym for the more physically minded guests.

If you are in Cape Town for a city break or simply wish to unwind in a luxury boutique hotel, where you are a King or Queen for your stay, you may want to give the O on Kloof a call. Believe me, you will not be disappointed. The only down side is coming back to reality once you leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.