We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality boutique hotel in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 1 more site!
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Top quality boutique hotel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 while exploring cape town and the surrounding area.

Excellent quality and well run boutique hotel. Extremely helpful staff for suggesting local attractions and recommending restaurants as well as ordering in take-out food when we just wanted something simple. We also had a very good evening meal in their restaurant which was fantastic value for money. Great breakfast and always offering little snacks throughout our stay. Room was very nicely decorated and the whole hotel was very clean and tidy.

Would definitely recommend that you visit this hotel in the summer as we couldn’t really use our private deck due to poor weather. Also most of the boutique hotels we stayed in on this trip had free mini-bars, but this place charged for theirs. I’ve uploaded lots of pictures, so please take a look (sorry forgot to photograph the room!).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
150
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Beautiful. Ask for room 1 or even better room 5 [both with roof terrace and hot tub]. Stylish, carefree, with staff who are helpful above and beyond. Always nice to be greeted with a glass of bubbly and a chat on the sunny terrace whilst someone else sorts out the boring bits. Or unbidden canapes delivered to your room as you get get ready for cocktails? You will not regret staying here. It's just a shame that with the area being so residential you can't step out of your door and find much other than, er, a residential district. But only a short hop into town or the beach. And did I mention the staff...?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Just back from a holiday in South Africa where we stayed at a total of 4 hotels. This was by far our favourite. The genuine attentiveness and friendliness of this hotel made it stand head and shoulders above some of it's pricier competition.

The rooms were gorgeous, breakfast devine and had lovely little touches (eg. free sherry in the evening, canapes delivered to our room pre dinner time and laundry arriving back packaged in beautiful tissue and ribbon). Every morning we were asked what our plans were for the day and were helped with everything from finding restaurants to organising our trips. Would definately return. The staff are a tremendous credit to the hotel! A brilliant choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon and couldn't have been more happy with our choice. The staff were fantastic and even looked after my other half with peppermint tea to the room when he felt ill.

Location was quite far from the centre of Cape Town but who needs to go there wheen you have Camps Bay with their fab restaurants and beach just round the corner.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed in o on kloof in the beginning of our trip to sa. instantly, we took a liking to the place and after returning home, we rate this place highly from places stayed. we stayed in a mountain view room, which is divided in three section, bedroom, little eating room, and bedroom. beds are gorgeous and good to sleep in, and the rooms beautifully arranged, we had a little balcony leading into a garden. o on kloof really shines on service and food as well. firstly, they really make a good coffee, which we found in sa can be a mixed skill set. food, breakfast and menu is delicious. i liked my morning routine, woke up to a great sunshine, went for a run on onkloof road with beautiful views over the cliffton, camp bay area in a national garden, returned for a little work out in a great gym next to the pool ( got all the essentials, even a boxing sack) and then after showering, had a great breakfast on the balcony. From there is a short car ride or even medium walk to a great beach or all the amenities of cape town (when driving to cape town, take the round trip road kloof road to kloof nek road, great views, less traffic)
when you check in, they tell you its your home and you should start to enjoy the place, and thats how this place feels. is has a great living room section with good books, trendy magazines and look out over small pools and the bay.
like your amazing house in bantry bay, with great, happy people looking after you. bernadette and her team really get the chemistry right.
oh, and try the massage, brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is a wonderful little hotel, ideally placed to explore Cape Town without dealing with being downtown. Excellent staff, fantastic service, beautiful room (room 5) About 200 yards from hop on hop off bus stop but beware, using this as a cheap transfer is tricky as the last run that will get you home is pretty early. Q cars are also a little pricey compared to the ready and easy to use taxis that are all over CT that actually compete on price.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We absolutely loved the O on Kloof. We arrived exhausted after a long, horrible flight and were met with a smile and a cold drink. The public rooms at o on Kloof are gorgeous and tranquil, the staff are incredibly friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

We stayed in room 5 (with the hot tub on the balcony). The room was huge, and very comfortable. I can't fault anything there.

Breakfast was great - we didn't eat dinner at the hotel but I am confident it would be great.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Cape Town.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town
Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.