We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you go to Cape Town stay at this hotel, you will not find better!! The staff are excellent, with a special mention to Bernadette, the most perfect hostess, could not have been more helpful. Within walking distance of some lovely restaurants and handy to local transport, taxis etc. The food in the hotel (although only breakfast) was excellent. The room superb and again the staff could not do enough for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 7 which was right beside the pool and spa. Excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
178
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at this hotel for a weekend away in Cape Town based on the Tripadvisor reviews. It was an excellent decision! Patricia was an absolute darling right from the time we arrived to the end of our stay. She went out of her way to make us feel at home and gave excellent recommendations on places to visit, etc. The hotel is situated in a nice area and the Citysightseeing (red) bus stop is just around the corner. I would recommend taking a walk from the hotel along the beach promenade to the V&A Waterfront instead of taking a taxi (weather permitting). It's a great way to see the area. Patricia organized our airport transfers and the level of service from Riaz and Petrus was very good.
Overall, the service was excellent and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I'll definitely stay here again on future visits.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We chose O On Kloof because we wanted to be out of the hustle of the big hotels and we are so pleased we did. There is no way we would have got the service we did had we have stayed elsewhere. From the minute we walked in, Bernadette did her utmost to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, suggesting things to do, booking cabs and helping to check dinner reservations we had made from the UK. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was comfortable, with a terrace leading straight out to some sun loungers and we had a shower with a glass window into the bedroom, which gave us a real laugh - although I'm glad I was with my husband!
Breakfast was fab and plentiful and we were given leftovers wrapped up to take off on our trips. We also had lunch at the hotel a couple of times and that was very tasty too.
The only thing to be aware of is that the hotel is set back from the main areas so you do need to be prepared to walk or take taxis. We didn't find it a negative in the slightest - we liked the boutique feel rather than the faceless chain - as the neighbourhood is lovely. However you just need to budget a little for the taxis if you want to return to the hotel during the day.
We would definitely return if we go back to Cape Town the service from everyone at the hotel was just so good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We’d already heard great things about O On Kloof before we arrived from another couple about how great O On Kloof's staff and service were and it did not disappoint.
We went for the mini-suite which has a great view across Bantry Bay and a jucuzzi on the balcony. It was amazing!!
We have promised ourselves that if we ever get a windfall we will fly straight back to Cape Town for a week long stay at the O On Kloof.
Rob and Angela

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very enjoyable small boutique hotel. Great services by all staff members including the owner himself Olaf. Highly recommendable.To be noted that it is a small boutique hotel so only breakfast (good one) is the main meal of the day they offer. For rest of the day there are plenty of choices in CT but you have to go outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in multiple hotels in South Africa on our honeymoon and O on kloof was definitely amongst our 2 favourites. Having had to return suddenly home, due to a family illness, the first time we visited, the staff remembered us and completely spoilt us on our return. My husband was delighted with the bottle of champagne that was left in our room, and when I mentioned I was pregnant, I was given a v relaxing massage in its place!

Breakfast Here was the best we had in S Africa, food was amazing, sitting out enjoying the sun, while the v friendly staff helped with tips on what to do on the day ahead.

Our room was beautiful and luxurious with a massive and comfy bed.

All in all a fab hotel, and made even better by the hospitality we recieved. Cannot recommend enough if in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

from the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice,a glass of champagne on arrival with a pleasent and smooth checkin then to our room no 8 large well apointed with a large bathroom with bath seperate shower.private seated patio area.the restaurants that they booked for us where spot on.we had four nights here and enjoyed every second.if we ever go back to cape town this is the place we will book

Room Tip: i would imagine all rooms are all of agood quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.