We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I am still sitting in the relaxing lounge area as I write this review. What can I say - this has been the most relaxing 48 hours I have ever spent in a hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the amazing staff. Bernadette, Otto, Patrycja, Martin and team are superb and should be very proud of their achievements.
From the moment you step through the gates you are in an oasis of calm - your every need is catered for. The massages in the spa down stairs, a salt water swimming pool, cotton bath robes, flower petals in the bath, crunchy biscuits, cake and pancakes for breakfast because as Marie Antoinette said, "let them eat cake!" - so we did!

It's your own private villa set on the hills of Sea Point with a mountainous backdrop - views are spectacular for sundowners on the terrace and there are so many places to eat recommended by the staff that we are spoilt for choice- La Mouette for fine dining to Ocean Basket for seafood by the bucket load!

I wish there was a 100/100 rating but 5/5 will do - the sentiment is the same.

Thank you - oh and we still ave another night here too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in room 4 for 5 nights in August. Our room was on the side of the hotel with the road but we weren't disturbed by road noise at all. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was delicious - lots of choice, fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cereal, bread, toast, cooked english, smoked salmon, french toast, pancakes - it couldn't have been better! Great views over the sea from the breakfast area. The atmosphere in the hotel was so relaxing. The best part of the hotel though was the staff. They were so friendly, the service was incredible. We felt so welcome. They were happy to book taxis and restaurants for us. Patricia recommended some really wonderful places for us to eat and helped us to organise our time. The hotel is a 5-10min drive from the centre of the city and the V&A waterfront but taxis to/from the waterfront are around 80 Rand each way and easy to organise. The hotel is in a residential area that does feel very safe. Cape Town is such a beautiful city - there is something for eveyone here - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This property is run by a professional team and it makes a difference. On arrival I was handed a glass of champagne and offered some books to take to my room. Room 8 was spacious with a flatscreen TV, lounge area, outside seating area and desk. The bathroom has both a bath and shower and is modern and clean. The toilet is loacated in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of cupboard spaceis provided.

My dinner order was perfectly executed and I did not have to ask for anything. The Sea Point promenade is within walking distance of the hotel. Unfortunately it was raining during my visit and I had to use the treadmill. The treadmill was quite noisy.

I asked for a wake up call and a fresh coffee was delivered to my room right on time. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.

Throughout my two night stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff and this really added value to my stay. I will stay at O on Kloof again since the rates were reasonable and the service excellent.

Room Tip: Room 8 is spacious but has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had lunch at the hotel with a Groupon Voucher. Lentil soup was nice and flavorful.Had a main course choice between a club sandwich and a burger as the advertised chefs pasta was not available.Went with the club sandwich with great disappointment.Chicken on it was dry as biltong, filling was very little and the accompanied salad was poor with stale lettuce leaves.In general a poor experience at a beautiful venue. Will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is one of the best places we have been. The service and attention to guests are exceptional. Starting from your breakfast, daily recommendations about places and dinning. We have visited the best fish restaurant in the world. Any time you can use driver if you want to have drinks in the city, it is very convenient. Laundry services is like you buying new things. We had possibility to stay in different rooms, and every has it nice feature. Dear team of O on Kloof, thank you for great memories! We've stayed few years ago, but with Tripadvisor I can't choose correct period.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently enjoyed a stay of several days at O on Kloof in Cape Town. Located in the peaceful neighborhood of Bantry Bay, the hotel is close to the beaches and offers a quiet refuge of modern design with every convenience.

Our room on the private lower level was spacious with a large bath. To get to it, we walked through the pristine full-service spa with heated indoor swimming pool. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining area with patio overlooking the Atlantic, Robben Island in the distance.

Beyond the hip design and lovely setting, gracious hospitality sets the tone in the hotel. The owner Olaf and his GM Bernadette were practically savant in anticipating our every need and desire. Their suggestions for restaurants and excursions enhanced our visit beyond expectation. With their guidance we visited special places in the city and surrounding area that made us want more. We definitely plan to revisit Cape Town and O on Kloof!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked for 4 nights as the first leg of our honeymoon and we were treated like kings as soon as we arrived. Everyone was so knowledgeable, helpful and friendly, it seems a shame not to mention everyone, however the attention to detail shown by Martin, Bernadette (and Olaf) made this the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.