We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing level of service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing level of service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute at this hotel. Amazing service from very friendly staff, nothing was ever too much. We stayed in room 8 which is a lovely room. Breakfast is relaxed and plentiful. Massage at the spa was excellent.

People mention that the hotel is outside the main areas, we saw this as a bonus, we could quickly get to the Waterfront one direction or to the beaches on the other direction, We used taxis for 4 days and rented a car for 5 days, both work well but we found having our own car easier.

We have stayed at 4, 5 and 6 star hotels all over the world, this compares well on service and facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
156
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Lincs
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We see that one person has rated this hotel 'average'. Not sure what planet they live on, this is not at all average... the staff couldn't do enough for us, and we had a fab stay at the start of our 2 weeks (3 nights) and returned here for our lunch on the day we flew home.
Very difficult to fault this place at all, but people need to be aware it's not really within walking distance of any points of interest. However, the hotel will arrange taxis and these are cheap (R65 to the City Centre or V&A Waterfront). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful breakfasts, comfortable room although it was next to the road and quite noisy at night. Kind hospitality from all staff who were keen to pass on local knowledge. Would definitely stay there again. We were particularly grateful for the delightful pastries from breakfast which we were encouraged to take for our lunch. That doesnt happen very often!

Room Tip: Avoid the road side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

O on Kloof is a charming, friendly, small hotel in Bantry Bay.
Pluses: you will see the same 2 charming ladies every morning who are very keen to make suggestions about where to go and to have a conversation about your day; the good service extends to looking after luggage before /after the room and basically anything they can do to help at all; the breakfasts are very good; the decor is very nice; the view to the sea from breakfast is nice (though so are many views in the area); it feels v safe: it is so small and quiet that you may have the place to yourself at breakfast or aperitif time; they bring coffee to your room before breakfast at no extra charge; the bar/lounge area is nice; the area is pleasant residential and is in between the Waterfront/ Camps Bay/Table Mountain.
Points that could be 'on the other hand': it is safe to walk out the front door but there is nowhere really to walk to in this residential area, with a surprising lack of local cafes; we walked to Clifton beaches which was pleasant but a good 30/35 minutes with an uphill return, you need a taxi or to drive to get anywhere; we had a faulty safe while we were there and perhaps due to the limited number of staff no-one seemed able to fix it properly, though they certainly tried!
Overall we would definitely stay here again, it is very customer-friendly and the opposite of an impersonal business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in this small hotel on thee occasions now..It is very well furnished and decorated.
The staff are excellent and obliging particularly in organising restaurants or excursions.
We normally stay here at the end of our holidays in South Africa and usually have a late flight home.luggage can be left securely after check out and you can have a final shower before departing for the airport
Evening meals are available three times a week and can be recommended.The Waterfront is only 10 minutes away as is the resort of Camps Bay.
All in all a very good hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Perched half way up the hills overlooking Bantry Bay, O On Kloof is an unassuming boutique hotel, situated within easy (driving) distance of beaches, central town and the Waterfront - off road parking available – Built into the slope gives the layout a different dynamic. With a pool and open gym area in the basement (a touch dingy) and upstairs there’s in/outdoor seating for drinks and food overlooking their views of the ocean. Nice touches like complimentary Sherry in a cut glass decanter left on the bar were nice. Decor is minimalist but with character and some lovely artwork. Staff were amazing – friendly, professional and very very efficient, with a very warm welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed one night in Suite 5. A huge room with enormous comfy bed, brilliant coffee / cappuccino machine, area to store suitcases with marble bathroom, and the piece de resistance, a completely private terrace overlooking the views of the sea, complete with a fully functioning, clean, warm hot tub (with lights!), and table and chairs (we had full breakfast there, complete with table cloth, thermos of fresh coffee and hot food to order) It was booked for the second night of our stay, so we went to Luxury room 8, accessed through the pool area (slightly odd!) and past the few sun loungers cleverly laid out to make the most of sun and space. A gazebo area outside room had tie back white curtains for privacy, and room was spacious with sofa are, bar, great bathroom with separate bath and shower, and another comfy bed. All towels were big and soft, both rooms were impeccably clean, with modern, uncluttered decor, and all expected amenities. Service was flawless, so can’t fault any part of our stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are on the road side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is good, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is nice. But it ends there. I do not think I had value for money. I am not sure under which standards SA has but this is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The pictures on the website are very mis-leading.

Room Tip: try not to get a room facing the busy road but instead facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
Free internet...
Show More
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 101 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 101 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#2 of 7 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
Compass House
Compass House
#3 of 7 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.