We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This boutique hotel is by far one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. My husband and I travelled to Cape Town as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebrations and the hotel was chosen from reviews written on Trip Advisor and I must admit it didn't disappoint. The owner (Olaf) and staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic from the warm welcome when we arrived to help and advice on where to eat and what to see during our 5 day stay in S.A. My husband had e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to arrange flowers & wine in our room for me and the beautiful bouquet that awaited me was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble from contacting our tour guides for various trips we'd had arranged to booking a table at a restaurant for us on the first night - even the taxi company they recommended and used were reliable and friendly. When I next visit Cape Town this hotel will be where we will stay and I know the staff will remember us from our last visit because that is the calibre of the people who work here. The rooms are spacious and well presented with petals in the bath as a nice touch. The breakfast was tasty with a good selection available to us and constant attention being paid to whether you wanted more juice/coffee etc. Access to the internet outside our room on a general lap top for all guests was great as contact home was made easier. Whilst we didn't use the indoor pool or gym area it would be a definite plus for those on a longer stay at the hotel. Would I recommend this hotel to other family and friends - without a doubt - YES!!! Thank you so much Olaf, Patricia and Bernadette for making our stay both pleasurable and memorable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
157
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel and it has yet to fail me. The suite up the stairs is fantastic and with its own jacuzzi, would be great on a sunny Cape Town day. Sadly this time it rained. The staff make places like this and they all are outstanding in looking after your every need. It's well located to explore all of Cape Town's sights and they will help you do so. Great stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent our first 3 nights in S. Africa at O on Kloof and were so impressed. We were welcomed by Bernadette and Patricia and immediately offered a glass of bubbly whilst our cases were taken to our room. Bernadette talked through our plans for the next few days and offered very helpful suggestions of other things that we might like to include and also places to eat that we may enjoy, all were spot on. The breakfast was great and the room was immaculate. All the staff had a 'Can do, Will do' attitude which was so refreshing to find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This boutique hotel in Bantry Bay was the perfect place to begin our first ever visit to SA. Excellent service,spotless accommodation and staff that went out of their way to ensure that all our needs were met. We were given free wifi- without asking, access to a laptop computer and the spa, including a swimming pool,was an added bonus. We will return to SA and stay at the O on Kloof. This is a must for those who want to chill out after some serious sight seeing in Cape Town and all four of us felt the same way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Offered coffee/tea/champers on arrival our bags were promptly taken to our room while we enjoyed said coffee in the beautiful lounge area with great views of Robben eiland and the ocean. They made excellent use of such a small property and even thought the hotel was fully booked over the weekend, we were hardly aware of the other patrons. The furnishings and finishes are modern but still very comfortable. I can unfortunately not remember the names of the lovely ladies who hosted us, but they are excellent. They were friendly, efficient and warm. I do not have words to describe the breakfast! Great variety and very tasty.

Just a note - there is not tea and coffee available in the rooms and buying it from the bar turned out to be expensive. But it was a midnight cup of tea and they accommodated us in anyway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here as our first stop on our two week honeymoon in February. We were greeted with smiles and bubbly at 6am and our room was ready by the time we had finished our drink. The room was lovely, had everything you could want and more, with the lovely touch of flowers in the bath every day. Breakfast was great and the location is perfect for exploring the city. What really made the hotel stand out though was the amazing staff, my husband and I can't say enough good things about these guys. We were made feel special from the moment we walked in. Bernadette was amazing! She recommended things to do, and the best times if day to do them, restaurants to eat in and was just brilliant in general. All in all, definitely recommend this as a place to stay and we hope to come back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used this as a base during our first visit to Cape Town. We arrived just after breakfast after a long flight from the UK and fully expected to be told "your room's not ready" but we were greeted warmly and made to feel at home with offers of coffee and even champagne. That set the scene for the level of attention and service we received during the rest of our stay which I can only describe as faultless. It's a little out of town but the stroll along the waterfront to the V&A in Cape Town is easly accomplished and the taxi's are always cheap. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva La O! Olaf Dambrowski has reinvented himself yet again. His boutique hotel nestled on the slopes of Lion’s Head, overlooking the Atlantic has been reborn after 4 years of trade! A space, charmingly transformed into a new streamlined sleek look. The black marble tiles from the front entrance, combined with the water feature lend a slight ostentatious air, yet quietly enchanting. They find their way to the undercover “outside” dining area, which in turns allow for interior and exterior interaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.