We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view over the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Victoria Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning view over the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

staff very friendly and helpful. View from dining room over the bay was fabulous ,we were waiting for QM2 to arrive and because of windy weather it came close to the bay breathtaking!!
Food was very good and rooms were very well appointed . I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Unusual design bar on street level bedrooms lower levels, so if you want quiet don't get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    115
    59
    31
    16
See reviews for
41
137
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Ambassador Executive Suites from April 8-21, 2015. Our stay was excellent. Upon arrival there was a problem with our reservation but that was more than corrected after I informed the Manager Nikki Vardan about the problem
Our suite was very comfortable, spacious and well appointed, with a panoramic view of Lion’s Head and the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel is in a very good location, within easy walking distance to shops, grocery stores and across the street from the ocean. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The dining room service was excellent and the views fantastic.
I have no hesitation in giving this hotel my highest recommendation and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights from April 15th for our birthdays and we were not disappointed with our stay. From when we arrived the staff were very welcoming and friendly assisting us with checking in and our bags. We arrived in our room to a bottle of Champagne on ice, which was a lovely touch! The room was modern, clean with the most stunning view over the ocean which was beautiful to wake up to every morning and soothing listening to the waves when resting at night. Watching Whales crossing the bay in front of the hotel was a highlight!

The Koi restaurant was a very pleasant dining experience the one time we booked there with great views over Bantry Bay. I must mention the staff again, as nothing was too much for them in assisting you. They booked taxis, decorated the room with balloons whilst we were out for my wife's birthday and even made her a cake - lovely touch!

The hotel although isolated, was in a nice part of town with nice costal walks to both Camps Bay and slightly longer along the promenade to the V&A waterfront. Taxi fares were approx R50 (approx £3) to Camps Bay and R100 (approx £6) to the V&A and were very quick to arrive at the hotel and I would definitely recommend UniCab!

We would like to thank the staff at the Ambassador hotel for their friendly, professional service. Keep up the good work!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with everything from the room, to the service and staff, location and Koi!

We strive on our professional and friendly service, therefore I am glad you got to experience that first-hand.

Thank you again, we very much appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Vassiliki Evripiotis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 11 nights in the self catering apartments and was more than happy. the apartment was clean spacious and had stunning views. I used booking.com and paid £870 this included daily cleaning and was during the Easter school break. I had my mother and teenage son with me and all 3 generations thought the apartment deserved 5 stars. It is in a great location a short hop and skip to the promenade and what a promenade. Loads of local restaurants within in walking distance. Good public transport we hired a car and the complimentary parking was a bonus.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that the apartment was satisfactory. We are extremely lucky to have this amazing location, and I am glad you got to chance to explore the area and what it offers.

Thank you again, we very much appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Vassiliki Evripiotis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel for business, and this hotel was wonderful.

Very quiet, amazing view, wonderful staff, what else can I say?

As others have noted here, the view is truly wonderful. Try to get up early in the morning, or be back at the hotel for sunset; it is worth the planning.

Check in was very quick. They found my reservation and got me into my room within 5 minutes. As others have noted, the rooms can be small if you take the standard room (which I did). Even though my room was a bit small, it was lovely and of great design and quality.

I didn't eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, but it was quite busy when I returned at night and everyone looked like they were having a wonderful time. Breakfast was perfect. The service was quite professional, and at the same time left me feeling like I was at home. Enough food selection for even the pickiest of eaters.

Check out was quick, no surprises, and the driver they arranged to take me to the airport was great.

I travel a lot on business; however, I will return to this hotel with my family in the near future.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more on an upgraded room; it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that the staff, restaurant and location were to your satisfaction. And yes, the view is breath taking!

We strive on our high standard of service, therefore I am glad you experienced it with our front office staff and our valet drivers.

Koi is a fantastic restaurant, with great food and great service. They provide such a variety at breakfast, and I am very happy to hear that you felt at home.

Thank you again for your feedback, we very much appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. I would suggest booking dinner at Koi on your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Vassiliki Evripiotis
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel looks tired and shabby apart from the entrance to the reception area. Small is an understatement for the rooms , they are tiny and the bathrooms minute!

The outside pool area is dirty and the swimming pool has a distinct rim of dirt around the water line, I dread to think what germs are hidden in there hence not using it, a great shame as the sea in bantry bay is not appropriate to swim in.

The restaurant area looks tired and needs updating, all in all not a very pleasant experience and unfortunately we had monies stolen from our room with no follow up from communication sent to the owner/general manager re the incident. Appalling customer service.

Would not visit again nor recommend as I dont think the staff can be trusted.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest

It is surprise and disappointment that we read your review. We were clearly under the impression that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay after your meetings with two of our managers whereby you gave generous and warm feedback on the staff and hotel both the night before departure and as well on the morning of your departure. We were so pleased to note that you would also be keen to return despite of the incident you reported of alleged missing monies from your bag.

Subsequent to those meetings following your departure, we made contact with you on 5 separate occasions giving you detailed feedback in writing as well as a full report from an independent security company regarding the alleged monies you reported missing on the eve of your departure.

As mentioned in previous correspondence, we are unfortunately not in a position to compensate you any further. The discount you received upon departure, as explained by the Front Office Manager and further reiterated in writing, was for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of the maintenance issue you mentioned during your meeting with the Front Office Manager.

Once again our apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay.

Kind regards

Nikki Vardan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep in the evening. Great restaurants on your door step, and Koi restaurant downstairs, what more do you need.

Nothing, but add friendly helpful staff and you have the Ambassafor hotel.d

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for submitting your review on the Ambassador Hotel.

We appreciate the great feedback on the hotel and staff and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Nikki Vardan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 34 Victoria Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no escaping the beauty of one of the world's favourite places... and the Ambassador Hotel, right on the rocks, is unique in this city of spectacular sights. Every day at the Ambassador Hotel brings a different magic of blue skies, balmy seas and cascading surf. Guests soak up the atmosphere of the ocean relaxing at the pool just metres away from the rocks, in the bar lounge overlooking the sea, or watching seagulls perched on bedroom window sills. The Ambassador Hotel is one of the most spectacular hotels in Cape Town. It is centrally located in Bantry Bay on the Atlantic coastline, surrounded by areas such as the Waterfront, Clifton and Camps Bay, and within close proximity to Cape Point and the botanical gardens of Kirstenbosch. The Ambassador is a luxury hotel with superb dining facilities, and is a perfect destination for vacation or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Cape Town
Ambassador Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.