We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not "luxury"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average, not "luxury"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely not a luxury venue. Some of the rooms are small and dark with no view at all, and cannot be described as suites. We had to upgrade to get a larger room with a sea view, which although much nicer still does not fulfill the expectation of a "luxury suite". The small kitchenette in the room is a nice feature and we used it quite a lot for drinks and snacks. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom is basic with really bad lighting. The decor is very simple and a bit tired.

The breakfast is average, but the breakfast room needs an urgent upgrade - water stained walls, dirty table linen, faded pictures etc. The pool area is pleasant enough but very small. There is wifi available for a fee which is a rip off. There is secure parking but also for a fee, which really should be included in the rate given the lack of safe parking in the immediate vicinity.

On the positive side: the venue in general is very clean, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the location is central and ideally suited for magnificent sunset walks on the promenade.

Overall this venue is nice enough, but don't be misled by the description of "luxury suites".

Room Tip: Request a full sea facing room (as opposed to partial sea view), as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear RosG101 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We always value feedback as it allows us the oppurtunity to better our offering and service acording to our guests needs.
I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff of our little hotel. Our kitchenettes are really a nice feature and I agree that the location is really great.

Thank you for pointing out or shortcomings in the restaurant venue. The leak that we have had has been very problematic and sadly the weather has just never held up long enough for us to address the external issue that has been causing the leaks. I would like to assure you that we are currently working on the problem to resolve it permanently.
We have also embarked on a few projects to improve our decor and standards by giving it a fresher look and the restaurant is also on the list. Our Maintenance Manager, Achmat, is working on a repainting project of all suites and a project to improve the lighting in the rooms and bathrooms too and it should be complete in the next few days.

I hope that the next time you stay with us you will notice the improvements.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
40
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon Couldnt fault it. Very helpful & friendly staff lovely suite,beautifully clean, amazing view just perfect for sundowners, ideally situated,lovely breakfast every morning.Great atmosphere in the bar.Will definately be revisiting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ian-Gill B,

Thank you for such a lovely review.
I am very pleased that we could play a small part in making your honeymoon memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future!

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this Hotel because it said: Luxury Suites? Nothing Luxurious about this hotel. Rooms not bad but expected much more. Our Double Suite was at the side of the Hotel next to the Road. Very noisy because the both the bathrooms, balcony door and room windows don't close properly and are rooms not noise proof. It's next to a busy road! Expected a seaview room but the only view of the sea where when we walked out on the balcony. Towels we hard and didn't smel nice. Breakfast was lovely and I want to say thanks to Thembie for making sure that everybody had a good breakfast and for her great service!!!! Hotel needs to upgrade their rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Pierre D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am sorry that we did not meet all your expectations but would like to ensure you that we have started a program to upgrade the suites, one of which is a repainting project that is underway.

I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and will most certainly relay your thanks to Thembie!

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When you book at this Hotel you need to book the best rooms available which are the pricy ones unfortunately. Everything else is old, dark, boring & outdated.
The semi sweet at the back of the hotel - avoid at all cost.
The proper suites and the penthouse suite is lovely to stay in especially during summer!
Breakfast in general needs attention. Omelette was dry & unappetizing & buffet is not 5 star standard. Sorry for the rates you charge, you have to pull out the stops. Even if you are in Bantry Bay Cape Town!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a view on the 3rd & 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear HEIDI761114,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our little hotel.

I am happy to let you know that the semi-suites are the first suites to undergo a makeover and we are moving away from the darker colours. I am glad that you liked our other suites and we will definitely look at our breakfast.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bantry Bay suites is located at the end of the neighborhood of Sea Point. It is only a block away from the ocean, which is great for watching the sunset but not ideal for swimming or sunbathing. Clifton and Camp's Bay are about a 10 minute drive away and are both great for their beaches, shops, cafes,etc. There are a few cafes and restaurants within walking distance from the property but we spent most of our evenings in Camp's Bay. There is a secure car park onsite which is convenient and cost about only $50R per day and directly outside the hotel is a stop for both the red and blue hop on/off bus lines if you do not have your own transportation. Overall we were satisfied with our stay at Bantry Bay for the price of our stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well I think Luxury is pushing it. Self catering suites? Not really and not exactly Bantry Bay either. My husband and I stayed here for 13 nights so would have expected to be allocated a reasonably good room. Don’t get me wrong it is clean and the staff are very friendly.
The rooms are spacious but badly laid out. The kitchenette was not at all well equipped. The microwave is a combination oven, which is good but 12 minutes to grill 3 slices of toast? Not overly practical. In our room there were no cooking utensils other than a frying pan and my husband managed to set the smoke alarm off just frying burgers (no pan to grill them). There was no storage space at all and the fridge was not full sized. So statement “This self catering beach hotel in Cape Town is fully equipped with a kitchenette and is ideal for a family holiday getaway”, is not entirely true.
The main room is nicely decorated but the bathroom tired and losing the fight against mould. There was nowhere to sit and eat, other than eat of your laps sharing one tray despite the room being more than big enough for a breakfast bar/table & chairs. Although each room has a balcony you can’t actually sit out there (no room for a chair), although given ours over looked the parking lot and a busy road we probably wouldn’t have wanted to sit out there.
Worst thing for me is the location, 3 rooms on each floor all face out on to a busy junction (despite the Manager’s comments on earlier reviews) so it is extremely noisy and will affect a lot of the rooms. All day from 7:30 the mini buses beep their horns and cars pass with music blearing. Then there’s the “pub” across the way, very noisy at the chucking out time on a weekend. The hotel is at the end of Sea Point, at the rougher end and some way away from desirable Bantry Bay itself.
The Wifi is dreadful it was only available from 7:15am to 9pm and would not load many UK sites (Amazon, banking websites etc). As the package gives roaming we were able to test on other Hotspots, which were absolutely fine - so obviously an issue with the Hotel set up.
The Bar is supposed to be open from 11am but the chances of getting a morning coffee are limited as the staff don’t usually materialize until about 12:30.
We didn’t eat breakfast in the hotel, it didn’t look anything special for the price and there are numerous coffee shops within easy walking distance serving excellent breakfasts at a fraction of the hotel price.
Parking was also a very expensive extra.
The hotel’s own website list of facilities included a gym and sauna, which is also misleading as there is no gym or sauna on site (the facilities offered are not even within walking distance). Admittedly these are not included in the fact sheet but should have been clearer.
One unexpected ritual for a hotel of this size was the nightly “turn down” maid coming around with very nice cookies, the next day’s weather forecast and a room service hanger for breakfast (which we had a large pile of by the end of our visit).
The hotel in itself was okay, let down by the location and I’m not sure it really warrants 4 stars. The real issue for me is it’s own website making it out to be something it’s not and couldn’t possibly live up to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Location is almost a block away from the seafront and a lovely walk to the promenade, the business man who wants access to a quieter part of Cape Town and a family who does not neccesarily need to stay on the beach will enjoy this establishment.
The rooms are well appointed and the parking is secure albeit cosy, which is the norm for this city.
The units have self catering kitchens and a fridge as well as a microwave etc...

I enjoyed the stay and the friendly service. It is not a beach hotel.! the drive to the V&A Waterfront is quick including the peak times.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Cities Bantry Bay Luxury Suites is an exquisite blend of sea, the mountain and the city. Situated in the heart of Cape Towns Platinum Mile, for the pleasure-seeking tourist and the business executive. Walk along the promenade, enjoy the most beautiful sunsets and dine at all the surrounding hotspots in Bantry Bay, Sea Point, Waterfront, Camps Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.