We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 52 De Wet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 52 De Wet to your Saves list
52 De Wet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Place, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came to Cape Town for a wedding. As usual I do not book accomodation till the very last minute as we never know where we will end up after a day of wine tasting. This time was no different. At 9pm I searched on the internet and found 52 Dewet. I phoned and spoke to Anatoly who was extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived Anatoly helped us with our luggage and pored us a glass of wine. He even made us some nice sandwiches. The next morning we were served a very tasty breakfast. My girlfriend misplaced her purse and was returned to us on departure. I would recommend 52 Dewet to anyone. Christo van Jaarsveld.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Christov,
Thank you very much for finding time and posting feedback of your stay at 52 De Wet. It was greatest pleasure to accommodate you at such a short notice. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and looking forward welcoming you again in nearest future. Best regards, 52 De Wet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
106
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been to Cape Town a number of times in recent years. We have stayed in a number of establishments and we thought we had lived in the best. How mistaken we were.I was weary to book off the net because of my previous experience in Cape Town .It was a little difficult to find even with a gps.But low and behold. I was not expecting anything like this. The views are to die for. The management and staff are so welcoming and sincere. It was never a problem to get anything from a wine glass to a slice of an excellent homemade cake. Someone was always at hand to welcome us back home.Thanks guys we really appreciated your great caring attitude.Russel thanks for the excellent meals. It was like us having our own chef.Anatoly, thanks for always being there in front office. Marnie, u know what a woman loves... my wife was impressed.Make that me too.keep it up. We will be back sooner than you think.

Room Tip: We used the penthouse suite. Stunning. The pixs you see in the review are real. This was not photosh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Anesh, Thank you very much for you writing you review straight after your departure. It means a lot to us that you had a pleasant stay at 52 De Wet. We are looking forward for you and your wife to become one of our regular clients and good friends. Hope welcoming you again very soon! Till then, keep well! Anatoly, Marnie, Russel and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel 52 de Wet was simply outstanding. It was the highlight of our visit to South Africa in so many regards.
First and foremost, Willy and Anatoly were great. They always went out of their way to ensure that we were well hosted and always made to feel at home in the hotel. Willy in particular was an absolutely pleasure one early evening as we regaled us with his noteworthy knowledge about South African wines.

Second, if you can't tell from the photographs, the hotel has simply exquisite views. Our room in particular was on the top floor, had a lovely private terrace, and floor to ceiling windows in both the bedroom and bathroom with which to gaze out at the coastline and the city. On top of the that, everything was immaculately clean and tended to. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable, the closet space was huge, and the bathroom and towels rivaled most others that I've ever used. Unfortunatley, one minor inconvenience was that the wireless internet never seemed to work consistently in our room, although it functioned perfectly in the rest of the hotel.

Third, while it was a bit cool most days, the hotel had a lovely pool and wonderful terraces with which to sit and relax. Moreover, the living areas also enjoyed wonderful views and very comfortable couches to lounge about in prior to dinner. We did make good use of them as a result of the above-mentioned problems with the wifi in our room and they proved more than sufficient to the case.

Last, breakfasts were excellent. A pleasant buffett was set for pastries, hams and such, and the kitchen provided wonderfully cooked eggs, bacon, and whatever else we might have wanted. Indeed, waking up in the morning and enjoying a lazy start to the day over breakfast was one of our favorite parts of the trip.

Basically, it was just an awesome experience. For those of you seeking a lot more action and activity, Camps Bay might prove more appropriate what with its hustle and bustle. However, we were more than happy with the calm and peaceful environs of 52 de Wet in Bantry Bay and ended up spending quite a good deal of time on site. Moreover, we had a rental car and the trip to Camps Bay to meet up with friends was short and easy. We really couldn't have asked for more and I only regret that we didn't have the chance to stay longer. Should I find myself back in Cape Town, this is where I'm staying the entire trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed special from what we could tell, but the penthouse, where we stayed, was tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback from your stay at 52 De Wet. We are very pleased that you had a great experience of a Cape Town. We have taken your comment about the Wi-Fi reception and will improve it accordingly. We will be also very delightful to welcome you again one day! Best wishes from the whole 52 De Wet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am tempted to give this lovely guesthouse a 1 Star review - if only to make sure whenever I go to Cape Town it is kept free for me. It is beautifully located, furnished and serviced. The staff are friendly and informal and helpful. Beats staying in any hotel.My only (tiny) suggestions is that 52 de W gets slightly softer beds - mine was seriously firm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very pleased with an opportunity of becoming your preferred Hotel in Cape Town. Please note that we understand that some clients prefer a softer mattress. We have recently purchased some mattress comforters that soften the mattress, so on request we can fit these very easily for our guests. Hope welcoming you again very soon. Warm regards, 52 De Wet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

on arrival, no matter what time you always have the feeling of coming "home". After a long day in the buzzing city, to sit at the poolside in the fresh air and enjoy the spectacular, unique view is the best you can get. Sleeping with an open window, listening to the ocean and no other noise is priceless and then to start the day with a lovingly created breakfast... yes I love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Thomas,
Thank you very much for your great review. It's always a greatest pleasure of welcoming you at 52 De Wet. We are pleased that you find our service, location and facilities very retreating. Hope seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to Cape Town to get married and spend first 3 days in the 52 De Wet.
The view from their balcony is incredible beautiful, the rooms spicy and well done, the breakfast very delicious and the staff attentive...what else to tell ;) ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We were pleased that you've chosen 52 De Wet and Cape Town for such a special occasion. We wishing you all the best in your life together and hope seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first trip to Cape Town and my first guesthouse experience and I was completely blown away. Not only by the beauty of the guesthouse and surrounding Bantry Bay and Sea Point, but also by the world-class hospitality that we received. Having a had a delayed flight, we arrived at 52 De Wet around mid-night and were greeted by the night-man Rudolph. He helped us with our bags and rather than rushing us off to our room, offered us a lovely glass of white wine and allowed us to relax on the patio. The breakfast each morning was delicious! We were in the smallest room without a sea-facing view, but it was still a lovely, comfortable room with a huge shower. It was a very nice touch to have our beds made for us every morning whilst we were at breakfast, and turned down for us whilst at dinner. I also loved the 'happy hour' every day with drinks and nibbles on the patio. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Cape Town looking for affordable luxury in a great location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Carley, the whole 52 De Wet team is very grateful for your review. We are very delighted to hear that enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at our establishment. We are looking forward for your next visit in Cape Town. Till then keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 52 De Wet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.