We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 52 De Wet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 52 De Wet to your Saves list
52 De Wet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Magnificent getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

52 On De Wet is a fantastic spot, removed from the bustle of busy inner city centre and with spectacular views of the Bantry Bay peninsula. The service was excellent, staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are well-serviced and have all amenities necessary. The decor and ambience contribute to a wonderful holiday experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Giada,
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. 52 De Wet Team is pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We are looking forward seeing you again soonest...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
89
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the Penthouse Suite. The view out of the main pool deck and from our room was breathtaking - I challenge anyone to find anything remotely as grand. Willie and Anatoly are the most gracious hosts, and continuously ask about your well-being, while at the same time they try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. No task is too big or too small for them, and we found that the kind and efficient service from the staff was what made this stay so enjoyable.

The rates are competitive, and the rooms elegantly furnished and comfortable. Our room had a large TV, a walk-in closet and a Nespresso machine, among others. Breakfast in the morning was utterly delicious and well presented. The pool is warm and drinks are freely available.

I don't think we've ever stayed at a better Boutique Hotel, and we're well travelled.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
On behalf of 52 De Wet Family, I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. It was greatest pleasure looking after two of you. Since Pretoria is not too far from Cape Town, we are looking forward welcoming you again very soon. Till then keep well! Warmest regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you read all the reviews, I have nothing to add except that this is NOT a hotel, this is NOT a guesthouse, this is really a 5-star HOME!! Thanks to Anatoly and Willie and their entire staff. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous view, delicious breakfast....and the kindest welcome.
We had an amazing time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michaella, thank you for your warm review.
We are very grateful that we had you and your family staying by us. It was greatest pleasure looking after all of you. Greetings to the boys and we are looking forward seeing you next next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

we stayed 3 nights & were very happy with our choice!
the team is very nice & friendly, they assist with any thing you just need
the view is amazing- even if you get a rom with no view- the living room is very quiet & has the best view to relax & have a drink
the rooms are huge& beautiful
better if you have a car- it's up on the hill
highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Nira,
Thank you very kindly for such a detailed review. We were very lucky to have you and your husband over. Hope to see you soon again. Keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the 52 De Wet for 3 nights for our first time in South Africa and we have to say what a start. We couldn't have a better welcome. Willie and Anatoly were just perfect! Always so kind and smiling, giving us the best tips and advices, so helpfull! As for the place itself, comfortable, plenty of space, amazing view over the ocean, great modern style... such a shame the weather gave us a chance to enjoy the swimming pool. We definitely recommend this place to stay in Cape Town, and wanted to thank again our hosts, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ben, Thank you for a great review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. Hope to welcome you next time for a little longer. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for our 2 last nights in Cape Town. It's a wonderful place where you feel home straight away. The rooms are very spacious, the house is class all the way and in one of the most beautiful area's in Cape Town. Stunning views of Cape Town and Willie was absolutely outstanding always greeting us with a smile. One of the nights he cooked for the whole house and made us feel very special. Definitely a place we recommend, where you can expect to come as a guest and leave as a friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for such a warm review. We were very happy to look after you and your parents. Looking forward seeing you in Cape Town or Dubai. Till than keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My new wife and I stayed at 52 De Wet for the first 3 nights if our honeymoon in Nov 12. We can both firmly say it was an amazing experience and we are so pleased to have found the DeWet.
We stayed in the penthouse, a huge living space, bath with the best view in SA and stunning views over the bay.
The hotel itself, is different in that it is a multi story property designed as a home and that is the feel it was given. Willy and Anatoly the managers of the retreat, made our stay welcoming, provided service of the highest quality and gave great advice on things to do on a trip.
As frequent travellers and having stayed in some top quality places, we would highly recommend this retreat...

Well done Willy and Anatoly, thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Penthouse is stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we were very happy having you @ 52 De Wet. Hope the rest of the Honeymoon was also pleasant. Hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 52 De Wet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.