We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for couples - but check your room ahead of time for the view....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 52 De Wet

Save Saved
You added 52 De Wet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
52 De Wet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best for couples - but check your room ahead of time for the view....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I know Cape Town pretty well, and I booked Cascades on 52 in the happy expectation that I would wake up each morning to a sun-drenched room with that amazing view of the Atlantic seaboard over Bantry Bay and Clifton.

When I arrived the lovely Justin showed me to room 10 ('deluxe') which was like a darkened box, very nicely finished but with a sliver of daylight from a sliver of a window in the corner of the room. This was not the superb view of Bantry Bay which the website of Cascades leads you to believe you will be enjoying. In retrospect, would I have been better to have called the hotel and asked the owners about each room and each view? I didn't think I had to, given the pictures on the website. Frankly, the name Cascades rather suggests that the rooms cascade beneath each other and each will have a full view of the ocean. Most, it would seem, do. Mine did not. It was dark and depressing with low level lighting which didn't help, and the window needed a good clean. It did have a very nice bathroom, separate shower, oversized TV and a very comfortable bed, but it failed for me on the view (why else be in Cape Town?) and also the rather small plunge pool (infinity but not a lap pool by any means) which always seemed to have a film of suncream and bits of nature on its surface. That needed more attention than it was given.

I'm told that the property two doors down will have an enlarged pool when it is finished, and it is also Cascades, so perhaps that is a future solution. The location of Cascades on 52 means that driving is a must - it is on one of the highest roads in the city, hence the great views from the terrace. But it is a bit out of the way, neither in the city nor in Camps Bay, perfect for a residential home away from the hustle and bustle but less than ideal for this single traveller. It is expensive for what it is.

The best thing about 52 are the staff: Justin and the lovely ladies who look after the guests so well for breakfast and laundry. And try the french toast - that was amazing.

Room Tip: Not number 10. Call ahead to check that your room actually has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
75
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place was amazing. We had stayed at their other property two doors down before it closed for refurbishment and that was amazing, but I think this was better. It is like having your own millionaires retreat! We stayed in a suite with a fabulous view looking over the ocean from a huge balcony.
The service was impeccable from the time we got picked up at the airport to the time we got dropped off nothing was too much trouble and everything was just right for a perfect stress free stay. The breakfast's were lovely with great croissant and cooked options as well as the normal "buffet" options, but again it is the service and the way everything is cooked for you in the open plan kitchen off the breakfast room that makes it feel so much more personal, more like having a private cook rather than staying in a hotel.
It was the little touches like the glass of wine and canapes they had out in the evening in the lounge (they do not have a restaurant at the property just a breakfast room) and the advice they give over where to go out or phoning up to sort out a last minute Spa appointment. It was a perfect concierge service but delivered in a much more personal way!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Such a perfect place to stay in Cape Town - close enough to enjoy the city, far enough away to get out of the Waterfront crowds. The setting is stunning with uninterrupted views across Bantry Bay to Robben Island. The staff are discrete, but attentive. If you can splash out the penthouse is fantastic! Their sister establishement, Cascades at the Promenade, has a great restaurant - try it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Less of a hotel and more of a private home, Cascades on 52 is a fabulous place to stay in Cape Town. We are frequent visitors to CT and we have been wanting to stay at Cascades on 52 for quite some time (it's popularity is a testament to how fantastic this place is) - it was well worth the wait however. We stayed for two nights just before Christmas - from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. We stayed in a superior room - spacious, gloriously comfortable bed and fantastic private balcony. The view was absolutely breathtaking - we loved sitting on the balcony with a sun downer every evening before heading out for supper. Braekfasts were sublime - especially the croissants and freshly squeezed juice.
We were really impressed with all of the 'little extras' - the shuttle service to camps/bantry bay, beautiful toiletries and a nespresso machine in the room. A great big thank you to the wonderful staff who welcomed us and enhanced our trip with their hospitality. A seperate note of thanks to the fabulous Kinita - your welcoming smile and 'can do' attitude is just fabulous!
We are looking forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Its been 3 years since my last visit here. Cape Town may have changed but the welcome and hospitality here @ No52 is still as warm as ever. This time i managed to bag the Penthouse for 8 days across a split itinerary and its been amazing ever.

Our flight was rudely early getting us into CPT just after 6am, yet the hotel owner gave us a room at the at the sister hotel "Cascades Promenade" to freshen up and sleep off the flight until our own room @ No52 was ready. Such a nice touch!

The accomodation, the staff, the breakfast and the atmosphere here are a joy to return to. The meals at "Cascades Promenade" are delicious (so much so we ate there 4 times).

We'll be sad to leave tomorrow but are sure to be back again.

Room Tip: splash out and go for the Penthouse. Its so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent three nights in the Penthouse suite and it was the first stop of our honeymoon. We had a big WOW feeling as soon as we walked into the place. It's not a hotel but a private home located on the hill overlooking the spectacular Bantry Bay. Our room was simply breathtaking. It was equipped with everything you need plus more.... beautiful interior design and a lounge room complete with iMac just for the penthouse suite..... it was very spacious and beautifully designed in a wonderful setting. The staff are gorgeous and so welcoming and lovely. We arrived early after a two day flight and the manager invited us to have breakfast which was so appreciated after such a long flight..... the breakfast was really superb (the best we had on our entire honeymoon) and the setting is beautiful, so we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cascades on 52 to anyone..... the only thing to consider is there is a lot of construction in the area at the moment.... that said, we did have a few afternoon siestas and it didn't disturb us at all.......a perfect location and place to stay if you are heading to Capetown....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The nice staff let you immediately feel (luxurious) home. Beautiful terrace and sight, good location and they bring you free to restaurants. Large rooms with excellent bed and tasteful furniture, free WIFI. However some rooms have small windows.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 52 De Wet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.