We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanted Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Enchanted Guest House to your Saves list
Enchanted Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Craigrownie Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
1 review
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was a good experience with enchanted. It has got a good location as well, which is just near the Bantry Bay. Some attractions like V & A Waterfront, Two Oceans Aquarium are about 15 mins drive.
Rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was tasty.
All in all, a great option for accommodation in Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
10
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice people working at the Enchanted. They were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were good with a nice variety of foods. Layla made a point of cooking something special for my son. Little touches like this make a difference to families travelling with kids.

The rooms were comfortable. If I were to nitpick, I would say the rooms and building in general needs some more detailing; it is one thing to renovate your bathroom with tiles, but another to leave gaps between the tile and the faucet. Clearly the workers who did the recent renovations didn't have an eye for details. Little things like this might prevent people thinking of this place as upscale vs average.

Fix the drip!! The foyer/breakfast area/only area you can get wifi - a persistent and loud drip smashed into the glass ceiling above the eating area. It resonated throughout the main floor. This should be easy to fix, no? It was very annoying for anyone spending more than a little bit of time in the foyer. Again... attention to details is important when running a guesthouse.

Overall we were quite comfortable staying here for 5 nights. We were close to the V&A, and other touristy things to do in the city. In retrospect, most of the activities we did on our trip were all based up the east coast, and we only spent time in Cape Town to go to the V&A, Table Mountain and the Green Market. I personally would have preferred staying outside of the main city and in a quiet town along the coast instead. But, if you need to be close the the city center, then I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this guesthouse to friends and family.

The ocean is 100m from the guesthouse.

One last thing: parking! Very limited parking on the street and drive. We always ended up with a space, but often had to park on the sidewalk on the street.

Room Tip: For safety, maybe consider a room on the top floor instead of the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a great time at enchanted, i live in the city and needed a good break, Enchanted guest house offered me a decent affordable price,great food,friendly staff,stunning suites,i would recommend it to anyone....Just to get away for a weekend go to enchanted ,the staff are friendly,service good,food great,suites are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side away from the road are much sunny and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Parking a very big problem as NON available, room was not ready upon check in, breakfast not up to scratch. The whole place looks in serious need of some TLC. At least it has properly working aircon and plasma tv with good reception and most channels. Great location but other than that nothing going for it.

Room Tip: Room number two has the toilet IN the shower I kid you not......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had to book a nights stay at enbchanted months in advance, we would have come sooner but the owner insisted that we come when a nice room with a view is available. 3 months later we check in, into a room overlooking the neighbour's wall.

Then we were informed about the guesthouse's parking. You can either park another guest in in the narrow driveway, be parked in in the narrow driveway or leave your car to the mercy of the bicycle lane that they call a street outside.

We noticed that one of the bathrobes in the room was missing, after we asked for another one, we noticed the one we had a artistic looking stain on it.

We decided to shrug it off and go out, the area it's in is lovely.

When we got back to the guesthouse that night we needed to get creative about parking again. No big deal.

Sleeping under the serviettes they provide as a duvet was a bit unpleasant. We were hopeful that the breakfast would redeem this place.

Boy, were we wrong...

We got seasick from the wobbly table we were seated at, we tried to dish up the buffet, we had to first take serving spoons from different tables as it's impolite to dish sour kiwi fruit up with your hands.

After we made the order for our cooked food, the long wait began. The long wait ended when the cook brought out our lukewarm eggs served with frigid mushrooms and tomato flavoured ice blocks. This was our cue to leave and never come back. The hostess finally gave us the lindt chocolates we were promised, they look like they were stolen from Tutenkamen's tomb!

The location is beautiful,the staff friendly and the rooms didn't have insect infestations. They are quite disorganised and extremely laid back.

I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't eat or sleep or like getting what they are promised. If you want to stay in Bantry Bay for the night and can't find a real guesthouse. This place is for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridwaan, General Manager at Enchanted Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Absolutely agree that the location is great.
In order for me to address the guest comments I would need specifics like dates visited and exactly what the problems were that the guest encountered.
Constructive critisism will help improve the experience for everybody who visits our facility.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Exactly what you need if you're looking for a good value for money guest house or BB.

We checked in at 6pm and had a complimentary bottle of grape juice and our Lindt chocolate waiting for us in our room. The room itself was adequate, clean and neatly presented including DSTV and small fridge. The fact that that the balcony had a trellidor meant that we could sleep the whole night with the balcony door open with no worries.

The location allowed us to chose from many restaurants in the nearby area, situated practically on Beach Road, Bantry Bay.

The best part was the breakfast. The food was excellent and a great spread which included a warm English Breakfast, but this didn't stop us from eating from the buffet. Clearly there was a lot of thought put into it as the buffet included a variety of muffins, cheeses, yogurts, juices and deli meat.

A win-win in any one's books. Keep up the great work !

Room Tip: Ask for a room at from the upper level. Well worth the view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stopped over in Cape Town just for a day or two and wanted a room with a view of the ocean. I phoned the manager and he assured me that all rooms have a splendid view and after viewing the photo's on the website I was quite happy to pay the deposit.

When we arrived I was quite surprised to see the parking arrangements. First off, it is a VERY narrow street and secondly, the B&B's "parking" is capable of two cars parking single file and the rest have to park on the street. Now the problem for me was that if I park in the "parking" structure I would be locked in by the next guest. Parking in the street is the other option and with a street that narrow... hell, its beggin to het your car dented. Anyway, managed to park the car 60% on the pedestrian walkway such as it is.

The next obstacle was that we arrived 30 minutes earlier than expected. After someone opened up for us, we got told that sorry, we have to come back in an hour or two since the room was not ready. O, and dont think that they are willing to keep your bags! Luckily in Cape Town there is lots to do, so off we went to Kirstenbosch.

When we did finally check in, we were pleasantly surprised by the room which was well lit, airconditioned with a very nice bed and TV. The bathroom is a bit curious since it is merely a glass partition inside the room. Its ok if youre not too shy, I dont think it will bother anyone. But, showering will require you to wipe off the whole bathroom since there is no partitions and thus everything gets wet! Now the view... that I requested... and confirmed. Ahhh. Yes, there is a view... I you stand outside your room, look through two huge buildings you can actually see the ocean.

In conclusion. We enjoyed our stay, parking sucks, the view is NOT an ocean view and the bathroom is a bit funny. But, the room was nice, it is really close to the beach and there are several nice social spots closeby so if you go there knowing what to expect pretty sure you will enjoy it a lot! Lesson learnt, check TripAdvisor next time! :)

Room Tip: Choose a top floor unit if you want to actually see the ocean from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchanted Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchanted Guest House

Address: 12 Craigrownie Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Enchanted Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanted Guest house is located in the heart of Bantry Bay where sea, mountain and city are exquisitely blended. We are a minute walk away from Saunders Rock Beach on the Atlantic Sea Board of Cape Town and we also have Lions head protecting us from the South Easter when it blows. We are very close to Camps Bay and Clifton Beaches, the V & A Waterfront, the City Centre and the CTICC. Everything you need like shops, supermarket, bank, post office and restaurants are in walking distance. We are conveniently situated to explore the sights and sounds of Cape Town. This Victorian home has a calm and peaceful atmosphere "home away from home feeling", with a modern approach to hospitality and friendly staff. We have 8 elegantly furnished bedrooms which are spacious and most with a private patio or balcony with captivating sea or mountain views. Our Guesthouse and the outside area with plunge pool and braai facilities are the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. All our rooms are fully equipped with en-suite shower, air-conditioning unit, comfortable beds, modern flat screen TV's, hairdryers, coffee/tea station, a mini fridge and a safe. We provide our guests with pool/beach towels on request as well as airport transfers and guided tours. As complimentary every guest has free wireless Internet Access. Our breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 - 10:00am and on the weekend until 11:00am. We serve a variety of cheeses, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, spreads, fresh juices and a scrumptious warm breakfast which includes eggs (scrambled, fried, poached or boiled, Macon, Vienna's and mushrooms). You should try our "Enchanted Omelets" for which our guests love us... Every day we add something different to the menu, from flapjacks to pan cakes and pastries. Our Check in time is from 14:00 - 18:00 Previous arranged late check in's will be a charge of R150.00 Our Check out time is before 11:00 Like us on Facebook: EnchantedGuestHouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enchanted Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchanted Guest House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanted Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.