We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, especially with the right expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverdoorn Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Western Cape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
Cape Winelands | Ceres, 6835, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 1,113 Specialty lodging in Western Cape
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, especially with the right expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching game reserves and so glad we chose Inverdoorn. The Cheetah interaction sold us but more on that later. It's about a 2.5 hour beautiful drive from Cape Town (especially via the mountain route). We decided on an overnight stay in the Luxury Chalet, which included a safari at dusk on the day of arrival and a safari at dawn the following morning. My wife and I are big animal people so we were pleasantly surprised to find that a lot of the animals in the reserve are rescued. Three lions were rescued from a canned hunting operation, two baby rhinos were rescued after their mom was poached, two elephants, and of course some of the cheetahs in the rehabilitation program. Lions and cheetahs are kept in two separate enclosures, independent of the main and very large enclosure. Accommodations are exceptional! Very modern, clean and comfortable. The staff is very professional and friendly. I highly recommend an overnight stay because you the safari will be less crowded than the day-trippers who go out at 10:30am. Also, if you stay in the Luxury Chalet or Ambassador Suite you'll get to interact one-on-one with a rehabilitated Cheetah. This basically means you pet one while they purr, and if you do it right you may even put one to sleep like my wife did. We really enjoyed this reserve because they put the animals first and you'll get to see the big 5. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Luxury Chalet and Ambassador Suite have the best view, rooftop terrace and cheetah interaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    52
    15
    18
    8
See reviews for
46
74
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had such wonderful accommodations in the luxury villa that I was able to go on the roof at night to stargaze. The food was fresh and delicious. The black South African staff were so gracious and helpful. The ranger, Ngwoni, found perfect views of all the big 4 on their property and was extremely knowledgeable about all the wildlife. The interactive cheetah experience with Leah was incredible and should not be missed. She is so passionate about cheetahs that is is contagious. The reason I don't give it 5 stars is that the white manager, Wilna treated the black employees with such entitlement, and superiority that I felt uncomfortable and like I needed to make up for her behavior.
I won't hold her behavior against the property owners, but it is lamentable because the whole reserve experience could be completely unflappable.
I will return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury suites, they are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverdoorn, Owner at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the positive review. We strive to provide a great safari experience for people close to Cape Town and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your safari, as well as the cheetah interaction. We will also take your observations regarding the staff very seriously and closely investigate the matter. All our staff are reviewed by their peers and this never been brought to our attention. Please feel free to contact us to provide more detailed insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked the luxury accommodation at Inverdoorn and were somewhat disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the game drives were excellent. Although our room was comfortable, attention to detail was not up to scratch eg. no coffee sachets in the room as they had run out. We eventually on the second day after enquiring again about the coffee, received a little container with coffee. There were other little things that were not attended too. I just believe that for the price one pays, the service should match up to it. Been there and done that!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverdoorn, Content and Marketing Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not all you expected. We have taken note of your comments and appreciate the feedback, as it allows us to strengthen our commitment to delivering the best possible service. We would be happy to welcome you again in future and hope that it will match all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Close enough to Cape Town for a quick escape from the city, but far enough to start feeling the peace of the remote Karoo. The service is superb, chalets are clean and cozy. One can feel at home. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Luxury Chalet for weekend. Accommodation and service very good. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was enough and well prepared and served in very cosy and beautiful building with nice fireplace. Not the Kruger National Park but could see the Big Five in natural habitat. Couldn't ask for a better guide than Ngoni with his 16 years of experience, unbelievable knowledge, his love for Africa and his ability to interwove the African myths and spirituality he learned from his father. The Cheetah sanctuary and interaction with Velvet the female Cheetah was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've read varying reviews on tripadvisor and still decided to go ahead and book a day trip from Cape Town and am glad we did. The ride from Cape Town to Ceres was beautiful, our driver took the mountain route which was just beautiful as the sun was rising, and upon arrival at the reserve, we immediately saw a couple springbok roaming. We were given coffee, tea and cookies (so eat breakfast before arriving) and then took a ride out for several hours with our tour guide who was very knowledgeable and experienced. Knowing this was a reserve I wasn't expecting to see all the animals mixed in together (lions are separate but still just as amazing) but the land is vast and it really felt like we were exploring a large area. If you like cheetahs, you'll see a lot of those in one area then plenty of giraffes (including some babies), rhinos, water buffalos and two elephants. We had a lovely time and after the tour, we were given a lovely lunch (pescatarian/vegetarian friendly) and enjoyed the scenery. My only tip would be if you order anything to drink, make sure you clarify who's being paid, we left money on the table but apparantly were supposed to settle with the service office. It all worked out fine but that's one thing that wasn't apparent up front. Otherwise, really enjoyed the trip and the rides to and from the reserve and our hotel were beautiful as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had booked for two nights, but decided to return after one

I had requested luxury accommodation, but because my son was accompanying us you could only accommodate us in the “comfortable” Guesthouse. In spite of this the cost was significant, and the accommodation far from comfortable.

Your website states: Inverdoorn Game Reserve and Iziba Safari Lodge provides the finest in luxury accommodation and facilities and ensures an amazing experience at a Big 5 safari game reserve. Moreover, your stay will be made comfortable and relaxing by the warm, local Inverdoorn staff who are always willing to provide you with the best service. How misleading this is…..

We arrived in the late afternoon, to be shown to our room in the lodge with no bath or heating (except for a wall-mounted air conditioner that was very noisy, ineffective and impossible to sleep with if its left on at night). We requested a Rooibos tea, to be told that this was unavailable. So we requested 2 regular teas and a hot chocolate, and were brought 3 milky unidentifiable drinks which we declined.

Your confirmation states Aperitif and dinner in the boma under the stars at 20H00; This was not the case. We had to advise the staff on our arrival whether we would be having the pork or lamb. At the bar I ordered a double whiskey, which was less than a single tot in anyone’s books. The meal was worse than bad. The meat was tough and dry. There were no options for kids. We would have been happy with a simple braai, or simple good food.

Generally the standard of the food throughout was very poor. The restaurant is unable to serve a good coffee (let alone a cappuccino or espresso), Rooibos or English tea etc

With the level of guests you are seeking to attract surely one should be notified you will pay extra for wireless internet (standard at any decent hotel these days) and that Vodacom cell reception is unavailable

Your website states - TV lounge with private bar. If it existed, we were never shown to it

Room Tip: We only were permitted to stay in the Guest House which we can now confirm should be avoided at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverdoorn, Content and Marketing Manager at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the review and your feedback. We recommend the guesthouses for families, as they provide a better ambience for groups and allow everyone to remain together. We were sorry to hear about the food and beverages and the oversight in not showing you where everything is situated at the lodge, such as the TV lounge. We have taken serious note of your poor experience in this regard. As Inverdoorn is situated in the middle of the Karoo, we struggle with connectivity. Our focus lies in providing a tranquil environment away from the rush and stress of the city and we hope you are able to visit us again for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inverdoorn Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Address: Cape Winelands | Ceres, 6835, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,113 Specialty lodging in Western Cape
Also Known As:
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Hotel Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverdoorn Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inverdoorn Game Reserve to your Saves list