We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapman's Peak Drive

Chapman's Peak Drive
South Africa
021 791 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 358 Attractions in Western Cape
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 9 km route runs between Houts Bay and Noordhoek.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wow, what a scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I drove on Chapman's Peak Drive from south to north so I could be on the "view" side of the road (in South Africa, you drive on the left). This drive has breathtaking views. Too bad there are not enough places to stop. The closer to you get Hout Bay, the easier the road gets and there are more curbs on the side to stop by. It's not an easy drive. Narrow road on a cliff but it's worth it. You pay R36 for a regular car, that comes to about $3 as of now (March 2014). Also, this is the only place where you can see Hout Bay right from across (unless you get there on a boat), and it is a gorgeous view.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    37
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Always a stunning drive - well worth the toll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

For 5+ years, we always did our best to take the Chapman's Peak drive coming and going from that side of the Cape Peninsula. It's best on sunny days, but always breathtaking, and always beckoning you to pull over and just enjoy the beauty. We NEVER tired of it - no matter how often we drove it. Don't rush through it if at all possible. Stop a few times and just enjoy the majesty and stunning views of the coastline and drive. It's one of the 'not to miss' drives in the Cape Town area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

What can be said that hasn't already? Chapman's Peak is a diamond among precious gems. It's staggeringly beautiful and even when one is familiar with the route, it still forces a sharp intake of breath at every corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Antalya Turkey in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you want to see the blue green ocean and white sand of Antalya Turkey then come to South Africa. Grand mountains and quaint little town on either side to stop at for early morning coffee or midday lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Unsurpassable natural beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Rated as one of THE most beautiful drives in the world, not trip to Cape Town is complete without Chapman's Peak! It was the jewel of our holiday and we'll be back again & again. There are several look-out points for you to stop the car & take it all in. There is also a toll-fee to pay at either end so make sure you have some cash handy :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Peak Drive also viewed

Overberg District, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Chapman's Peak Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapman's Peak Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.