We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapman's Peak Drive

Chapman's Peak Drive
| Between Noordhoek and Hout Bay, South Africa
021 791 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chapman's Peak Drive like an insider
Special Offer
$90*
and up
Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour...
Ranked #14 of 804 things to do in Western Cape
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 9 km route runs between Houts Bay and Noordhoek.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was simply a breathtaking view and one of the most scenic drives we've had! Gorgeous cliffs and the Atlantic Ocean to bot, simply perfect and highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    50
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My first time driving this road was coming into twilight and had the low sun directly into my eyes a lot of the time so I was relying on sign posts to warn me of sharp bends coming up as it was difficult to see even with sun glasses on. Unfortunately the signposts rarely highlighted sharp bends and made me a little on edge while driving next to some big falls off the road. I tried it again later in the holiday earlier in the day this time and loved it. There are some nice viewing points along the way where you get a nice view of the bay. Its a road I would love to take a cruiser bike up. Just be careful of unsigned sharp bends if its your first time driving this road and also there is a rather large number of cyclists enjoying the road also so watch out for them too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You cannot visit CT and not do the Chapmans route, there's just not enough superlatives to describe it. God created Earth in 7 days, on day 8 sat back, thinking, something's amiss and then he created Chapmans scenery !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't miss this if you are in the vicinity and have time. A day is really needed to enjoy it fully as there are numerous places to stop and just take in the views. It's by far the most breathtaking drive I've ever done and well worth the money!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the best scenic routes period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been around the world but this was one of the most breathtaking and most spectacular drives ever. If you are in Cape Town and you did not go you really missed out. Sorry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Peak Drive also viewed

 
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Chapman's Peak Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapman's Peak Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.