We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cabanas, Sun City to your Saves list
Cabanas, Sun City
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Leisure Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

You are going to see the garden and lake when you open your door.
Cabanas is give you more leisure feeling.
It doesn't like other hotel in the Sun City.

So i like it.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    120
    104
    59
    42
See reviews for
168
80
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We needed a family brake and as we live in Pretoria decided that Sun City was logistically close and offers a lot of amenities and entertainment. Cabanas is great value for money and the facilities are child friendly and comfortable. Our experience was wonderfull the staff and management team were friendly, helpfull and efficient. Our stay was just what the family needed. Thanks a stack to the team at the Cabanas for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Excellent service! Very helpfull and friendly staff!
Rooms in immaculate condition!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We had a overall wonderfull stay and can't wait to go back there!
From the manager to the cleaners, everyone had a smile and a warm greeting whenever we passed by.
We would like to thank the manager Willem van Heerden and his staff for a wonderfull ladies weekend and hope to see you soon.

We would recommend this hotel to all the single ladies. Loved the place.

Thanks again Diana / Petrina / Jennifer / Ina Hilda & Bonita

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed in 2 dark and dreary adjoining family rooms for one night on our way to our safari. The beds were fine but the small sleeper sofa is actually a small, foam rubber sofa that opens up onto the floor. The fabric on the sofa is very worn and stained and the foam rubber is worn down. It was very uncomfortable for our 10 year-old, 58 pound son, so I cannot even imagine an older, larger child being comfortable on this sofa bed. The Cabanas is very expensive considering the condition of the rooms, and we were there during low-season!

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. There was a huge variety and everything was delicious. The staff was very friendly.

We took an early morning Segway ride throughout the resort. It was very memorable and fun.

If the Cabanas were to update their rooms or at least replace the sofas, this would make it a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

the check in was painfully slow.. it took almost 30 min for them to get it done.. they had 2 people behind the counter and they were checking in people as well as answering phones..
the rooms were fine. nice and rooms with a balcony.. the lighting in the room was very bad with only lamps and no ceiling lights..
the tv was interactive and gave a lot of information about sun city which was good..
the hotel is a 5 min walk from the main sun city hotel and there are also shuttles which come every 10 min to take you wherever you want..
the breakfast was good..
they had no room service..
all in all a nice hotel.. though dont compare it to the other hotels in sun city..

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I was visiting SA for the first time this past December and had a free weekend after a few weeks in Jo'burg. The Sun City complex seems well suited for families, with plenty of restaurants, outdoor fun, pool, and the water-park complex. Plus, you've got easy access to the safari park (take the first morning safari to see the most animals - it's painfully early but well worth it). The room was a bit small, and the commode stall felt old and damp. But, the price was fine, and it was good enough by far for what I needed. The breakfast buffet was great. Wireless internet was only available in the main lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas, Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.