We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cabanas, Sun City to your Saves list
Cabanas, Sun City
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Cabanas hotel is the cheapest resort in Sun City. The rooms are reasonable but definitely not worth the rates being charged. The staff were the biggest disappointment, service poor, and not aware of what is happening at the resort which I think is something a holiday resort cannot afford.

When we checked in we were informed at the front desk and on the room television that the Valley of waves was shut for annual maintenance and imagine out shock to see the next day afternoon when we were passing by to see it operational with people enjoying themselves in the water!! We were there for 2 days and got to use it for just an hour thanks to the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing.

The buffet breakfast served has a lot of choice, but the food is not covered properly and we have masses of flies settling on the food and honey. The staff were unconcerned about this and hardly bothered to ensure no flies fell into the food. Service is pathetic.

There is a lot of choice of food at different locations so there is a wide variety of food to cater to different palates and different budgets. However if one wants to visit the Lost Kingdom one needs to call in, in advance else one cannot get in though the restaurants and shown as accessible to all.

The resort has a number of fun things to do so keeping oneself busy is not an issue and kids can have a whale of a time. A great place to go and relax close to Johannesburg except for the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    103
    87
    50
    32
See reviews for
139
67
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Will never stay there again - terrible rooms - definitely not worth the R2700 per night - filthy old sleeper couch type bed for kids that folds out on floor - tiny bathroom with shower in bath needs refurbishing - run down and tardy just a ripp off for any poor foreign tourist who's happy to fork out that kind of money for a tiny shoddy 'family' room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sun City Cabana, although not cheap offered a great family break. Best buffet breakfast I have ever seen in my life.
Beds so comfortable I found it hard to get up in the mornings!
Unfortunately there is nothing for teenagers to do in the evenings at all.
Was surposed to be teen club which was not open with no explanation, very dissapointing for them.
Think if stay longer than two nights you need to enjoy gambling as nothing else to do in the evenings at all.
Family rooms very small and cramped. Small sleeper couch for children takes up all the space.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Cabanas Sun City, just like most other travellers' review, it is great for family with young children. We have 2 rooms for total of 3 adults and one 10 years old, the child was having great time visiting the valley of waves (free entry), and we did most of other activities and all added up quite costly. All staffs were lovely and we have long, sumptous breakfast daily.
One day we took the shuttle bus and want to look at The Palace but were refuse entry, since we stayed at the lower end Cabanas?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked 2 nights at the Cabanas to be able to be close by when the band The Eagles were playing in April. Well I ended up paying for two nights but only staying one night. I booked my room in December already to be assured of a room and yet was told on check in "we have given you a family suite as all the other rooms are booked already". Well if that was a family suite then I am glad I did not have a family with me. A very small room with two beds pushed together, a balcony about a foot wide and everything seemed to be the same as it was when the place was built. The in room safe was difficult to use because the numbers on the keys are worn away from lots of use, the bathroom was grubby, the in room entertainment system not working (just normal tv). They serve drinks in plastic glasses at the pool bar, which is separated from the pool by a fence so not necessary in my opinion, the hot dog I ordered for lunch came with a sausage that did not even fill half of the roll. Service was terrible. Then the next morning at 5AM I was rudely awoken by the neighbours in their bathroom. It seems the walls are so thin that one can hear everything the neighbours are doing. After a late night out at a show this is the last thing one wants. I was unable to sleep again after that as, once the golfers had left for the course, the kids started up. Breakfast was ok but I decided to rather check out and head into Johannesburg for my 2nd night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed in the Cabanas over the Easter weekend 2012. The biggest advantage is that you have access to Sun City's facilities, such as the Valley of the Waves. The rooms are functional but there are no frills. There is a fridge in the room, but it is empty on arrival. A kettle with coffe and creamer saches is there so you can make yourself coffee if you want. If you need cold drink you can buy it from a vending machine. The rooms are tidy, but relatively small. Breakfast was included, we had to queue for about 20 minutes one morning before we got a table. The food quality is good, but not excellent. Service is good in the restaurant. You can also buy buffet dinner in the evening in the Cabanas restaurant, which is a good option, also being the only option, unless you want to go eat somewhere else on the premises. We tried a different restaurant but they were fully booked, so we had to eat at the Cabanas. All in all a great weekend but I think it is expensive.

Room Tip: A room close to the hotel complex is good, it makes access to the Sun City complex easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

i stayed at the Cabanas for three nights last February, and it was ok. We spent most of the time on tours and safaris, and only used the hotel for sleeping. I don't recommend dinning at the hotel's restaurant. It is overly expensive and the food was not good. I suggest eating at the Palace, where the food was good, although service was bad. Overall, the animals and the tours are worth it, but do not wait for excellent hotel/resort service at SunCity. I highly recommend the BALOON TRIP and the ELEPHANT RIDE. Truly amazing experiences!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas, Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.